Hooray For Blogging!

The Willful Caboose celebrated its second birthday a few days ago, and it got me to thinking about blogging.

I’ve been blogging consistently for almost four years now.  Before I wrote TWC, I wrote a personal blog for the amusement of my friends and family.  When I got caught up in the Sabres playoff run in the spring of 2007, I stumbled upon BfloBlog, and then I was absolutely hooked- both on the sport, and on the sports blogosphere.

It is not an exaggeration to say that blogging has changed my life.

My personal blog was where I discovered that I loved writing, and it’s also where I realized that I have a bit of a knack for entertaining people in short, written bursts.  In the great scheme of things, it’s a frivolous skill to possess, but I’ve enjoyed it nonetheless.  In the beginning, the best thing about blogging was that it gave value to behaviors that I had previously considered to be time wasters.  I began to consciously cherish the silliest aspects of my life, because they were good blog fodder.  Ridiculous, I know, but viewing my life through this lens grounded me, and best of all, it made me much more aware and appreciative of all the wonderful things I have in my life, no matter how small.  I believe it ultimately helped me be a happier person.

I want to encourage any of you who think you might want to start a blog to give it a try. It’s free. There is really nothing to lose. It doesn’t have to be about hockey.  It can be about absolutely anything in the entire world.  Any hobby, profession, music, religion, whatever.  You name it, you can blog about it, and you can read blogs about it. Or, it doesn’t have to be about anything. If you don’t like it, you can quit. If you want it to be anonymous, it can be. You don’t have to have any readers.  If you think you might want to start a blog, you should.

There are very few rules to blogging.

1. Don’t forget that once it’s on the internet, it’s there forever. If you are attaching your name to something, remember that it will be searchable for the rest of your life.
2. Don’t blog about work.  Seriously, it’s not worth it.
3. Be safe.  Use common sense when deciding how much to reveal about yourself and your whereabouts.

That’s pretty much it.

My one bit of advice would be to do it for yourself in the beginning.  Don’t worry about your stats or followers or links, and don’t make a big ta-do about it in the beginning.  Don’t email everyone you know with a link on the first day you start your blog.  Just tell a handful of your closest friends and family.  Give your blog a little breathing room before you go shouting your URL from the rooftops.  Just start writing and see what what sticks.

As far as I can tell, the internet is infinitely large, so my theory is that we shouldn’t worry about filling it up with nonsense. The internet will always have room for more, and we can’t hurt it by throwing in our two cents.  If, for some mysterious reason, your blog sucks SO HARD that you become concerned that it’s actually damaging the internet you can just erase it and we’ll pretend we never had this conversation, but I seriously doubt it will suck that hard.  It might be great.

Happy blogging!

16 Responses to “Hooray For Blogging!”


  1. 1 Caroline August 14, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Happy 2nd birthday, TWC! I’ve enjoyed reading your funny, lighthearted, and insightful posts about our beloved Sabres. Keep ‘em coming!

  2. 2 Erin August 14, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    But what if Julia Childs hates me and my blog?

  3. 3 Pookie August 14, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Happy 2nd Birthday, TWC!!! *throws TWC-colored confetti* I am so, so, so glad you started this blog, because (among many, many, many other reasons) without it we’d never have “Goosestepping — Not the Nazi Kind” which continues to be one of my favoritest blog posts ever.

    Also, bravo to this essay! I want to print it out and give it to all my computer class students! I read somewhere that you shouldn’t make your blog public until you’ve written 5 posts. I thought that was great advice. (I don’t think Schnookie and I followed it, though. Hee!)

  4. 4 Katebits August 14, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Thanks guys! Pookie, I don’t think I followed my own advice either. I’m pretty sure I was all, “HEY EVERYONE, READ MY HOCKEY BLOG” on the day I started TWC. Heh.

    This reminds me, if anyone has a hockey blog they want in the sidebar, let me know!

    Erin, Julia Childs is dead, so she can’t hurt us anymore.

  5. 5 Schnookie August 14, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, TWC!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! I love having an excuse to party!

    I also love this post. I have to say, I’ve had a similar experience with blogging, in that it enriched my life about a million times more than I ever could have imagined it would. I’m so glad you wrote this excellent post to encourage other people to give it a shot! (Although that part about blogging only for yourself is kinda dumb. Obviously the real motivation behind blogging is the fame and fortune. :P)

    Erin, Julia Childs is dead, so she can’t hurt us anymore.

    :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

  6. 6 Katebits August 14, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Obviously the real motivation behind blogging is the fame and fortune.

    SSSH! The fame and fortune are a secret!

  7. 7 Amy August 14, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Obviously the real motivation behind blogging is the fame and fortune.

    SSSH! The fame and fortune are a secret!

    You guys are getting fame and fortune?!

    Seriously, Happy Birthday TWC! The Sabres yearbook post and Sabres meditation are two of my favorite posts ever.

  8. 8 Grrrreg August 14, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Two years old, what a lovely age! Congratulations!

  9. 9 Shauna August 15, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Hooray for blogging indeed! Happy 2nd Anniversary! I am always amazed at your ability to be consistant with your blogging(especially in the off season), and the fact it’s usually brilliant and always brings a smile to my face (even when you are super pissed with the Sabres, although it probably helps that I am not a Sabres fan, therefore do not share in your super pissedness). I’m looking forward to the hockey season and reading your blog.

    I’ll stop kissing ass now. (But I do really enjoy your writing and humor).

    OK, NOW I’ll stop!

  10. 10 Katebits August 15, 2009 at 10:15 am

    Thanks guys!

    Shauna, you never have to worry about kissing too much ass. :)

    You guys, HOCKEY IS COMING! It’s getting closer. I can practically feel it now.

  11. 11 Shelby Rose August 15, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Happy 2nd birthday, TWC! I know it’ll continue keeping us fans amused throughout the season if (and when) times get tough. :D

  12. 12 danielleia August 15, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Happy Birthday! And also, rule #4 never forget your password.

  13. 13 mcguffers August 15, 2009 at 1:22 pm

    Woo Hoo!! Happy Birthday and let’s hear if for TWC’s “Terrible Two’s”!! We’ll even leave the funfetti off the cake so it doesn’t look like ass.

  14. 14 elise August 15, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    happy b-day, TWC!!! I remember when you were named! a very special day!

  15. 15 Patty (in Dallas) August 15, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Happy blog birthday, Kate! The Big Two, eh? Impressive!

    Blogging changed my life, too, but it was really blogging like yours that did it. Not my own. :D

  16. 16 sallypants August 17, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Happy Birthday, TWC! If it wasn’t 400 degrees right now I’d bake you a cake!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

