Day Twelve (4 Things)

1.  I’m going to jump on the bandwagon and say, “YAY TWITTER!”  Anyone who poo-poos Twitter has never spent two weeks in the deep New Hampshire woods with only sporadic internet access.  Twitter has been HUGELY fabulous while I’ve been away.  Thanks to Twitter, I found out about Michael Jackson in a timely manner and I was able to follow along with the NHL draft while at the Apple Hill skit night.  Twitter is a great way to stay connected when you are away from a computer.  At this point in human history I demand to know what’s going on at all times, but I ALSO like leaving the house and stepping away from my computer.  That’s where Twitter is awfully handy.  Plus, it’s a hoot to see who rocks at Twittering and who sucks.

2. I hear Darcy drafted some big, punchy dude.  Excellent.

3. It sounds like Spacek is not going to be a Sabre next year.  That pisses me off a bit.  I get irritated when people act like losing Jaro is no big deal.  I think we still need him.  I know it’s still very early in the off season, but Darcy has a LONG way to go before I stop assuming the Sabres will suck next season.  A long long looooooooong way to go.

4. It also sounds like we should keep one eye on the Stafford situation.  I can’t quite put my finger on Staffy.  Part of me thinks he’s never going to pan out as a points leader, and part of me thinks that in a different system, with a different coach, he’s got the potential to be great.  I just have this hunch that Lindy and Staffy hate each other.  I’m wary of letting Stafford get away, but I’m also wary of giving him a contract based on his “potential”.  I’ve had it UP TO HERE waiting for the Sabres to live up to their potential.  Personally, I’d fire Lindy before I’d give up on Staffy, but I’m willing to admit that my judgement is wacky when it comes to these things.

15 Responses to “Day Twelve (4 Things)”


  1. 1 Heather B. June 27, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    Bill Simmons does suck at Twittering. After he post the 18th You Tube link last night, I had that very same thought.

  2. 2 Grrrreg June 27, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Jaro Spacek? This can’t be! Your chart helped me to discover he was my favorite sabre (I didn’t even know I had a favorite sabre), he can’t leave now…

  3. 3 Katebits June 28, 2009 at 7:12 am

    I, know Grrrreg. I know. I’m surprisingly bummed about it. Actually, I’m more pissed than I am bummed. I think Spacek is our best defenseman.

  4. 4 Gambler June 29, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Am I the last person on the planet who just doesn’t get Twitter? Even the great Stephen Colbert can’t make it seem not pointless.

  5. 5 Katebits June 29, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    I wouldn’t have argued against your “pointless” claim Gambler, but then I spent two weeks in the woods and found it to be incredibly useful. The Iranian twitterers have made a pretty good case for the usefulness of Twitter too in the last few weeks. There is no faster system of getting information than Twitter right now. It was a good thirty minutes between when I first saw “Michael Jackson has died” on Twitter and when I first saw it appear on Google news. It’s not like those 30 minutes were really valuable in the great scheme of things, but it’s interesting to note.

    And really, what isn’t pointless online? You’re reading a blog about hockey right now. What’s the point of any of it? :P

  6. 6 Schnookie June 30, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Gambler, you’re not alone. I don’t get Twitter either. We can be luddites together, I guess. :D

  7. 7 Gambler June 30, 2009 at 3:55 pm

    Oh, I’m fully aware that most everything I use the internet for is pointless, but it seems like Twitter’s only function is to be a shortcut to all that other pointless stuff, and it’s a shortcut I don’t really feel like taking. As funny as some of those Colbert Twitters (Tweets? I have to say, I’m not a fan of internet services that conjugate and decline irregularly) are, I’d rather go to Hulu and watch his show. And as delightful as I’m sure you are in Twitter form, I’d rather read your blog. I get all my news needs met by Google, and I get all my social networking needs met by Facebook, and I’ve never felt the need to get that information 30 seconds or even 30 minutes sooner. So I guess I do understand the appeal – ease and speed – it’s just not something I have a particular interest in.

    Maybe I’m getting “Get off my lawn!”-y before my time, but I guess I feel like if I’m going to waste a lot of my time doing pointless things on the internet, the least I can do is work at it a little. :P

  8. 8 Schnookie June 30, 2009 at 6:13 pm

    Clearly, Gambler, you also need more than 140 characters. *Fist bump* Right on, sister. Right on. :D

  9. 9 Pookie June 30, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    I’ve never felt the need to get that information 30 seconds or even 30 minutes sooner.

    Amen, Gambler, amen. Sure the “information” gets there faster, but it’s also shrunk down and reconfigured until it fits a draconian 140-character limit. I don’t want a 140-character version of TWC, I want the real deal! Same with Colbert. And as for news, I can’t help but let my Masters in Library and Information Science show when I think “just because the information got there quickly doesn’t mean it’s good information”.

  10. 10 Katebits June 30, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Just because you guys haven’t found a use for Twitter, that doesn’t mean it’s pointless. My only point in this post was to say- hey twitter was INCREDIBLY handy while I was in the woods- almost to the degree where not having internt service was no biggie. It’s no skin off my nose if y’all don’t like it. It’s just that arguing you don’t LIKE something and arguing it’s pointless are two very different things. Come on, you’re talking to the woman who INVENTED the concept of REFUSING. I have GREAT respect for people who just….don’t like something.

    You all make many good points about how twitter is stupid, and I agree with every single one of them, but the mere fact that so many people USE Twitter makes it hugely relevant. I Certainly wasn’t trying to convince anyone to like twitter! I was just saying it was an undeniably fabulous tool for me last week.

  11. 11 Katebits June 30, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    As for the info being somehow less reliable, that’s the same thing they used to say about blogs. I am able to discern the good info from the bad by using my brain. :P

  12. 12 Pookie June 30, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Hey now, I didn’t say it was pointless! I just agreed with Gambler that I don’t like the format! And that I’m wary of valuing the ease and speed of getting information over the value of the reliability of said information. And I’ll argue that it wasn’t Twitter that allowed you to get information in the woods without wifi — it was SMS technology. Twitter is just one way for people to submit information that will then be sent via SMS. Semantics yes, but let’s not give Twitter more credit than it deserves for making Bat Shack Camp tolerable! :D

    Also, @@@@@@@@@@@! I’m very, very, very glad that Twitter made your camp stay more fun!

  13. 13 Pookie June 30, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    I am able to discern the good info from the bad by using my brain.

    I’d agree with you except I just read an article by Emily Bazelon of Slate.com and Double X. Some grad student in Europe decided she needed a Twitter feed so he started one and began posting as her. Emily Bazelon. This isn’t even of “Brian Burke” level. Even her journalist-trained coworkers believed it was her. There was absolutely no way to determine whether it was her or not other than by asking her. I believe it’s far harder to impersonate someone on a blog where you have to write much more and where you’re expected to link to sources. With just 140 characters and no real profile information, it’s much, much, much easier to fool even those of us who use our brains.

  14. 14 Katebits June 30, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    I don’t trust ANY info I get from a single source on Twitter. I getvehat you’re saying about imposters, but it’s the sheer BULK of info that I value. I didn’t know MJ was dead the first time I saw it on Twitter, I knew t five minutes later when an la times article had been linked to by multiple peopl, which again was a half hour before it showed up on google news.

    And I will TOTALLY agree that it’s the technology that makes twitter useful, but show me another site being used by so many people that is using that technology. Twitter is just a little phase we’re going through, but until someone starts the next thing Twitter is fine by me!

    But no buns necessary! I’m tappping all this out on my phone! I’m late to a BBQ !

  15. 15 Gambler July 1, 2009 at 9:07 am

    Also, @@@@@@@@@@@! I’m very, very, very glad that Twitter made your camp stay more fun!

    Ditto. I’m sorry if my wording made it sound like I was dissing the entire existence of Twitter. What I said was that it seems pointless, as in it seems pointless to me, and everything I said about it was pure personal opinion. I wasn’t trying to say that it’s pointless to everyone, because clearly it’s not. I don’t really understand why it gives so many people so many miles of pleasure, but hey, if it does, good for them! It’s just not my thing.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

