Sabres @ Predators 10/10/09

Pregame

I am about to do the unthinkable.  I’m going to watch a second consecutive game on DVR delay.  I don’t believe I have EVER attempted such a daring feat in the history of this blog. It worked out so well the other night, that I thought I’d try it again.  The conditions are very similar- I just got done with a fun little BPO show.  Tonight we played a live soundtrack to a Charlie Chaplin film.  I was a pretty good show, if I do say so myself.  Anyhoo, it was an early night at work, so now it’s time for hockey/

Mood: Tired.  I’ve been all kinds of stressed lately.  My viola schedule is totally nutty, plus, I have a variety of  other trials, tribulations, and exciting challenges lurking about.  So, yesterday I was sitting there, feeling overwhelmed when my BFF, Ashley called.  Ashley and her partner Molly (my BFF is a total lesbian), recently had twin girls.  Yesterday they found out that the girls (who are less than a week old, and two weeks premature) need to be fed every two and a half hours because they are so tiny that they will lose weight if they sleep for too long without a snack.  So, Ashley and Molly have to WAKE THEM UP to feed them.  Every two and a half hours they have to rouse their slumbering daughters and feed them.  If both parents are involved, the process of getting them fed, burped, and changed takes forty minutes.   What this means is that until their babies fatten up, Ashley and Molly won’t get more than one hour and fifty minutes of sleep at a time.  Ever.  Have I mentioned that they already have a four-year-old?  Basically, what I’m trying to say is that it’s time for me to buck the hell up, because at least I can take a Tylenol PM and sleep my ass off from time to time.
Favorite Sabre: I’m still kind of swoony from Clarke MacArther’s game against Phoenix.
Least Favorite Sabre: On my way into work I listened to a few minutes of the pregame show on WGR and they played an interview with Tim Connolly that was absurdly flat.  Timmy, it’s okay to use inflection while giving an interview.
Prediction: The power play is still going to suck tonight.
Potentially stressful event representing my hopes for this game: Spelling bee

dj lrspellingbee0531 19

Spelling bees are scary, but they’re not THAT scary.  I mean, the competitors are prepubescent nerds.  How scare can it get?  (That question is NOT a challenge, Sabres)

After the 1st (0-0)

Mood: Cranky.  It’s time for these prepubescent nerds to start scoring goals.  Also, my non-HD channels have been all wonky and pixellated lately, and for SOME STUPID REASON the Sabres don’t broadcast the road games in HD.  For shame, Sabres.  For shame.
Favorite Sabre: Patrick Lalime, who should be playing tonight.
Least Favorite Sabre: Lindy Ruff, who should have played Lalime tonight.
Summary of events: The Sabres were all “Tra la la….we love getting a million scoring chances and never scoring!  Weeeee!  Let’s do this every night for the rest of our lives!”
Potentially stressful event representing this game: Walking through a parking garage alone at night.

scary_parking_garage

We probably won’t die, but this game feels like it could turn into our worst nightmare any minute now.

After the 2nd (0-0)
Mood: Bored.
Favorite Sabre: Tyler Myers. What’s not to love?
Least Favorite Sabre: Vanek, Roy, Connolly, and Pominville.  These men are paid handsomely to score goals.
Summary of events: I barely paid any attention to that period because I was playing Bejeweled Blitz on Facebook.  During times like this, when I’m so busy and my time is valuable, I have to prioritize my activites.  Apparently, Bejeweled Blitz trumps the Sabres when they’re refusing to score goals.
Potentially stressful event representing this game so far: Driving a manual transmission car in San Francisco.

img_1467-copy

It’s fine as long as you don’t have to stop (playing Bejeweled Blitz).

At the end (1-0, Sabres)

Mood: Appeased.  For now.

Favorite Sabre: Crunchy! Crunchy!  Crunchy!  (Also, Mike Grier!  Mike Grier!  Mike Grier!)

Least Favorite Sabre: All of the rest of them.

Summary of events: Sometimes a 1-0 game is thrilling, but tonight was not one of those times.  That was ka-razy boring.  It is really, really, really, really time for the Sabres to remember how to score.

Potentially stressful event representing this game: Well I have to admit.  This game was not stressful in the slightest.  It was like taking a Tylenol PM.

zzzz.

17 Responses to “Sabres @ Predators 10/10/09”


  1. 1 Erin October 11, 2009 at 12:26 am

    You’re so brave with your DVR delay.

  2. 2 Phil October 11, 2009 at 12:26 am

    Hey, Katebits. Shouldn’t that read 10/10/09?

  3. 3 Katebits October 11, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Oh, yeah. Thanks Phil. Fixed!

  4. 4 Phil October 11, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    No problem. As a newly-minted members of the Sabres blogosphere, I felt it was my civic duty to aid a fellow talkie in need :D

  5. 5 Katebits October 11, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Oh, what’s your blog, Phil? Make sure you leave your url when you leave a comment!

  6. 6 Schnookie October 11, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    First Ben Folds and now doing live soundtracks for Charlie Chaplin movies? You have the coolest job OF ALL TIME.

    Oh, and Ashley and Molly are superhuman. I’m sure you and they already knew that, but dude. I’m very impressed. I think if I had twins and had to feed them every two and a half hours, I would just ask someone else to do it and give the kids back after they turn 5 or 6. Or 18. Or 22, so I can avoid paying for college.

  7. 7 Phil October 12, 2009 at 12:25 am

    It’s Black and Blue and Gold…it’s still a baby blog, but it’s gonna be as awesome as Teppo’s playoff beard someday.

    http://www.blackbluegold.blogspot.com

  8. 8 TheTick October 12, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Phil, you are added to my Blogroll as well. Anybody who’s a fan of Teppo’s playoff beard is OK by me.

  9. 9 Phil October 12, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Well, Tick, I’d add your blog to my roll if I knew you which one it was – anyone who is a fan of The City’s defender is alright in my book.

  10. 10 adiphene side effects June 2, 2014 at 2:21 pm

    Not because they will be changed into adipose tissue,
    but because excess protein in your diet causes you to burn more
    protein and stare more fat. The issues that come with using
    Adiphene make it one of the most essential supplements that anyone can use for weight
    loss purposes. One of the essential explanations why numerous hyper-propelled individuals never appear
    to realize their weight loss objectives on time is Emotional Eating.

  11. 11 google June 17, 2014 at 12:45 pm

    Google has been working hard to give the user more chart
    options, as well as better looking charts. Roll forward a few years and the advent of online collaboration technologies has led to
    a different style of collaboration, one which opens up to a wiki approach where contributions are welcomed and encouraged from all parties.
    An interesting point, though, with the new updates is the emphasis shift from traditional style PR news submission,
    to more blogging.

  12. 12 adiphene fat burner June 17, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    Lets begin with stating among the information about this excellent
    revolutionary weight-reduction plan capsule and metabolism price booster.
    This means thay everybody who makes use of Adiphene should shed pounds.
    Different studies have demonstrated the profits of Ginseng Panax Root
    Extract.


  1. 1 the linden method reviews Trackback on May 21, 2014 at 5:42 am
  2. 2 attacks overcoming generalized Trackback on May 21, 2014 at 5:51 am
  3. 3 anxiety overcoming Trackback on May 22, 2014 at 2:55 pm
  4. 4 phen375 results Trackback on June 11, 2014 at 10:19 pm
  5. 5 t5 fat burners Trackback on June 12, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

