6 Things

1. My schedule over the next few weeks is a NIGHTMARE in terms of hockey.  I missed the opener, and I’ll miss the next two games as well.  It’s almost as if the Sabres checked with the BPO before they scheduled their October games because they wanted to make sure I couldn’t watch any of the games.  Silly, Sabres.  You can stop me from watching your games, but you canNOT stop me from bitching about you.  Oh, no.  You cannot.

2. Yesterday on WGR Jerry Sullivan casually said something along the lines of, “It’s hard to feel sympathy for the 56,000 who have season tickets to the Bills.” Then, later on he said, “I’m getting sick of people saying that if the fans stop buying tickets the Bills will leave town.”  (These are not direct quotes, but they are reasonable representations of what he said.)

I think you have to be an incredibly heartless person not to feel deep sympathy for longtime Bills fans.  That’s all I really have to say about that.

3. If you’re not following Thurman Thomas and Daryl Talley on Twitter, you’re missing out.

Picture 5I don’t know what’s going on with the visor, but that’s Thurman’s goat, Chompy.  Chompy is quite famous on Twitter.  He is also quite cute.

Both of these guys have embraced the medium in SUCH a charming way.  They respond to our tweets, and they seem to be throwing themselves into the Twitter universe with a spirit of fun. I heart them both.

4. I can’t believe that Sabres don’t play again until Thursday.  Lazy, Sabres.  This schedule is incredible lame.  It’s like “EEEEEEEEEEEEEEE, hockey!!!” rapidly followed by, “DAMN IT, ALL THERE IS TO WATCH ON TELEVISION IS FOOTBALL AND BASEBALL AGAIN.”

Which reminds me….

5. …Tonight, you must cheer for the Minnesota Twins.  YOU MUST.

6. When I got Sabres season tickets, it was with the knowledge that even if I desperately wanted to, I couldn’t go to many of the games.  (See: previously bitched about work schedule)  So, Robin and I have attempted to share the wealth with our friends.  We’ve sold the vast majority of our unused tickets to our friends at season ticket prices, and in some cases we made sure that specific games went to the people who we thought would enjoy them the most.

One such situation like this was our friend Richard.  Richard is a new Buffalonian, an avid hockey fan, and a native Philadelphian.   He is a Flyers fan so he seemed like the best possible candidate for tickets to the Flyers games.  Now, before you get all outraged that we sold our tickets to the enemy, let me say this: Richard is not the enemy.  I can vouch for him.  He’s a good guy.  I PROMISE that if while sitting in our seats he spills his beer on your girlfriend, or swears within hearing distance of your child, or punches your baby, he will have a VERY good reason for doing so.  He’s a Flyers fan, not a monster.

Over the last few weeks I’ve been doling out the tickets to our peeps, and squaring away all the money stuff, so, it came time for Richard to pay up.  The other day, I got a card in the mail from Richard.

Aud Card

Oh look!  Richard is so thoughtful.  He put the check in an Aud card.

BUT THEN!

Oh HELL no

NO HE DID NOT!

How on earth am I going to cash this thing?  I can’t bring this into a BANK.  Someone might SEE me with it.  Richard IS a monster.

18 Responses to “6 Things”


  1. 1 Grrrreg October 6, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Ahahah! you’d better come up with a very good explanation for the bank employee… Just pretend this is a check from the Flyers organization, because you’re blackmailing them with compromising pictures of Pronger or something.

  2. 2 petek October 6, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Feed the check to Chompy. It’s the right thing to do.

  3. 3 Meg October 6, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    That’s just dastardly!

    Can you deposit the check in one of those automatic teller/24-hour banking machines?

  4. 4 Pookie October 6, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    AHAHAHAAHAHAHAAHAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Flyers fans are the WORST! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  5. 5 Gambler October 6, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Can you deposit the check in one of those automatic teller/24-hour banking machines?

    Better make it in the dead of night, too, just to make sure no one is walking by.

    Sorry to hear about your work schedule interference, Kate. On the bright side, you can come join the club of bloggers blogging about games they can’t actually see. I’m the founding member! But don’t worry, you’ll probably be way better at it than I am.

  6. 6 Caroline October 6, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Psh, I think everyone in Buffalo is aware by now that Jerry Sullivan doesn’t ave a heart.

    And I can’t believe Thurman Thomas has a goat! That’s amazing!

  7. 7 Mags October 6, 2009 at 4:39 pm

    He’s got awful fancy handwriting for a monster…

  8. 8 Meghan October 6, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Kate,

    I’ve been blog stalking you for some time. Today–mostly because I’m procrastinating–I decided that I need to tell you how much you make me smile, laugh and groan…all at once!

    As a frustrated but totally optimistic and gullible Sabres and Bills fan, I enjoy a commentary that plays to my emotional whims about the teams. And yet, from another female hockey fan!

    My friends and family are used to me saying, “if only Darcy/Lindy/Dick would listen to me that Trophy/Ring would be ours!”. Alas, no phone calls from the upper eschalons (or lower for that matter).

    Anyway, I look forward to watching the season progress along side you! Is that too weird to say from a blog stalker? Sorry. I sometimes forget that the bonds of fandom don’t cross over into normal social mores!

    Let’s go Buffalo! :-)
    ~M

  9. 9 danielleia October 6, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    The check even says HSBC! Defamation!

  10. 11 Katebits October 6, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    Meghan- well that’s about the nicest comment ever! Thanks for blog stalking me, and thanks for chiming in now. I’m pretty sure that Darcy is on the brink of hiring us to turn this ship around. :D

    Danielleia, I KNOW! It’s an outrage. OUTRAGE.

  11. 12 karen October 6, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    I agree with petek above, Chompy should be allowed to handle that check. Where did the dastardly Flyer fan get such a fantastic Aud card, though? I must know!

  12. 13 Amy October 7, 2009 at 10:23 am

    Oooh, I want those Aud cards!

    you must cheer for the Minnesota Twins. YOU MUST.

    I did, and I will keep cheering for them. “Anyone but the Yankees” is my motto.

  13. 14 radoran October 7, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Allentown Arts Festival was the source of the card. I’ve also got Kleinhans and Central Terminal. I was trying not to send the check and instead a money order, but couldn’t get my act together. Oh, and I’m cheering big time for the Twins *and* for the Sabres… 78 games a year…

  14. 15 Kathleen October 8, 2009 at 10:48 am

    Hi Kate! I’ve been reading you so much the last few weeks and finally figured it’s only polite to tell you how much I love your blog. (And thanks for the links to the other lovely Sabres blogs. Who knew there were so many smart, hilarious people writing about hockey and Buffalo sports?)

    This schedule is incredible lame. It’s like “EEEEEEEEEEEEEEE, hockey!!!” rapidly followed by, “DAMN IT, ALL THERE IS TO WATCH ON TELEVISION IS FOOTBALL AND BASEBALL AGAIN.”

    Indeed. At 7pm on Saturday I texed my ex: “hockey hockey hockey eeeeeeeee!!!!!!!” (It took 3 beers to come down from that degree of high-strung overexcitment.) Then Sunday, sometime in the 3rd of the Bills game: “DAMNIT WHY AREN’T THE SABRES ON TILL THURSDAY???”

    Also thank you for reintroducing the word ‘foxy’ to my vocabulary. How I long for the chance to use the phrase ‘The foxiest house in all the land.”

    Silly Flyers. Don’t they know that Halloween is but once a year?

  15. 16 CrotchetyOriginalSam October 8, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Pookie said:
    Flyers fans are the WORST! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Hey! Didn’t I spend like a week this summer trying to help you Ookies through the Lemaire hiring? Didn’t I say nice things about Marty? Didn’t I?

  16. 17 Katebits October 8, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    Richard, I secretly love the Flyers check, even if it is hideous and wrong.

    Kathleen, thank you SO much for your comment, and thank you for reading TWC. And foxy really is the best word EVER!

  17. 18 Kathleen October 8, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Foxy has infiltrated my brain to the extent that – Saturday night I glanced up from beer #1 (while they were introing the scratches, but I didn‘t know that quite yet) and said to myself: “Hey now, who’s the foxy dude in the suit?” Then I realized it was Danny Paille. That was… unexpected. A few seconds later I figured out what was going on (don’t judge me! I was in a noisy bar!) and thought ”Oooh, Adam Mair is foxy in his suit too,” which was much less weird.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

