Here We Go! Part One

You guys, HOCKEY IS ALMOST BACK.  For real now.  The days are getting shorter, the air is crisper, and my Facebook page is covered in statuses like, “I just saw Ryan Miller getting coffee.”

When I think about the upcoming season, I’m like twelve parts “WOOOOOOOOOOOOO”, three parts “Hey, waaaait a minute…these are all the same players, minus our best defensemen, and plus some dude who thought the Sabres sucked back when they were good,” and one part, “This is going to blow.  Hard.”

Now before you get all, “GAWD Katebits, you are SUCH a negative nellie.  Can’t you just be happy, FOR ONCE IN YOUR LIFE,” I’d like you to recheck that math.  My feelings are leaning overwhelmingly towards WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!  I hope it’s obvious that even when I’m in a full-blown temper tantrum, I still love the little bastards.

But, I cannot deny that even in spite of my overall hockey hunger, I’m still feeling a bit conflicted about welcoming the Sabres back into my daily consciousness.  In order to be fully prepared for the season, I think I’m going to need to talk it out, with a long heart-to-heart (or as my friend Courtney would say, “H-to-H”).  I’m girly like that.

Here’s the situation as I see it: I’ve spent the summer “on a break” from the Sabres, but now they’re back, and they want to know what’s up.  It’s time for the State of the Union Address, and, frankly, I’m not sure what to say.   So join me, won’t you, as we spend the next few days, working through our feelings.

Part One: Before We Go Any Farther, I’ve Got to Get Something Off My Chest

Sabres, you really hurt me last season.  You looked so lazy on the ice, and your interviews were so infuriatingly blasé.  I was really hoping that this summer apart would change you, but I see now that that really hasn’t happened.  I see now that you’re basically the same.

All I heard from the Regier apologists last spring was, “Just give Darcy the summer to tinker.  He’s good at making trades.  The cap is going to go down, and good players are going to pop free around the league.  Darcy’s conservative nature is going to pay off when he’s in a position to take advantage of some other team’s poor cap management.  Give him the chance to shake things up.”  Well, I did give him a chance.  I waited patiently all summer for the trade or the free agent signing that would make everything okay, and you know what, Sabres?  It never came.

So, where does that leave us now?

Well, I’ve done some serious thinking this summer Sabres, and I’ve learned a lot about who I am and what I want out of my hockey team.  I understand now that if I want things to be different between us, I can’t expect the change to come from you.  I can’t change you, Sabres.  I understand that now.  You are who you are, and I can either accept you or break this off, once and for all.

I think we both know I’m not going to break it off.

I’ve invested too much in this relationship to toss it away at the first sign of trouble.  I know you’re not perfect, but frankly, neither am I.  So, I’ll do my best to accept you for who you are this season, and I promise not to get too shrill too soon.  I may not always like you, but I’m in it for the long haul Sabres. For better or for worse.

You and me (and 18,690 other people), baby.

*******

Now that the vows have been renewed, please tune in tomorrow ["tomorrow" meaning "some indiscriminate amount of time in the future"], as we continue our preparations for the return of hockey by discussing, Reasons For Hope, Reasons For Despair, and Reasons For Never-Ending Boundless Enthusiasm, and Prayers for the Upcoming Season.

9 Responses to “Here We Go! Part One”


  1. 1 Heather B. September 7, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    All I heard from the Regier apologists last spring was, “Just give Darcy the summer to tinker. He’s good at making trades. The cap is going to go down, and good players are going to pop free around the league. Darcy’s conservative nature is going to pay off when he’s in a position to take advantage of some other team’s poor cap management.

    Jeez, why would anyone have said anything like that? Heh :::shifty eyes:::

  2. 2 Katebits September 7, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    I DON’T KNOW, HEATHER. WHY WOULD SOMEONE SAY THAT? :::accusing eyes:::

  3. 3 Erin September 7, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Now now ladies. Let’s hold hands and skip around and look forward to a blissful hockey season that will in no way cause strife or over the top stress. Let’s enjoy this time of anticipation. Better than the moment, sweeter than the memory…..anticipation.

  4. 4 CrotchetyOriginalSam September 7, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Not to in any way side with Darcy and Heather, but those “taking advantage of some other team’s poor cap management” deals tend to happen in the last weeks of the preseason, not so much over the summer. So it’s still possible that your team might not suck quite as hard when October comes…

  5. 5 Katebits September 7, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    Ordinarily I’d agree with you Sam, but Darcy has already told us he’s not making any more trades, so unless he’s got something super stealth in the works, this is the team we’re starting the season with.

  6. 6 Heather B. September 8, 2009 at 1:08 am

    I think if something were to pop loose Darcy would jump on it regardless of what he’s said.

    Or that’s how I would feel if I were a Darcy apologist. But I’m not. At all. No siree.

  7. 7 Katebits September 8, 2009 at 11:02 am

    Darcy Regier does not “jump on it”. Ever. I think he’d be a lot more like my cat Trixie with an ant. He’d walk gingerly up to it, he’d delicately sniff it a few times, and then he’d veeeery tentatively reach his paw out as if he was considering batting at it, and then he run behind the couch and visually stalk it for a half hour or so. Maybe, if the ant died of natural causes Darcy would emerge from behind his bunker, but ONLY then. :P

  8. 8 mcguffers September 8, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Darcy Regier does not “jump on it”. Ever.

    But I now have a mental picture of him and Lindy doing the “Carlton/Will” dance from Fresh Prince of Bel Air. (I would cut and paste it from YouTube, but I’m not so good with that)

  9. 9 PKB September 8, 2009 at 5:26 pm

    Darcy totally misjudged the market, once again. At the end of last years regular season I was confident roster changes were in order. I have a fair amount of respect for Darcy’s skillz as a GM but he seems to be waiting for the bottom to fall out on the rest of the league for overpaying players. He should stop trying to outsmart the system.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

