Blackhawks: Yay or Nay?

All season long I’ve repeatedly said, “I like the Blackhawks,” and yet when it comes down to watching the Blackhawks, I almost always opt out.  They just haven’t grabbed me, you know?

I don’t know why they haven’t grabbed me because theoretically I like a lot of their players.  I like Kane, and Toews, and I looooove Patrick Sharp.   I like that Buff-lyn kid because he’s from Minneapolis and because for some bizarre reason his name is spelled B-Y-F-U-G-L-I-E-N.  I like that an old man beat out Huet for the goaltender gig.  Their coach is rocking a serious mustache, which is a quality I hold in very high esteem.  The Hawks are spunky, and cute, and underdoggy, and all of the things I usually enjoy in a non-Sabres hockey team, and yet, in spite of all these fine attributes, the Blackhawks just haven’t managed to steal my heart.

So, tonight is the night.

I have a STRONG aversion to the Canucks.  If I can’t love the Blackhawks on a night when they’re the only game on, they’re playing a team I seem to instinctively dislike, and I’m ravenous for playoff hockey, it’s just never going to happen.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

UPDATE 9:55: So far, no overwhelming love…except for Keith Jones.  Which is weird.  REALLY weird.  You know who I haven’t watched NEARLY enough of this playoff season?  Kelly Hrudey.  It’s my HD addiction.  It’s driven a wedge between Kelly and I.

UPDATE 10:18: PleasedontlettheCanuckswinthecup.  They make me feel a terrible combination of bored and suffocated.  I can’t breathe.  I can’t stay awake.  I can’t fall for the Blackhawks in these bleak conditions.

UPDATE 10:49:  Eff this game.  Seriously.  I TRIED to love the Blues, and I TRIED to love the Blackhawks, but the Canucks SUCK THE JOY out of EVERYTHING.  I’m giving up and going to bed.  I’ll try to fall for the Hawks again some other time.

RESULT: Sadly, nay.

Update 11:29: Now wait just a minute!  I turned off the television, ate a bowl of Frosted Mini-Wheats, cleaned the kitchen, and then my friend Roman texted me to turn the television back on, which I did JUST IN TIME TO SEE THE BLACKHAWKS TIE THE GAME!  I swear, the way the first two periods went I was convinced that the Blackhawks wouldn’t score again until next season.  WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

11:35: Oh for pete’s sake. (4-3, Canucks)

11:41: Well, at least it was all Soupy’s fault.  For old time’s sake. (5-3, Canucks)

FINAL ANALYSIS: Well, the Blackhawks didn’t really endear themselves to me since I only saw them score one goal and then they proceeded to eff everything else up, but that game wound up being better than I expected.  I think overall, my feelings about the Blackhawks reverted to my base level of affection over the course of this game.  I still want to like them, but I’m not entirely sure that I do.  (But I like them a whole LOT more than I like the Canucks.)

13 Responses to “Blackhawks: Yay or Nay?”


  1. 1 lakebnd79 April 30, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Keith Jones is looking good to me too. Sometimes I actually find myself liking Versus. Obviously I’m watching wayyyyy too much hockey.
    How ’bout this game? At least the Hawks showed some life in the 3rd.
    Gotta go, Hockey Central is back on (how pathetic!)

  2. 2 Phil April 30, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Go ‘Hawks!

  3. 3 Katebits April 30, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    lakebnd79, I like Versus WAY more than I like NBC at this point. At first I didn’t like skinny, good hair Keith Jones, but he’s really grown on me!

  4. 4 Zach May 1, 2009 at 6:46 am

    I think that the reason I like this Blackhawk team is that they remind me of the 05-06 Sabre team. They play the same way and all in all a generally likable team.

  5. 5 mcguffers May 1, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Keith Jones lost me with his verbal bitch slap of Mike Komisarek. Yeah, the Habs kind of blew, but it is really necessary to make the fans feel even crappier. Why doesn’t he just go help an old lady cross the street with her groceries. But instead, leave her in the middle of the road, steal her walker, kick her legs out from under her, then throw her groceries at her.

    That being said, chubbier KJ used to make me chuckle, so I’m sure I’ll stop fighting with him soon. :)

  6. 6 Schnookie May 1, 2009 at 9:15 am

    I share this bizarre inability to actually embrace what seems, on paper, to be a totally embracable Hawks team. Obviously, I’m pulling for them to beat the Canucks, but I’m afraid it’s a very distant and unemotional pulling for them. I have no idea what the problem is. I’d say they’re too Western Conference-y, but that hasn’t stopped me from loving the Ducks. Hm. I can love the Ducks but not the Hawks? Maybe the problem is that they’re not goon-y enough? :P

  7. 7 Erin May 1, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I am so confused by your hate of the Canucks! Here’s how I see it: Canucks = great uniforms, perfect colors, great font, well desinged logo. Vancouver is a beautiful city and it’s in CANADA (I tend to be jingoistic towards Canada when it comes to secondary teams). Vancouver is the underdog, not Chicago! Also, the Canucks website served up plenty of awesome photo essays this year including pictures of the players on their road trips, with their moms and in the training room with their pants down around their ankles. Also, Big Bear (!).

    On the other hand, I know we’re supposed to love the Blackhawks, and at the begining of the year I thought I did…….but then I went to Chicago for the Sabres game. I left hating the Blackhawks! Hating their fans, hating their dumb super long intro, hating their ‘tradition’, hating their dumb zygote players. And Soupy. Ugh.

    Advantage, Canucks. Unless I’m missing something I find the Canucks to be fast paced, fun, and cute. With actually good goal tending.

    If I’m missing something please fill me in!

  8. 8 Katebits May 1, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Different strokes for different folks? I just…don’t like the Canucks. When I watch them I get very bored, followed by very frustrated.

  9. 9 Erin May 1, 2009 at 10:55 am

    Chacun son gout!

  10. 11 Grrrreg May 3, 2009 at 3:57 am

    Did that second game help you to like the Hawks better? Sharp did everything to win your heart! :P

  11. 12 Phil May 3, 2009 at 11:06 am

    I have one word to describe that game: Luongowned

  12. 13 Norm May 3, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    I’m having a hard time with this series. I don’t particularly like either team. I also don’t particularly dislike either team.

    I hate not being able to pick a team to root for. I’m in the same boat with Boston and Carolina, because I think I hate both teams equally.

    http://hockey-sense.today.com/2009/05/03/predictions-for-the-nhl-playoffs-round-2-and-beyond/


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

