4 Things

1.The Spelling Bee, while wonderful, is getting a little too big for its britches.  Erin Andrews?  Silly “use it in a sentence” examples?  I dunno.  The Spelling Bee is supposed to be a celebration of nerds, not some preteen hipster event.  Get off my lawn, Spelling Bee!

2. I’m PSCHYED about a Stanley Cup rematch.  Last year I went into the finals with an open mind, and I wound up cheering vehemently for the Red Wings.  This year, even though I still genuinely like the Wings, I’m pretty certain I’ll be Pens all the way.  I think they’ve got a shot this year, and I ADORE them for picking up the Prince of Wales trophy and skating it all over the place.  I thought Sid looked like a badass with his mitts on that thing.

3. One factor that might make me lean slightly towards the Red Wings is Marion Hossa.  Now, hear me out for a second.  I don’t really care about the fact that he dissed the Penguins to sign with the Red Wings.  I don’t think Hossa was obligated to be loyal to the Pens.  He was traded to them as a rental.  It’s not like, oh say, Chris Drury who ditched us as a free agent after years of being a Sabre.  Hossa had the right to do what he wanted. (So did Chris Drury, of course.)

The reason I’m a little sympathetic to Hossa is because he passed on the opportunity to sign a multi-year contract last summer.  No matter what you think of his decision, that took balls.  The dude risked many TENS of millions of dollars to sign for one year with Detroit.  Yes, it’s kind of dumb, but it’s also kind of gangster.  Most athletes just take the money and run.  It’s a bit puzzling and amazing to see a guy do something other than take the money and run.

I don’t really like or dislike Hossa himself.  I’m “meh” on Hossa, but I guess I wouldn’t mind seeing his gamble pay off.

4. The other day I heard Bulldog ranting about how awful it is that the NHL was having to schedule its Finals around the debut of Conan O’Brien’s new show.  From a scheduling standpoint, I totally agree.  The potential ten day break between the Conference Finals and the Finals was THE DUMBEST THING EVER, but, I also understand why NBC wouldn’t want the headache of trying to deal with a triple overtime (it could happen!) on the week they’re planning to unveil the new Tonight Show.  I think Bulldog was really missing the point by harping on the Conan thing.  It makes perfect sense not to schedule the Finals and Conan’s new show on the same night.  That’s a GOOD decision if we want to avoid another Preakness situation (and I think we all can agree THAT WE DO).

I’ve said this before, but it’s worth saying again.  I’m really starting to think the NHL should just say “eff it” to network television.  Seriously.  Network television is simply not a good format for the NHL product.  It’s okay.  Let’s embrace our niche-iness.

And you know what else?  I kind of like Versus.  I think they do a decent job.  I think they do a WAY better job than NBC.  They’re not perfect, but Versus treats hockey with respect.  At least they want the NHL.

Love the one you’re with, yo.

8 Responses to “4 Things”


  1. 1 Ryan May 29, 2009 at 12:51 am

    I’m all about #3. That is all.

  2. 2 SueInVA May 29, 2009 at 7:24 am

    Can’t root for the Penguins (or the Crosguins as I like to call them.) I will be rooting for the Wings!

    I have to agree with you on the network vs. cable (versus) thing. Unfortunately, that leaves folks without cable and folks whose cable doesn’t carry versus unable to see hockey. Not that they get to see much with the limited amount NBC programs.

    If Hossa signed for only one year than maybe the Sabres can get him for next year. That would be cool!

  3. 3 Heather B. May 29, 2009 at 9:39 am

    I like Hossa taking a one-year deal in exchange for a real chance at the Cup but it would be kind of funny if the team he ditched in an effort to win actually beat the team he signed up with. And then he can ditch them and try to sign with the Penguins again and it’ll be a whole funny circle!

    I’m with you on network TV. And hell, I’ll through ESPN in there too on certain days.

  4. 4 dave in Rocha May 29, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I’ll give you that VS cares about and supports hockey, and that’s good and all, but god is their actual coverage horrible (and no, I’m not even including Beninati in that statement). If I have to hear “Coming up in the first/second intermission I’ll be joined in the studio by Keith Jones and Brian Engblom, we’ll break down the action thus far and take a look at the other series…” ONE MORE TIME I’m going to lose it!

  5. 5 Katebits May 29, 2009 at 11:50 am

    I’ve never seen anything in the Versus intermission report as annoying as the combination of Milbury and McGuire.

  6. 6 Katebits May 29, 2009 at 11:53 am

    Oh, I agree Heather, there would be some comedy in a Pens win from a Hossa perspective. Totally.

  7. 7 mcguffers May 31, 2009 at 9:16 am

    I think games should be broadcasted on E! with Ryan Seacrest and Juliana [forgot married name]. The commercials for The Soup are 100 times funnier than Sports Soup, and I think the players would rather be interviewed by Kim Kardasian than Chris Simpson.

    (I’m only half kidding about this suggestion)

    Is it October yet?

  8. 8 elise May 31, 2009 at 11:52 am

    kate! i still like the Bee. but those honey intros definitely needed to step off.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

