No Blogging Required

I know that this blog has been total donkey butts lately, but I’m busy and sore, and most often covered in paint.  I promise to pick it back up around here once my furniture in is the same place as my internet access.  Until then, I’ll just keep doing the “This made me laugh” style of blogging that is the hallmark of busy and lazy people.

This made me laugh:

Darth Vader

So much to love.

Thanks Empty Netters for bringing this to my attention.

(While you’re gazing in awe at Darth Vader dropping the puck, and laughing outright at Craig Rivet’s expression, don’t forget to notice that the Panthers appear to have a BABY PANTHER mascot.  I really want a baby Sabretooth now.  [Please do not confuse that with "I want to have Sabretooth's baby," because I assure you, that is not the case.])

16 Responses to “No Blogging Required”


  1. 1 SueInVA October 22, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Craig Rivet’s making sure they get his face for the kids!

    Hey! How do you keep the maple leaf out of you back yard?

    Put out a goalie net!

    Hee!

  2. 2 Sharpie October 22, 2009 at 11:58 am

    That might be one of my top ten favorite hockey pictures just because it combines Star Wars and Hockey. Had I seen this at the start of the game I probably would have posted the obligatory Admiral Ackbar “It’s a Trap” picture on my blog. Fortunately we didn’t need it last night.

  3. 3 lakebnd79 October 22, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    I think the real reason for the Star Wars theme was to use Jedi Storm Troopers as seat fillers for the otherwise empty BankAtlantic Center.
    P.S. Count me in on the rally for a baby Sabretooth! Very Cute!

  4. 4 sallypants October 22, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Love that Staffy tweeted this: “highlight of the night was a fat darth vader dropping the puck for the ceremonial faceoff”

  5. 5 mcguffers October 22, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    Craig Rivet has the same face Mike Fisher had when the Gladiator/Senator/Centurion thinger was used in the playoffs a few years ago. Kind of a “Oh for the love of…” look of helplessness.

    And it totally makes the picture that much better. :D

  6. 6 Shelby Rose October 22, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Craig is probably like ‘Why the hell am I the Captain of this team again? I have to do stuff like THIS.’

  7. 7 Amy October 22, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    The look on Rivet’s face is priceless. All the entire scene needs is the Panther dressed as a Jedi.

  8. 8 Heather B. October 22, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    I love how calm and polite Darth Vader is being. I understand he doesn’t usually pose for pictures.

    Kate, I really, really want the BPO to do the Star Wars thing where you play the whole soundtrack with the movie. Can you take care of that for me?

  9. 9 Katebits October 22, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    I really like how the big panther mascot has his hand sitting so gently on Darth Vader’s back.

    Kate, I really, really want the BPO to do the Star Wars thing where you play the whole soundtrack with the movie. Can you take care of that for me?

    I had no idea that was a thing! Are orchestras doing that? Because I agree, that is a GREAT idea.

  10. 10 mcguffers October 23, 2009 at 11:35 am

    I had no idea that was a thing! Are orchestras doing that? Because I agree, that is a GREAT idea.

    I think it was on PBS the other night. Or you could play the Star Wars soundtrack and a taping of the Sabres’ practice! Whenever Lindy opens his mouth, someone could do the Chewbacca sound.

  11. 11 Heather B. October 23, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Yeah, one of the arenas we just played in – Nassau, I think? – was advertising for a Star Wars show. Or maybe that’s what Darth Vader was for. I can’t remember. Another orchestra somewhere did the same thing for Fellowship of the Ring which would also be awesome. I love that soundtrack. If you guys do something like that, not only will I come, I’ll PAY for my ticket! :P

  12. 12 Phil October 23, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    So, according to the Between the Boards blog on Sabres.com, Rivet’s face was staged. This makes me sad :(

  13. 13 CrotchetyOriginalSam October 24, 2009 at 12:59 am

    You might make fun of the Panthers’ baby mascot, but I would remind you that you and I once went to a Buffalo Bisons game in which there were clearly Mom-’n-baby Bison mascots all up in everyone’s face throughout the game…

    (BTW, no, orchestras are not doing the live soundtrack thing with Star Wars. Tons upon tons of copyright issues and impossible fees. The best you’ll get is Wizard of Oz or Battleship Potemkin.)

  14. 14 CrotchetyOriginalSam October 24, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Just to clarify, the Lord of the Rings thing is not the same as a full staging of the movie with a live soundtrack (it’s actually a multi-hour “symphony” made of of the LoTR music, with a bunch of stills from the movies on a screen,) and I’m pretty sure the Star Wars show isn’t, either. They’re just shows put together by orchestras trying to capitalize on the willingness of sci-fi fans to shell out money for anything vaguely associated with their franchise of choice.

  15. 15 Heather B. October 24, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    COS, booooooooo! Thanks for ruining all my misconceptions. I liked them better than reality.

  16. 16 Katebits October 24, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    You know, if Rivet staged that expression, I love him ever MORE. He’s displaying some serious comedic skillz right there.

    Sam and Heather, you’re both a little bit right. It looks like there is some crazy Star Wars bonanza touring around that does contain scenes from the movies. It looks too expensive for the BPO. :P


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

