Our Minds = Blown

Mike Grier is going to be a Sabre this season.

grierplanWhoa.

This is weird for a variety of reasons, including, but not limited to:

1. Mike Grier hates the Sabres and everything they stand for.
2. Actually, that’s it.  That’s the main reason this is weird.
3. It’s just REALLY weird that he’d come back here after he was all, “The Sabres suck ass” (I’m paraphrasing) on the way out of town.

I think I like it.

The Sabres need a craggy old vet, Mike Grier needs a job, and Craig Rivet needs a BFF to remind him what it was like to play on a good hockey team.  Earlier in the off season I was lobbying for John Madden, but Grier might be an even better option because he’s been here before and he’s presumably already aware of the Derek Roy Factor with the Sabres.  Hopefully the breaking in period will be brief, and Grier will show up ready to kick some Sabre butt.  I assume Derek Roy and Thomas Vanek are already scared of him, so we’re way ahead of the game there.

I’m a little worried for Mike Grier though.  I mean, if he thought the Sabres sucked ass in 2006, just WAIT until he gets a look at them now.

Good (and weird) work, Darcy.

regierheh

6 Responses to “Our Minds = Blown”


  1. 1 Phil August 10, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    Minds blown, indeed, Katebits. Of course, the Sabres-loving internets today was positively exploded with buzz about Grier coming back.

    I’m glad he’s back. The man is a one-player PK. He’s got no shot, but I can see beaucoup shorthanded opportunities for him an everyone’s favorite mouth-breather Paille. Hooray for an ever-improving PK!

  2. 2 edmontonhockeyblog August 11, 2009 at 12:39 am

    Wow, the first I’ve heard of this news is from you site. Rosy as a Buffalo Sabre. Wow!

  3. 3 Reigning Frog August 11, 2009 at 10:46 am

    One of the oddest/weirdest/how-do-you-respond-to-this moments of my hockey life centered around Mike Grier. Back in ’06 I caught a Sabres/Devils game and was sitting next to a woman from Hamilton, Ontario who was a Devils fan. When Grier took the ice, she nudged me and said in a polite British accent “Oh, look, it’s the black chap. Not often you see them skate– weak ankles and all.” I was too speechless to respond, but the event is tattooed in my brain.

  4. 4 Katebits August 11, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Weak ankles?! AHAHAHAHA!

  5. 5 BackInDaBuff August 11, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    My thoughts exactly, Katebits. You couldn’t have said it better. Not to mention that I hate the thought that Grier would *somehow* become a back-up of sorts for the potentially Stafford-less Sabres this fall?!?

  6. 6 Ron August 11, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    What a horribly racist comment by that woman, and what a total bitch for living in Hamilton and not being a Leafs or Sabres fan. That is, unless she’s from New Jersy (then the racism makes sense). Weak ankles? What’s next, suggesting that he cant see at night or that he cant swim? Wait, 99.9% of my black friends cant swim…. Ok, so that one is true, but comeon.

    Back to business, I think this was a good deal. Who cares if he talked shit about the Sabres going down the wrong path; because he was 100% right about that! This team is a complete joke and an empty shell of the league-ass-kicking 2006 team.

    I remember watching Grier knock a Hurricans player to the ground during the ’06-ECF, the guy got back up and Grier put him back on his ass a second time. I also remember some great hits and some unexpected goals from him. However, I hope he and Roy dont have problems, because all we need is Roy (basicaly our 1st or 2nd best guy) being off his game. Our goal count would suffer.

    Anyways, all we need to do now is get Drury, Briere, Kotalik, Spacek, and our old badass intimidating Black & Red jerseys back. Enough with this sissy colors and slug shit.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

