Seriously, Sabres. Buy a Computer.

One of my biggest frustrations as a Sabres customer last season was how the Sabres box office handled my mini-pack order.  Basically, at some point last summer, I got on the phone with the Sabres, put in an order for hundreds of dollars worth of tickets, and then MONTHS later, after freaking out that somehow the entire order had been lost, I suddenly got a pile of tickets in the mail.  I never got an invoice or any explanation of how the cost broke down per game- nothing.  I just got tickets and a a ticket shaped “receipt” that said “total charge= x”  I thought is was a pretty lame system.

(The other story I like to tell about the Sabres and their inability to behave like a normal 21st century business is the story of when I tried to change my address with them.  First, I scoured their website trying to find a place to update my information, and when that failed, I called them up.  I was told that they could NOT change my address online or over the phone.  They needed my change of address in writing.  Like, on a piece of paper.  My two choices were to drive down to the arena and write my new address on a change of address form, or MAIL them my new address.  I wound up hand writing a note that said, “My name is Katebits.  My new address is blah blah blah,” and putting it in an envelope and mailing it to them via the US postal service.  With a stamp.  It was incredibly redonk.)

Because of my experience last year trying to get a mini-pack, I knew to brace myself for a rocky clerical road in regards to my season tickets.  When I authorized the Sabres to charge to my credit card over the phone on Monday I did so with a stern reminder to myself.  “Now Kate,” I warned, “the Sabres ticket office seems to be run using the technology of 1953.  You should NOT waste any energy worrying about invoices or receipts.  You should just have faith that everything will more or less work out.”  (“Blind faith” is kind of a staple of the Sabre fan’s arsenal, isn’t it?)

Imagine my pleasant surprise when I received a hand printed envelope from the Sabres today.  Could this possibly be the elusive, and heretofore presumed non-existent ticket invoice?  It WAS!  No way!

But still, I had to laugh at the stodgy old Sabres.  Here is what the Sabres call a “reservation receipt”.

season ticket invoice

I blacked out all of the valuable info, you identity stealing stalker-y types.

I believe that this is the original of a carbon copy receipt, hand printed on a three-year-old (at least) form.  It has a perforated edge on the top, which leads me to believe that somewhere at the Sabres box office they have a yellow (or pink) carbon copy of this receipt in a file cabinet.  It’s possible that, for now, this is the only evidence in existence that I spent thousands of dollars on season tickets.  I assume that eventually in the process things MUST become computerized, but even at this early stage, this is pathetically hilariously quaint.

They really ARE using 1950s technology!

Oh, Sabres.

19 Responses to “Seriously, Sabres. Buy a Computer.”


  1. 1 Heather B. July 9, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    When I scrolled down and saw that logo I burst out laughing. Seriously, we can’t at least update the paperwork? How very Sabres-esque.

    (We went through the same rigmarole trying to change our address when we moved last summer. We were very concerned because we moved after we ordered our mini-pack tickets but before we actually got them. We were pretty sure, judging by the response at the Sabres box office, that they were probably ending up in Edmonton.)

  2. 2 Becky July 9, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Requiring an address change in writing is to verify that they have a hard copy record in case somewhere down the road you claim you didn’t authorize it. At least that’s the way the City of Buffalo thinks (loser points right there).

    Technically someone who wanted your tickets could redirect your mail. This way a crook would need to buy a stamp.

    Yeah, I kind of wondered about the handwritten receipt too.

  3. 3 mcguffers July 9, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    The logo is killing me!

    After my dad had taken over finances for my great-aunt, he had a nice little collection of those mailing labels that charities sent her for her donations. He still uses them. She’s been dead for 10 years.

    It’s nice to see the Sabres and my dad have something in common.

  4. 4 Mike July 9, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    And to think, they process nearly 15,000 accounts in this antiquated fashion every year!

    This will be my fourth year as a season ticket holder, and two years ago I moved and had to go to the arena to change my address. Nice to see that it hasn’t changed, I suppose, but at least in my situation I moved in September, after I’d already received my tickets. So at least that was a bit less inconvenient.

    Welcome to the club, by the way. We have membership cards. They say “Shove it, Bucky” on them. I hope you enjoy your season tickets as much as myself and my family do.

  5. 5 M July 9, 2009 at 11:23 pm

    You’ve been a Sabres fan for like fifteen minutes, you are a Sidney Crosby fan and on top of it have season tickets. Attempt to stop bitching for just a little while.

  6. 6 Alli Suriani July 9, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    This is ridic times a zillion. If Goose knew of the paper that is being wasted…. This is a mess, how do they even function in that office over there? And the old logo kills me. Sometimes I think the Sabres forget they are an actual professional sports team.

  7. 7 Katebits July 10, 2009 at 12:21 am

    Heather, oooh, you moved BETWEEN the time you ordered the tickets but before you received them in the mail? You must have been sweating bullets! (I actually remember that you WERE sweating bullets.)

    Becky, making customers jump through a goofy (but easily twarted) hoop seems like a VERY poor defense against fraud.

    mcguffers, I love those little address labels! I pay all my bills online now, so I don’t really need them anymore, but I like how your dad thinks. :D

    Thanks, Mike! Where do I pick up my membership card?

    M, I think you’re being quite a crankypants, but your cranky comment does give me an opportunity to voice something I was thinking about this evening. In my post I-just-got-season-tickets glee, I’ve probably been coming across as gloating to some people. I don’t want to sound like a jerk about the tickets, particularly because it’s expensive to go to games. I’ve been referencing dollar amounts quite cavalierly over the last few days, but in truth, purchasing these tickets was a very big financial decision for me. As for me bitching too much, well, it’s all in good fun.

    Alli, I hadn’t even CONSIDERED what Goose would think of this flagrant misuse of carbon copies. THINK OF THE CARBON FOOTPRINT. *angry HONK*

  8. 8 parker91 July 10, 2009 at 1:26 am

    With the front office using technology like this, I almost expect the team to come out next year wearing the bottlecap jerseys. (No, I’m not that old, but you get the point.)

  9. 9 Schnookie July 10, 2009 at 8:23 am

    This is the most amazing thing I’ve ever seen! I’m actually impressed that they’ve even got the goat head logo on there, since the form seems like it should pre-date that one. (I’m also impressed at how cheap your tickets are. Only $1,000,000?)

  10. 10 Katebits July 10, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Oooh, parker91, that would hiLARious.

    Schnoooke, not only are the seats only $1,000,000 but the tickets will be hand delivered by white tigers. :P

  11. 11 Pookie July 10, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Schnoooke, not only are the seats only $1,000,000 but the tickets will be hand delivered by white tigers.

    Oh, you mean with the rest of the regular mail? :D

  12. 12 Jesse H. July 10, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    Didn’t our owner make all his money by computerizing systems very similar to the seasons-ticket process? I guess he really is hands-off.

  13. 13 MarkB July 10, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Not sure the Sabres can beat down their cheapness label after the proof you’ve provided here. Absolutely awesome. Love the old logo.

    If I would have seen this last year, I would have REALLY been freaking out about our mini-pack. I still remember drafting the letter (on my COMPUTER!) to have our address updated and dropping it in the mail.

  14. 14 Patty (in Dallas) July 10, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    Alli, I hadn’t even CONSIDERED what Goose would think of this flagrant misuse of carbon copies. THINK OF THE CARBON FOOTPRINT. *angry HONK*

    Yeah! Carbon copies leave ACTUAL carbon footprints!

    That receipt is hilarious! (When I buy tickets online, or from a ticket rep, the receipt is printed on an extra section of ticket cardboard. I always think I got an extra free pair by mistake.)

  15. 15 mcguffers July 10, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    In my post I-just-got-season-tickets glee, I’ve probably been coming across as gloating to some people.

    Katebits, when I’m finally done with school and have a big girl job and can afford season tickets, I will DEFINITELY be gloating. I will bedazzle t-shirts that say things like “Ask me about my season tickets” and “I get to spend 42 nights a year with Paul Gaustad” and “My season tickets make me better than you”. Your blog gives us a place to vent frustrations when the season sucks and laugh when we’d normally be crying. So now, it’s your time to shine! You better gloat, dammit! Gloat til you can gloat no more, you classless beeyotch!! :D

    I’m not as drunk as you think right now… but I’m getting there!

  16. 16 Katebits July 11, 2009 at 12:48 am

    I will bedazzle t-shirts that say things like “Ask me about my season tickets” and “I get to spend 42 nights a year with Paul Gaustad” and “My season tickets make me better than you”.

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    Thank you, mcguffers.

  17. 17 Carl Jr. July 11, 2009 at 7:32 am

    I saw that former Sabre, Brian Campbell, threw out the first pitch at the Cubs game yesterday. I wonder if the Bisons ever let him do that? :)

  18. 18 mcguffers July 11, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    I wonder if the Bisons ever let him do that? :)

    They let Tyler Myers do it!

  19. 19 beigefood July 11, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Congrats! I would LOVE to get season tickets! however, since I am in Buffalo for approximately 4 games a year….I just get tickets to those games.

    Anywho, I am wondering why, on this form that seems to predate Tim Horton’s first coffee shop, they ask for your EMAIL ADDRESS????
    for the non-existent database?

    I had a SNAFU with the ticket office last Christmas about some will-called seats. Long story short, situation was fixed (their fault? yep.)

    Do you often wonder if you walk into the ticket office “time warp” will you see your granny’s sitting room, with flowered wallpaper and a knitted afghan on the couch for afternoon naps? That everytime the phone rings they mistake the noise for the oven timer telling them to turn off their “stories” and meander out into the kitchen to check to see if the pie is done?

    PS – Sabres camp yesterday. Ended an hour early. Besides Gerbe and Kennedy being Gerbe and Kennedy, other players that impressed me: Tyler Ennis, Paul Byron. Second-tier of impression: TJ Brennan and Corey Tropp.
    Those on the “Get off the ice you bum!” list include Adam Payerl and Dennis Pearsson (yes, the first-rounder; let’s hope he was having a bad day).


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

