Body Worlds: Hell No, I Won’t Go!

A group of my friends are going to see Body Worlds at the Science Museum tonight.  I was originally going to go with them until I suddenly and abruptly realized that I am totally creeped out by the pictures of that exhibit. In theory I think it’s a cool idea, but I am almost positive that if I were in a room with a bunch of skinless bodies in weird poses….I would have many resultant nightmares.  I feel like a bit of a wuss about Body Worlds, but the fact that I get the heebie-jeebies from the billboard on the 190 tells me I should just stay away.

Despite my clear distaste for Body Worlds, I can’t stop talking about it with everyone.  Ranting about Body Worlds is, like, my favorite thing to do this week.  I’ve found that people are either enthusiastically looking forward to seeing Body Worlds, or they are 100% opposed to the concept.

A slightly inebriated conversation with some friends yesterday about Body Worlds led to this exchange:

Kate: I do NOT like those bodies.

Susie: I’m not really freaked out by dead things.  I always thought dissecting stuff in school was quite interesting.

Kate: It’s not that they’re dead (beginning to screech) it’s that they have no skin! And their eyes!  OH SWEET GOD, THEIR EYES!  I cannot deal with skinless people in weird poses!

Christina: That sounds like a Match.com ad…..Must have steady job, good sense of humor, and skin.

Kate: Totally.  I like walks on the beach, movies, cuddling, EYELIDS, AND SKIN.  The skinless need not apply.

9 Responses to “Body Worlds: Hell No, I Won’t Go!”


  1. 1 mcguffers July 16, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I hate when people chew with their mouth open, so lack of lips would probably be a deal breaker for me.

  2. 2 Pookie July 16, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    I am so freaked out by any kind of suggestion of there being a collection of stuff and innards and organs and muscles and veins and lungs and *shudder* under skin that I just assume that every living thing is one atomic unit — Person. Or Cat. Or Dog. And so on. Person is just solid “person”, not skin and innards.

    In other words, “Body Worlds” is my WORST NIGHTMARE. I am so with you on that. In fact, I am so with you on that, that this post is giving me the heebie-jeebies.

  3. 3 Katebits July 16, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    mcguffers, :^::::::::::::::::::: I would say no lips is a deal breaker for me too, but I’m concerned with all these demands I’m getting too picky.

    Pookie, I’m sorry I skeeved you out. A few days ago while I was eating dinner I started thinking about Body Worlds, and I couldn’t continue eating. So, I feel your pain.

  4. 4 Schnookie July 16, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    I actually prefer my dates not to have eyelids, but Body World still completely creeps me out.

  5. 5 mcguffers July 17, 2009 at 9:11 am

    I actually prefer my dates not to have eyelids, but Body World still completely creeps me out.

    Heh. For once Lucic is OVER-evolved for your tastes.

    I saw the website for Body Worlds. I don’t know if I could donate my body to that. They had two bodies figure skating. I don’t want my corpse being more active than I am.

  6. 6 Katebits July 17, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Mcguffers, to me, the one appeal of the body donation program is how slimming the process seems to be. I like the idea of my corpse doing something that I was too lazy out of shape to do in life. Like, if I could be memorialized doing chin-ups or something, that’d be cool.

  7. 7 Chaz July 17, 2009 at 3:16 pm

    I actually really wanted to see this when it was in St. Paul. I may have to head to Buffalo and just do it.

  8. 8 Schnookie July 17, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Heh. For once Lucic is OVER-evolved for your tastes.

    Oooh, burn. I… don’t really have a retort for that. Heh.

    I don’t want my corpse being more active than I am.

    I like the idea of my corpse doing something that I was too lazy out of shape to do in life. Like, if I could be memorialized doing chin-ups or something, that’d be cool.

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: I’m afraid that if they tried to pose my body into some sort of sportsy scenario, it would rebel completely. Whatever finishing treatment they give those corpses isn’t strong enough to keep my body in some sort of unnatural “jogging” pose. Nope, I’m going to have to be in the couch potato and/or napping exhibits.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

