Very Boring Times

Without the Olympics and Crunchy’s contract to tide us over, this off-season is SO much more boring then last year.

The only thing I can think to dwell on is Drew Stafford, and even I can’t get myself too worked up over him.  I mean, I suppose I hope they sign him, but frankly I’m feeling very uneasy about how similar next year’s team is likely to be to last year’s team.  If Staffy has to be the sacrificial lamb in the name of “change,” so be it.  At this point I’m pretty confused about Staffy’s value to the Sabres, and I’m worried that he and Lindy just can’t make it work.  Maybe it would be best for all parties to set Staffy free. (Free to play hockey elsewhere, not free to roam the land eating whatever brains he happens upon.  Heavens, no.  Staffy must be contained.  The only question is…where?)

Like I said, boring times.

6 Responses to “Very Boring Times”


  1. 1 Chris July 23, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    71 days until the Sabres first game…

  2. 2 CrotchetyOriginalSam July 23, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    You could always become a Twins fa… no, wait. I take that back. You’ve been through enough.

  3. 3 BackInDaBuff July 24, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Dear Katebits,

    I’m a little diasppointed with you lack of faith in Staffy. I’ve become a Sabres fan in the past year, and I hope you will think again about this kid. I know everyone realizes that he went through a bit of a slump at the end of last season, but please name any of the Sabres who *didn’t*. Wow, how things might have been different had he ended the season on a good note….

    I dunno, not like I even know Drew that well, I’m just saying that I think Buffalo needs to give him a shot this season. He’s a phenomenal player (Hat Trick in that Edmonton game, that unforgettable goal against Toronto, etc), and will only improve from here.

    From the bottom of my heart, Katebits, please show Staffy some love. I need you to regain faith. Plus, We all know Darcy reads your blog and if he thinks “Omg Katebits doesnt even care anymore about Stafford”, then we’ll lose him for sure.

  4. 4 Shauna July 24, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    He’s a phenomenal player (Hat Trick in that Edmonton game, that unforgettable goal against Toronto, etc), and will only improve from here.

    BIDB – I wouldn’t base your faith in Staffy by the out come of the Edmonton game. I think everyone, including Crunchy had a hat trick that evening :P It was a sad night in Oil country! I know, I know – best game ever in Buffalo, right!

    Katebits _ I am soooo bored! I have been reduced to checking out three websites (your’s included) and then I stare at the screen not knowing what to do. I have officially seen everything on the internet that I want to see. That’s it, there is nothing left! Any suggestions?

  5. 5 robbinghimblind July 24, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    I hope they keep him, there are certainly other players that deserve the boot ahead of him. And hopefully no one mentions the word ‘ sacrifice’ to him, he may get confused and then there would be a death count.

    And perhaps a little roaming free would do him some good.

  6. 6 Katebits July 24, 2009 at 6:27 pm

    From the bottom of my heart, Katebits, please show Staffy some love. I need you to regain faith. Plus, We all know Darcy reads your blog and if he thinks “Omg Katebits doesnt even care anymore about Stafford”, then we’ll lose him for sure.

    AHAHAHA! BackInDaBuff, you had me at hello. I’ll try to be more Staffy-enthused. There was a time when I loved him quite a bit, and I really haven’t given up on him as a player. I still have hope! I think I’m just SO bored (hockey-wise) that I might prefer the drama of losing Staffy to the comparatively bland announcement that he’ll be back. But I shouldn’t take my bored frustrations out on poor Staffy.

    I have officially seen everything on the internet that I want to see.

    Me too, Shauna. Me too. As for suggestions, are you reading cuteoverload regularly? That’s an important stop for me.

    And perhaps a little roaming free would do him some good.

    Now I have this great image of Staffy roaming around in the woods, all disheveled and bearded feasting on campers and small woodland creatures.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

