Holy Saint Francis, Hockey is Back.

I think we can all agree that this offseason was somehow longer, and more arduous than last summer.  In an attempt to shield myself from the pain of the seemingly endless days of the offseason, I shelved “hockey” in some deep dark corner of my brain.  I boxed “hockey” up, and shoved it deep down in there, and I tried not to think too much about it, because a) The Sabres suck ass and I hate them, and b) I miss them so so so so much when they’re gone.

In early August, hockey was just too painful and too confusing to dwell on for long.

I couldn’t go to Puck Drop because today I had an arduous and unavoidable, all-day task scheduled.  It was a LAME day for your humble scribe, so hockey was quite far from my mind.  I spent a minute or two in the morning inquiring via Twitter if Staffy was on the ice, but other than that, I figured my day would be 100% Sabre-free.  But THEN, at about 3:15 when my arduous and unavoidable all-day task unexpectedly ended 45 minutes early, I found myself thinking…”I wonder if the box office at HSBC is still open?”

So, I hopped in the Civic Doody and booked it over to the arena.

HSBC was mostly cleared out, but there were still a few street hockey games going on and the season ticket table WAS still open, so it was with great great great glee that I picked these bad boys up:

Butts ticket

They’re rocking a “Ye Olde Tyme Sabres” thing this year

I gotta tell you, those tickets put a mighty spring back into my step.  The stress and annoyance of the arduous and unavoidable all-day task quickly became but a distant memory as it suddenly and joyfully dawned on me, OH MY GOD HOCKEY IS BACK.  I HAVE TICKETS TO EVERY SINGLE GAME.  IT’S BACK AND IT’S NOT GOING AWAY FOR SIX MONTHS.  IT’S A BRAND NEW SEASON.  HALLELUJAH!  HOCKEY IS BAAAAACK!  WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

It was clear that they were trying to close the arena down but I would not be deterred.  I HAD TO SEE MY SEATS.  So, I went bounding up the stairs (the escalators were all going down), and tried to nonchalantly slip by the security guard at the top of the stairs, but he wasn’t having it.  I TRIED to charm him, and for a second I thought I had him, but even when I clasped my hands together in “begging” formation, and gave him my best “Pleeeeeeeease can I go look at my seats!  Plllllleeeeease,” (I admit that I exaggerate for comedic effect a LOT on this blog, but I SWEAR on my life that I am not exaggerating now.  I literally begged this man to let me in) he didn’t bend.  All he did was laugh at me- which means he will either be my boyfriend or my sworn enemy by season’s end.  Only time will tell.

So, I still haven’t seen my seats, but that’s okay because HOCKEY IS ALMOST BACK AND SOON I GET TO SEE MY SEATS ALL THE DING-DANG TIME!  WOOOOO!

When I got home from the arena, I was so gung-ho for hockey that I did something that I don’t think I’ve done all summer- I looked at the Sabres roster.

First things first.

Picture 2

Hey, Goose! HONK o’ the morning to you!

I was surprised to realize that I’ve never heard of half the dudes on the Sabres roster right now.  Who are THESE guys?

Picture 4 Picture 5

Oh dear, Paul Byron.  Oh no.

And then there was a pleasant surprise!  Matt Ellis!  He’s still a Sabre?!  Hot diggity!

Picture 3

He’s still a Sabre, but he’s turned tiny over the summer.  Why did they take Matt Ellis’ picture from thirty feet away?  He looks like a kindergartener.

And just like that, with one glimpse at the Sabres website, hockey IS BACK.  What the heck have I been blathering on about all summer?  OUR LONG NIGHTMARE IS OVER!  HOCKEY IS BACK!  Soon, we’ll have scrimmages, and roster photos and GAMES to write about!

Maybe they won’t suck this season!  What?….I SAID MAYBE!

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!


14 Responses to “Holy Saint Francis, Hockey is Back.”


  1. 1 Meg September 13, 2009 at 1:35 am

    Poor Paul Byron … not only does he only weight 135 lbs, he also looks like a particularly ugly girl who has just gotten the worst haircut of her life.

  2. 2 Nicky September 13, 2009 at 1:47 am

    Take care of Mike Grier for those of us in San Jose who miss him dreadfully!

  3. 3 Mags September 13, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Oh dear, Paul Byron. Oh no.

    That pretty much sums it up, yeah. Poor guy.

  4. 4 Pookie September 13, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! TICKETS!!!!!! Congratulations! I’m sorry that jerk wouldn’t let you see your seats. Maybe he was keeping them from you because Goose hasn’t gotten a chance to decorate them for you.

    (I had my own ticket discovery the other day while cleaning up the living room — I found the stack of parking passes that were sent with our season tickets just before the lock-out happened. That was less exciting than your tickets, although slightly amusing since it means I bothered packing them in our last move. And yes, I still didn’t throw them out this time, either.)

  5. 5 Schnookie September 13, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! This is, like, the most exciting blog post EVER! I’m thrilled beyond belief just by living vicariously through you!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!

    Also, the Civic Doody has had quite a makeover since I last saw it.

  6. 6 Chris September 13, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    Drew Stafford signed a two-year deal.

  7. 7 Erin September 13, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Congrats! Those tickets look mega rad. Missed nothing at the Puck Drop. Boring, but good to see the team back on the ice.

  8. 8 Amy September 13, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    According to the training camp roster handout from Puck Drop, Paul Byron is now a whopping 144 pounds. That doesn’t seem right for a 20-year-old professional hockey player, does it? I mean, Gaustad could sneeze and send the poor kid halfway across the locker room.

    Goose hasn’t gotten a chance to decorate them for you.

    This totally has to be the reason. I heard there was a run on Katebits colored crepe paper and bows at Party City this weekend.

  9. 9 Katebits September 13, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Maybe he was keeping them from you because Goose hasn’t gotten a chance to decorate them for you.

    I heard there was a run on Katebits colored crepe paper and bows at Party City this weekend.

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    I love this idea. Goose is just making my seat all fancy.

    Nicky, don’t worry, we’ll take real good care of Grier for you. He scored a foxy goal in the scrimmage this afternoon.

  10. 10 Becky September 13, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    I made sure to sit in my seat – I’m still smiling :D

  11. 11 Heather B. September 13, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    I’m having trouble computing “Grier” and “foxy goal” in the same sentence.

  12. 12 Shauna September 14, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    I’m sooo thankful hockey season is back. I’m horny for hockey!

  13. 13 Mike Byron October 14, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    hey hey go easy on byron he may be small but he gets the job done and in the end thats all that counts, would you rather buffalo picked a 6ft 2 250 lbs guy who’s useless? i hope not

  14. 14 General Contractors in 33134 March 2, 2014 at 12:11 pm

    I think the admin of this website is truly working hard
    for his web site, since here every material is quality based material.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

