Season Ticket Holder

If you had asked me this morning, “Hey Kate, what do you think of the Sabres?”  I would have almost certainly replied, “I think they are very bad at managing, coaching, and playing hockey.”  I might have even said (only half-joking) that I hate the Sabres.

But tonight?  Tonight, I love the Sabres.

Today, I got season tickets.

Considering how much I bitch about the Sabres, I sure was pleased to get season tickets today.  In fact, I’m far more than pleased.  I’m psyched, and proud, and so so so so so excited.  I’ve been celebrating the tickets by singing a song (to the extreme delight of everyone nearby, I’m sure) that basically amounts to me filling all silences with, “Oooh Seeeea-son TIIIICK-ETS, I loove you!” sung to bellowed, randomly created pseudo-tunes.

I actually can’t recall a day since I became a hockey fan that I’ve felt more exuberant about the Sabres.

__________

A lot has been written and said about the Sabres since their decent into mediocrity began.  I’ve certainly never held back with my own criticisms about the team.  The Sabres have not been an easy team to root for these last two years, and I’ll admit that over the last few months I’ve occasionally allowed the Bucky Gleason’s of this world to effect how I think about the Sabres, and I’ve found myself wondering, “Why do we keep buying what the Sabres are selling?”

Thankfully, for me, becoming a season ticket holder was completely removed from all of that crankiness.

The most overwhelming feeling I have about my tickets is not one I was expecting to have when I put myself on the waiting list two years ago.  The strongest thing I feel is…pride.  I’m proud to have these tickets.  I’m proud that I sat on a list and waited for these seats.  I’m proud that I still wanted season tickets after watching two relatively dreary seasons.  I’m proud that I’ll have my own little territory in the arena.  I’m proud that I’m financially organized enough to pay for season tickets.  I’m proud that I’ll have season ticket neighbors (Hi, Kevin!).  I’m proud that I found a fun way to propel myself through the long Buffalo winters.  I’m proud that I turned myself into a Buffalonian.   I’m proud to be a Sabres fan.

Investing in an entire season of games didn’t feel like making an investment in the Sabres at all.   It felt like I was making a commitment to my fellow Sabres fans, and an investment in something that brings me joy.  When it came down to the wire (and when it came time to put my money where my blog is), it turned out that my desire to be a Sabres fan has very little to do with whether they win or lose.  I love being with other Buffalonians all cheering for the same thing, I love the ritual of going to the arena, and most of all, I love hockey.

I snapped up those tickets up without hesitation, and it was one of the most gleeful purchases I’ve ever made.

Let’s go Buff-a-lo!

21 Responses to “Season Ticket Holder”


  1. 1 piece July 6, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    what a sweet post congrats kitten that is cool

  2. 2 elise July 6, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Many many many congrats, Kate!!!!!!!! p.s. Scarlatti is one of your Sabres season tix neighbors…

  3. 3 Katebits July 6, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Thanks, guys!

    Elise, it’s almost time for the non-stop (except for July 24th) birthday celebration to begin!

  4. 4 sallypants July 6, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    Congratulations! Very exciting news!

  5. 5 Heather B. July 6, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    This is all very exciting and uplifting but please keep in mind that as someone who has chosen to invest a lot of money in a mediocre product, you have now lost all right to complain about said product because you’re obviously happy with it the way it is. See TBN’s Rules and Regulations on Being a Fan, Section 49.3 (a).

    (Seriously, congratulations! I’m giddy for you! Drink lots of beer and complain as much as you want.)

  6. 6 Courtney S.F. July 7, 2009 at 12:13 am

    I was recently trying to convince an unemployed violist friend of mine to take the BPO audition in the fall and she was saying that she can’t handle the climate. I told her that you lived there and that she would love you and that maybe she’d love the Sabres too, but she wasn’t convinced. I’m not sure why.

  7. 7 Grrrreg July 7, 2009 at 5:03 am

    Wow, those seats look GREAT! I hope you’ll see many goals and cool action from there. Congrats.

  8. 8 Schnookie July 7, 2009 at 6:20 am

    WOO HOOOOOOO!!!!! I was super-duper happy for you when I first heard the news about the season tickets, but after reading this post, I’m even happier. Congratulations!

  9. 9 SueInVA July 7, 2009 at 7:02 am

    Congrats!

  10. 10 Pookie July 7, 2009 at 8:35 am

    CONGRATULATIONS! *tosses Sabres season ticket colored confetti in the air*

  11. 11 Erin July 7, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Great news!! Couldn’t happen to a better fan!

  12. 12 double d July 7, 2009 at 10:02 am

    Kate,

    I sit in that section for my mini-pack. Being musically inclined, you should enjoy being in the same section as the organist. I think a rawkin’ duet of Sabredance might be in order.

  13. 13 Katebits July 7, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Thanks everyone!

    double d, I LOVE the organist! I love how every tune cadences into “Let’s Go Buffalo”.

  14. 14 KevinP July 7, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    Welcome to the club, neighbor.

    You now have the right to play the martyr card at will.

    The best part about being a STH is trying to convince a friend that a Wednesday game against Florida will totally be a great time.

  15. 15 sallypants July 7, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    I will go to a Wednesday game against Florida ANY TIME.

  16. 16 Becky July 7, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Congratulations! I still can’t get my brain into being a STH, but I’m working on it…great idea with the 3D cam! We’re on opposite sides but the same level.

  17. 17 Amy July 7, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Congrats on the tickets, Kate!

    I think a rawkin’ duet of Sabredance might be in order.

    Throw in Sabretooth with his drum and you could have a rollicking good trio!

  18. 18 Patty (in Dallas) July 7, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Congratulations on the tickets! It’s so exciting!

  19. 19 Katebits July 7, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Thank you, everyone!

  20. 20 John M. July 8, 2009 at 12:30 am

    Congrats Kate! I got season tickets on a whim the year after the lockout and needless to say that turned out pretty good. I’ve been holding on the last two years hoping that they can somehow reclaim the magic of those first two post lockout season years. Plus I have aisle seats in the cheapest section which I cannot bear to give up. It helps that my 2 year old loves hockey games. So if you see a hyperactive little girl with impossibly curly hair running through the aisles, say hi!


  1. 1 BfloBlog.com » Blog Archive » Being a Fan Trackback on July 7, 2009 at 1:03 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

