Free-Agency-eriffic!

Whaaaa?

Darcy signed a dude!  I REALLY did not see that coming.  His name is Steve Montador.

Here he is:

Steve Montador

Hm.  Possibly douchy facial hair, but I like the caveman brow.

Analysis: APPROVED

In other news:

1.  The Blackhawks bought Soupy a new BFF (Hossa) for the next one hundred years.

2. Northtown Lexus is official over Daniel Briere, and now Paille seems to be their new spokesman.  His delivery of his radio ad confirms what I have long suspected: He can baaaarely read.

UPDATE

3. Spacek is a Hab!  I’m surprisingly grossed out by this.  3 years and 11.5 million seems pretty steep though.  Buh-bye, Spacek.

4. I’m sorry, Bulldog and Heather B.  TRADING ROY WOULD BE LUNACY.

UPDATE 2

5.  Dude, Montreal.  Save some players for the rest of us, please.

21 Responses to “Free-Agency-eriffic!”


  1. 1 TheTick July 1, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Hey, Paille’s delivery was way better than early Pommer. Give him some time. ;)

  2. 2 Katebits July 1, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    Heh, you’re right. I think I actually blocked those early Pommerdoodle ads out.

    It’s hard to talk and read at the same time!

  3. 3 Chris July 1, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Spacek’s gone. To the friggin Canadiens for 3 yrs 11.5 Million.

  4. 4 Sally July 1, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    I feel like Montador is going to try to sell me car insurance.

  5. 5 Anne July 1, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    Wait! Caveman! No! Sissy was our caveman. Maybe Darcy was trying to extend the olive branch after not re-signing Jaro. :(

  6. 6 Katebits July 1, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    I thought Teppo was our caveman! Well, whatever, we’ve still got a caveman. That’s the most important thing.

  7. 7 Mike in Idaho July 1, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Bad news, Sabres fans, but Montador kind of sucks. I ended up watching a lot of Bruin games in the second half of the season and playoffs and I think he was the Bruins’ worst defenseman. I’m afraid Montador for Spacek is not going to make the Sabres better.

  8. 8 CrotchetyOriginalSam July 1, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Yeah, I have the feeling Montador might be your next slag-faced whore, Kate. Weird signing. Not as weird as 7 years for Matthias Ohlund, but weird.

  9. 9 Katebits July 1, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Yeah, based on what I’ve read about his style of play, I’m starting to think that that’s not an equal swap. Spacek was our most reliable offensive minded defenseman. It’s worrisome, but whatevs! At least Darcy actually hired SOMEONE to “replace” Spacek. That’s progress.

  10. 10 Katebits July 1, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Oh NO! He’s a slag-faced whore already?!

  11. 11 Chris July 1, 2009 at 3:34 pm

    Sam
    Ohlund was signed to a 7 year deal so it lowers his Cap Hit like Franzen for the Red Wings. Ohlund makes 22.5 of the 24 million in the first 5 years of the contract.

  12. 12 CrotchetyOriginalSam July 1, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Yeah, I understand why it makes sense for Ohlund, and why TB did it as a frontloaded 7-year. I just think that’s a lot more than he’s worth. Unless they’re hoping he’ll break Eric Staal’s leg like he did Mikko Koivu’s…

  13. 13 Chris July 1, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    It lowers his cap hit a 5 year 24 mil contract has a cap hit of just under 5 million a year. a 7 year deal for 26 million has a cap hit of under 3 million per year.

  14. 14 Chris July 1, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    It lowers his cap hit a 5 year 24 mil contract has a cap hit of just under 5 million a year. a 7 year deal for 26 million has a cap hit of under 4 million per year.

  15. 15 Chris July 1, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    ignore the first comment.

  16. 16 Chris July 1, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Sam I totally mis-read your comment.

  17. 18 Chris July 1, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    I totally eff’d up your blog with like 5 useless comments. Sorry!

  18. 19 Katebits July 1, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    I LOVE useless comments, Chris! Leave ten more! :D

  19. 20 Erin July 1, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    I’m depressed. Today was depressing. Like getting socks on Christmas when everyone else got a pony.

    Sucks.

    Plus, I think this new guy uses steroids. I basing that on nothing but his forehead.

  20. 21 Chris July 1, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Thanks for not being angry Katebits. :D


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

