The Sabres Are Dumb

The Sabres trumpeted this information on their website and on Twitter:

Picture 22

All aboard the Lunch Express!  Next stop, tenth place!

I’d post a link, but the tweet has been deleted (good thing I took a screen shot!) and the information on the website has been changed. Apparently the segment will NOT be live, but taped in the morning, before free agency begins.

Still.

If I weren’t crying about the fact that our GM is wasting ANY time on July 1st with this nonsense, I’d be giggling about the fact that someone (probably SEVERAL people) at the Sabres organization thought this was a good plan.

Here’s how I’m pretty sure that went down:

Random PR dude: Hey, I know what Sabres fans want most on July 1st!

Hecht: For me to get traded?

Random PR dude: No!  They want the opportunity to ask Darcy Regier a softball question!

Hecht: Are…you sure about that?

Random PR dude: Of COURSE!  The Fans LOVE listening to Darcy drone on and on about his justification for doing nothing!  They LOVE it!  And do you know what else do fans love?

Hecht: ….?

Random PR dude: No, seriously. Take a guess.  What do fans love more than Darcy Regier?  Come on.  One guess.

Hecht:….um…..lunch?

Random PR dude: Exactly!  And trains!  Lunch, trains, and Darcy Regier!  It CAN’T FAIL!

Hecht: But shouldn’t Darcy be working, or at the very least be pretending to work tomorrow?  It’s the opening of free agency.  I think fans want to see change.  Won’t a “live” interview be sending the wrong message to the fans?

Random PR dude: Nah.  But what do you think Darcy?

Darcy Regier: Working?  On free agency day?  I’d be BURNED AT THE STAKE!  No!  The people want to ask me stuff!

Random PR dude: See!  It’s what the people want!  Trust me.  I know these things.  The Lunch Express is a big hit.  Next week we’re going to have an interview with Tom Golisano, but we’re not going to ask him any questions.  It’s just going to be ten minutes of him in Florida, sitting on a pile of cash, and making out with Monica Seles.  The Sabres fans are going to go NUTS for it!  WOOOO!

(long silence)

Hecht: I’d like a trade.

Darcy Regier: Well, too bad!  You’re untradeable!  WOOOOOOO!

Then, Darcy and the PR Department turn off all the phones, fax machines, and computers so the racket of other team’s GMs calling won’t interfere with the taping of the Lunch Express. Then they high five and start a conga line.

(I feel a little bad about this post.  I’m not sure that it’s cool to make fun of the Sabres PR people.  I think that athletes, coaches and GMs are fair game for bloggy meanness, but I’m less sure about the people working in the office.  Sorry, Sabres PR people! I couldn’t resist!)

(Now that I really think about it, this might be all Kevin Sylvester’s fault.)

(Blaming Kevin Sylvester for everything is fair, funny, and most likely totally accurate.)


11 Responses to “The Sabres Are Dumb”


  1. 1 S. Tooth July 1, 2009 at 6:32 am

    This is really (really) funny.

  2. 2 Erin July 1, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Darcy already said he going to sit on his hands all day anyways. The fact that they want us to tune in and watch hit sit on his hands is just a little bit more depressing.

  3. 3 Steve July 1, 2009 at 8:02 am

    Lol, “Darcy Regier: Well, too bad! You’re untradeable! WOOOOOOO!” That is the funniest line ever.

  4. 4 Patty (in Dallas) July 1, 2009 at 9:09 am

    The Sabres learned a hard lesson. Once somethings on the webs, it can never be deleted. :D

  5. 5 Patty (in Dallas) July 1, 2009 at 9:09 am

    (Kind of like my typo there. Sheesh.)

  6. 6 Gambler July 1, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Hecht: I’d like a trade.

    *sob*

    Darcy Regier: Well, too bad! You’re untradeable! WOOOOOOO!

    WOOOOOOO! Indeed! I’ve been meaning to write a post about this but, uh… who knows if that will ever happen again. I really appreciate the fact that if Yo-Yo was going to have a terrible season, he made it terrible to the point where no one else would want him. That’s the least he could do for me.

    Great stuff, as always, Kate!

  7. 7 Shelby Rose July 1, 2009 at 11:20 am

    I blame Kevin Sylvester for all of this.

  8. 8 Phil July 1, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    That was prerecorded, not live

  9. 9 Phil July 1, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Whoops, clicked submit too soon…anyways…

    Being that it was prerecorded, I’m OK with it. If it was live, I’d kill.

    But I can’t attack Darcy, not with those schnazzy new black plastic frames he’s got!

  10. 10 mcguffers July 1, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    You’re untradeable! AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!! That should be on a t-shirt. Like if you try to get a Derek Roy jersey, that will automatically be on the sleeve. And, by the way, wouldn’t it be kind of funny if the Habs try to get Roy? He’s in their new optimal height bracket.


  1. 1 Ghosts of Competence | The Goose's Roost Trackback on July 1, 2009 at 4:06 am

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

