4 Things

1. Holy TOLEDO do I have a lot going on right now.  My life is a little over the top these days, so if the blog suffers in the next few weeks (and it almost certainly will), I apologize.  On the other hand, in the past I’ve found time for the blog when I was letting everything else fall by the wayside, so, you never know.  I might find myself with a mountain of work, and a million phone calls to make, and a zillion notes to learn, and the sudden, OVERPOWERING urge to investigate some bit of fanciful Sabres news.  Take right now, for example.  I’m supposed to be bringing a bunch of junk over to my storage unit, but instead, I’m blogging.

2. I absolutely adore listening to hockey games on the radio.  A friend of mine recently asked if I can follow the action when I’m listening to the radio and the honest answer was, “No, not really.”  The thing is, I don’t really care about the specifics of the action when I’m listening to the radio.  Hearing sports on the radio is more of a sensory-thing than a sports-thing.  Listening to Rick and Harry and the sound of hockey on the radio is akin to listening to the soft patter of rain on the roof.  Sure, the emotions created are different, but the sound of hockey seems to be directly connected to some cozy, soothing part of my brain.  I don’t mind that these games are not being broadcast on television in the slightest, because I love listening to them on the radio.  It’s a good way to transition back into the hockey season, if you ask me.

3. The good folks over at Buffalo Eats have asked me about my favorite Buffalo vittles, so if you want to read about what I like to eat, I suggest you take a peek over here.  Buffalo Eats is a fun, unpretentious blog about nom-nom-noming your way through Buffalo.  Highly recommended.

4. I made the mistake of reading this article in the Buffalo News, and I’m now considering a full blown Sabres media blackout as a result.  Honestly, they should just stop talking to the press.  They sound like SUCH idiots going on and on about accountability.   “Accountability” reminds me of that old expression, “If you have to ask how much it costs, you probably can’t afford it.”  If you have to repeatedly remind everyone that you’ve got accountability, well, you probably don’t have it.

Just zip it, Sabres.  I’m glad that you guys are going to hold yourselves accountable but it’s OUTRAGEOUS that this is somehow a new concept, so, for the sake of my sanity, SHUT THE BLEEP UP.  That’s right, I said BLEEP.  (Funny side story:  A few weeks ago, in an honest attempt to avoid swearing on my Facebook page I wrote, “This is fu*cking lame.”  Heh.  Whoops.)

6 Responses to “4 Things”


  1. 1 Grrrreg September 21, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    I love listening to sport on the radio too. This is the way I usually follow my soccer team, because most of its games are never broadcast anywhere on tv.

    To me, it’s like reading a book versus seeing a movie. The movie is flashy and entertaining, but the book has its own rythm, and it lets you do some work to imagine the action. And hockey does sound great on radio. The sounds are one of the things I like the most about hockey.

  2. 2 Glenn September 21, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    check this clip out….
    I sure hope this isn’t us this season…

  3. 3 katie September 21, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    i was just thinking about listening to wgr. usually during the season i have to watch it to know whats going on, but listening to the preseason games is pretty awesome too. i love rick and harry.

  4. 4 Caroline September 21, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    Thanks for pointing me in the direction of Buffalo Foodies. I’ll be adding it to my Reader. And kudos to you for liking Left Bank, Falafel Bar, and Globe Market! :)

  5. 5 mcguffers September 21, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Just by reading Buffalo News articles online and seeing some players’ interviews, I noticed this incident of calling players out in the locker room and feathers getting ruffled gets brought up often. And it’s almost like the press/players are being obvious as to who was all disgruntled. Do we actually know who got called out and I’m just dense? I have my suspicions, but I’m very biased because there are a few Sabres I just really don’t like, so I probably am just wishing it was them.

  6. 6 Katebits September 22, 2009 at 10:08 am

    mcguffers, I don’t think we know the specifics, but there was a real bad game against the Caps last year and the post game interviews were DELIGHTFULLY bitchy. I think the conventional wisdom (or maybe just the Katebits wisdom) is that Goose and Crunchy went to town on everyone else. Goose and Crunchy are the ones who frequently reference the incident, which is kind of hilarious if you assume they were on the ruffling side of the ruffled feathers that night. It’s stands to reason that they would be fine with players holding each other accountable in the locker room. I think it’s the others that we should concerned about. Until I hear Derek Roy say he’s ready to accept criticism in the locker room, I’m going to assume “accountability” means a few players yelling at a crowd of increasingly resentful teammates. Sigh. That’s a pretty dark interpretation. Maybe this is the year they all grow up. Maybe?


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

