Looking Good

This picture appeared in a recent Puck Daddy post in which the Sabres were used as an example of a team that broadcasts the same audio feed for both television and radio.  (We like our Rick Jeanneret around here.)

Picture 1

Cute!

Now, this hilarious-era picture of Rick and The Gang is fun in and of itself, but it was the object in the background that stopped me in my tracks.

latchhook

Do my eyes deceive me, or is this broadcast team posed in front of a wall mounted, original Sabres logo latch hook rug?

Magnificent.

20 Responses to “Looking Good”


  1. 1 Heather B. July 26, 2009 at 12:06 am

    I’ve seen that picture a number of times and I’ve never noticed that. You have eagle eyes, Kate! I’d consider buying a classic logo latch hook kit, I have to say.

  2. 2 Katebits July 26, 2009 at 12:15 am

    Heather, I would buy the hell out of a classic logo latch hook kit. My first instinct was to mock that latch hook rug, but the more I looked at it, the more I realized that I love it.

  3. 3 Chris July 26, 2009 at 1:19 am

    What is gonna happen when Jeanneret retires?!? I remember 2 years ago he missed a game and Kevin Sylvester filled in. He was alright but the game didnt feel the same with RJ.

  4. 4 Sally July 26, 2009 at 11:04 am

    I’m sorry, but I think Jeanneret is the main obstacle to my embracing Sabres fandom. I can’t stand the man’s voice. Am I missing something? He’s no Sam Rosen!

  5. 5 Pookie July 26, 2009 at 11:10 am

    All you need is some blank canvas and some blue, gold, and white yarn, and away you go! You could truck it to the games and work on it during intermissions!

  6. 6 Chris July 26, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Sally,

    Are you the same Sally from Rick Carpiniello’s blog?

  7. 7 Katebits July 26, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Sally, Jeanneret is a BELOVED institution around here and we don’t CARE what Rangers fans think of him! You can KEEP Rosen *shudder*. :P

  8. 8 Sally July 26, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Chris, I am!

    Kate, that’s not gonna help win me over! You didn’t find him annoying when you first started liking the Sabres?

  9. 9 Katebits July 26, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    Nope, loved him from the start. Believe it or not Sally, I’m not in the business of trying to convert people to Sabres fandom. Fine by me if you don’t like Rick! I mean, you’re a Rangers fan! Your taste in hockey teams is already HIGHLY questionable. :P

  10. 10 sallypants July 26, 2009 at 4:54 pm

    I don’t mean to be so insulting! I *respect* Jeanneret, I just don’t like listening to him. And I WANT to be converted! Just think it’s going to take awhile to build a connection. Hockey season still feels way too far away.

  11. 11 sallypants July 26, 2009 at 5:28 pm

    And I thought of this too late to be snappy… but at least I don’t find Mouthbreathing Malkin attractive!

  12. 12 Katebits July 26, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    at least I don’t find Mouthbreathing Malkin attractive!

    Excellent. More Malkin for me!

    Sally, I’m not insulted by your opinions of Jeanneret. I know he’s not for everyone, especially people who aren’t naturally Sabres fans. But, we LOVE him here. Like, we’d sell the whole team off and burn the city to the ground before we’d turn on RJ. We’re not even remotely logical about him. We just love him passionately.

  13. 13 sallypants July 26, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    Don’t worry, I understand. Maybe someday I even feel the same…

  14. 14 Amy July 26, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I’m fixated on Roby’s shirt for some reason. The dark green at the top with the pastels on the bottom are totally from the hilarious era of fashion. What would the team’s current resident fashionistas have to say about that shirt today?

    The only thing I can say in RJ’s defense is that listening to him on the radio is a completely different experience than listening to him while watching the game broadcast. While he may appear to be over-describing the action on the TV broadcast, it’s a perfect style for radio.

  15. 15 Katebits July 26, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Amy, I’m quite fascinated by Robi in this picture too. Look at how happy and cute he looks! And his shirt is amazing.

    I’ve never really thought about tv RJ vs radio RJ, but now that you mention it, I LOVE listening to the radio broadcasts. Some of my favorite memories of Sabres games have been from when I was listening in the car.

  16. 16 mcguffers July 26, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    I LOVE listening to the radio broadcasts. Some of my favorite memories of Sabres games have been from when I was listening in the car.

    My radio broadcast is suspect here, so while listening to a game on the way home from work one night, I completely lost reception. I almost hit the car in front of me because I was flipping out. I picked it back up again right in time to hear the end of the shootout. RJ and I shared a glorious moment together. (I guess better radio reception is another positive about moving to Buffalo).

    As for tv RJ, I have three positives:
    1. His constant play by play makes it impossible for any color guy (ahem, Harry) to ruin the energy of the on ice action with some ridiculously long winded story about who cares and I don’t give a #$@*.

    2. When the camera man sees something shiny and completely misses what’s going on in the corners, RJ can usually give you a good summary of events.

    3. And because I still get body covering chills with “Jason Pominville! Shorthanded goal! Oh now do you believe? Now do you believe?! These guys are good! SCARY GOOD!! And they are going to either Carolina or New Jersy!! The Buffalo Sabres knock off the Ottawa Senators in Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh-vertime!”

    (sorry for the long ass comment!)

  17. 17 Matt July 27, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Likewise, I would buy the hell out of either the rug or a kit for one.

    For as long as I can remember, RJ has been the voice of hockey in my mind. When I moved to NJ, I was shocked at how dedicated to Sam Rosen the Rangers fans were and likewise the Devils fans and Doc/Chico. Without a doubt, RJ is more exciting to listen to, with that great crescendo during flurries around the net! My one beef is that as he ages he has an increased tendency to scream -all- -the- -time-.

    As for what happens when he retires, I see only one possible scenario. He lets the organization know waaaaaaay ahead of time and the RJ banner goes right to the rafters after the final horn. Y’all remember the “Thank You, Sabres!” chant a few years back? HSBC is going to rock 10 times harder taht night.

  18. 18 Phil July 27, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    I concur about the instant RJ banner. I’m pretty goddamned positive the Sabres will raise a banner for RJ, which begs the question, will RJ be the first broadcaster in league history to get his own banner?

  19. 19 Marie July 27, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    Anyone else notice that Roby and that other guy are both being stabbed in the head by the sabres? Is it just me…?

  20. 20 Matt July 28, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    Roby and that other guy

    !!!! That other guy?!?! That’s Ted Darling!!!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

