3 Things

1. When I got to work today everyone was all, “Were you at the game last night?!”  It made me so happy to say, “YES, I WAS AT THE GAME ANDITWASTHEMOSTFUNEVER!”  In the two years since I started going to hockey games, I’ve never managed to catch one that was quite that exuberant.  I’ve seen lots of fun games, but last night was special.  It was the Red Wings, and the Sabres kicked their asses, and it was the inauguration of our seats.  WOOOO!

2. I told my friend Janz at work yesterday that I’d read that there’s going to be a swingers convention on Grand Island this weekend, but apparently he didn’t hear the part where I said, “at the Holiday Inn,” because he was quiet for a second and then he said, “But what if you live on Grand Island?….That’s not cool.”  It delights me that for a brief second Janz thought all of Grand Island was going to be transformed into a free-for-all orgy, as if suddenly the streets would no longer be safe for monogamy.  We ironed out the miscommunication pretty quickly, but it was funny while it lasted.

3. One of the things I love about Lindy Ruff is my sneaking suspicion that he likes to eff with us from time to time.  I wish I could say that when I tweeted this to Mike “Every Blogger’s Favorite TBN Guy” Harrington it was because my finely tuned Ruff-bullshit-detection skillz sensed that something was amiss, but alas, I cannot.  I just wanted to make a blowhole joke. (Blowhole jokes are never not funny to me.  In fact, I’ll probably make a blowhole joke every time Vanek is injured for the rest of his career.  As far as I’m concerned, there is NO Vanek injury that a blowhole can’t cure.)  But, I love it when my jokes turn out to be clairvoyant, especially when it means that Vanek is not about to miss weeks (weeks).  Hooray!

8 Responses to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Heather B. October 15, 2009 at 12:21 am

    Kate, Janz is easily my favorite friend of yours who I don’t actually know.

  2. 2 Katebits October 15, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Janz is definitely quality.

  3. 3 TheTick October 15, 2009 at 1:44 am

    You joke about number 2 there, but apparently (according to the evening news) people ARE up in arms about that whole business. Probably just jealous, you know.

  4. 4 Katebits October 15, 2009 at 9:22 am

    I didn’t see the news, Tick. Poor swingers. All they want to do is have sex with everyone they know in peace. Is that too much to ask?! (I imagine that as long as you don’t go to the Holiday Inn the swingers would be pretty easy to avoid.)

  5. 5 Meg October 15, 2009 at 10:07 am

    (I imagine that as long as you don’t go to the Holiday Inn the swingers would be pretty easy to avoid.)

    No, no . . . they’ll be roaming the streets and everyday citizens will be forced to interact with them unwittingly (they’ve all gotten very good at hiding the horns and devil tail). Some poor soul might serve coffee to a swinger and not even realize it!

  6. 6 Gambler October 15, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    Blowhole jokes are never not funny.

  7. 7 Amy October 15, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Blowhole jokes in close proximity to swinger jokes are also funny.

  8. 8 danielleia October 16, 2009 at 11:18 am

    I know a few fellow students who will be working at the Holiday Inn for the Swingers Convo. I’ll be expecting good stories.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

