7 Things

1. In spite of the balmy, TOTALLY-not-hockyish weather, I’m really yearning for hockey now.  A few days ago I drove to the arena to pay my Sabres bill rather than mail it, just because I felt like going to the arena.  I spent a few minutes poking around the gift shop, and even though I found a hat that I liked, I didn’t buy it.  Yet.  I want an excuse to go back this week.  It’s probably because of the excitement over my season tickets, but this summer feels like it is TAKING FOREVER.   I feel like we’re in the home stretch though.  Before we know it, it will be time for training camp.

2. Not only am I waiting for hockey, I’m also waiting to close on my house.  I’ll most likely close right around when the pre-season starts.  This is frustrating timing, because the BPO is in our annual downtime.  I’m not working.  All I’m doing is sitting around…waiting.  Under normal circumstances, I’d go so far as to say I’m a gifted time waster, but it’s been hard recently.  I’m wasting time, but I’m not enjoying it like I should.  Heh.

3. Seriously, what the HELL, Drew Stafford?  What is Darcy up to?  We have too many Sabres right now, don’t we?

4. Shut up, Aaron Maybin.

5. I don’t really like it when someone tries to show me pictures from a vacation, but I’m perfectly willing to look at those same pictures on Facebook.  I like looking at vacation pictures as long as it’s at my own pace and without the vacationer hovering over my shoulder being all, “That’s hike we took with so-and-so and blah blah blah blah.”  Sometimes I just click from Facebook album to Facebook album to Facebook album until I’m looking at photos of strangers.

6. Cinnamon Toast Crunch is delicious.

7. I just read on Puck Daddy that Patrick Marleau was stripped of the “C” in San Jose.  I know this sounds crazy (because the Sharks are a good team and the Sabres are a bad team), but I’d honestly prefer our problems to theirs at this point.  What is wrong with them?  Isn’t the season just going to SUCK this year for them, no matter what?  Even if they win the President’s Cup again, won’t the playoffs just be hanging over the organization like an ominously-teetering-anvil all year?  That sounds awful.  At least the Sabres are consistently sucky.  None of this “playing really well until it really matters” bullhonky for us!  No siree, the Sabres suck through and through, and that’s why we love ‘em….or something.

8 Responses to “7 Things”


  1. 1 Heather B. August 17, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    I would MUCH rather have our problems than the Sharks. At least we kind of know what to address with the Sabres. I don’t know where you’d even begin with the Sharks. You’re right. They could win EVERY SINGLE regular season game and it won’t matter at all. Brutal.

  2. 2 Katebits August 17, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    They could win EVERY SINGLE regular season game and it won’t matter at all. Brutal.

    That’s what I’m saying! It’s like their season won’t even START until the playoffs.

  3. 3 Caroline August 17, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Sometimes I just click from Facebook album to Facebook album to Facebook album until I’m looking at photos of strangers.Sometimes I just click from Facebook album to Facebook album to Facebook album until I’m looking at photos of strangers.

    Ahh, the art of Facebook creeping. You don’t mean to creep, but you always end up doing so!

  4. 4 Katebits August 17, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    Totally, Caroline. I’m nursing a light crush on a friend of a friend right now. I know absolutely NOTHING about the guy. Heh.

  5. 5 sallypants August 17, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    I am also melting and bored. Would you be up for ice cream or beer this week? I promise I won’t show you pictures of my road trip.

  6. 6 Sharpie August 18, 2009 at 6:02 am

    This summer seems to be dragging on for me as well, though perhaps it’s the fact that I’ve been living in an area where it’s been warm and sunny since I got here in February. (It hasn’t rained since Easter, and the temperatures are over 110 every day, often into the low 120s)

  7. 7 Patty (in Dallas) August 19, 2009 at 12:04 am

    6. Cinnamon Toast Crunch is delicious.

    Aaaaaaayyyyy-men!

  8. 8 Reigning Frog August 19, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    I agree with you 110% about vaca pics and the weird dichotomy with pics on Facebook. I feel the same about kid pics.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

