3 Things

1. I didn’t see much of the game tonight because I was working, but it turned out to be one of those evenings where being at work enhanced the game experience.  I got word of Staffy’s last second heroics on stage during the applause at the end of the concert.  A handful of us scurried down to the break room to watch the final minutes of overtime and the shootout.  Those kinds of wins are fun in the break room.  WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!  The Sabres are never going to lose again!

2. Tyler Myers with the shootout win.  Sweet, tall, oddly-foxy, wonderful Tyler Myers.  I hope he never leaves us.  And I hope he never start sucking.  I wish there was a way to extend his trial period so we could watch him try to win this job forever.  We need to enjoy this period of Tyler Myers’ babyhood while we can.  He’ll grow up in an instant.  (Look at me getting all sentimental!  I’m sure I’ll be calling him a slag-faced whore in no time.  Heh.)

3. Have any of you ever sanded your own hardwood floors?  (That question sounds weirdly dirty to me right now for some reason.)  I finally pulled up the (DISGUSTING) carpet in the living room and discovered that my floors….need some work.  I’m tempted to go for it.  How hard can it possibly be?

16 Responses to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Kim October 25, 2009 at 1:08 am

    Hey Kate… YEA!!!! Myers was awesome in the shootout, especially after that trying-to-score-backwards-on-Miller guy, who really needed to think the shot through a bit more thoroughly.

    Before you sand your floors yourself, think about how thick the wood is… its easy to take off too much. Our bungalow was built in 1911, and the original floors are still intact. We had them beautifully refinished by a local vendor who knew how to deal with the thickness of the high quality wood, and the difficulties of the sticky adhesives that had been previously applied (for things like linoleum and carpet).

    Cheers!!! Love your blog!!!!

  2. 2 Katebits October 25, 2009 at 8:56 am

    I don’t know how to gauge the thickness of the wood- that’s a good tip Kim. And thankfully, there are no sticky adhesives anywhere.

    WOOOOOOOO! I’m still buzzed about the game.

  3. 3 Chaz October 25, 2009 at 11:38 am

    I’m with Kim on this one. My living room floors were really damaged and they knew how far they could go. I also got a mom and pop company to do it and they did an awesome job for a little $$.

  4. 4 Phil October 25, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    @Kim, that guy was Marty St.Louis, and that is totally HIS MOVE. Goalies all around the league read him like a book now, and he almost never scores with it anymore.

  5. 5 Katebits October 25, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    The thing is though, my floors aren’t gouged or uneven. They’re stained, most likely from years of tracked-in moisture in the high traffic areas. I’ll get some estimates before I go sanding down my own floors, but I’m CONVINCED I can do it myself. (Famous last words.)

  6. 6 Amy October 25, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    When we’ve pulled up carpet to get at the hardwood floor (you’re right, it does sound kind of dirty), all we’ve really had to do is do some light sanding by hand and a gentle vacuuming to get up the dust before applying the poly coat to get it shiny. There’s a couple spots where the wood is darker, but it gives it character.

  7. 7 Shelby Rose October 25, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Tyler Myers is not allowed to grow up. He can be like Peter Pan.

    I know my brother has to sand his hardwood floors after he pulled out all the carpeting. I have no idea how difficult it was, but after it was all finished, they looked amazing. It’s worth the hard work.

  8. 8 karen October 25, 2009 at 6:58 pm

    You can absolutely sand floors yourself! But, first, words of reason and caution to add to the good advice above. Price the rental of the sander and the cost of the stain/seal you plan to use, to compare with estimates you’ll get from others. Research the types of lacquers – I think the water based ones they have now cost more but they dry in 24 hours instead of 72 and don’t have such awful fumes. If you decide to go for it, I’d buy some scrap wood – maybe a 4×8 sheet of plywood or something – to practice applying the sealant – the stuff bubbles a lot if applied by brush and you need a smooth application or your floor will get little pits as the bubbles break as the stuff dries. Toss all this knowledge in, along with how accomplished and proud you’ll feel if you do the work yourself and make an informed decision. :)

    Go Sabres! Can I mention how proud I was of Tyler Meyers scoring in OT for us?

  9. 9 Chaz October 25, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Mine had both stains and staple damage. They were able to sand down past most of them and we replaced a few boards on the ones by the door. Plus it’ll leave you more time for blogging.

    =)

  10. 10 Tim October 26, 2009 at 7:37 am

    Kate — go to Home Depot and rent the sander with the four rotating discs, not the big drum kind. Anyone can use the kind with the discs, you will not ruin your floors with it. When we wanted to see how thick our floors were, we lifted up one of the heater vent covers and peeked down the vent. If you have that kind of heat, you should see the boards cut off where the vent starts, and you can see how thick they are.

    When we had estimates done for our floors, the prices and materials were all over the place. Some people advertise $1 per square foot but all then do is sand it and seal it. Some of the more expensive prices/places claimed to do more than that but when you start asking them questions about what they will actually do to “your” floors it might be basically the same thing.

    The beauty of doing it yourself is that you get exactly what you want, and even if it’s not exactly what you want, you can pass it off as being “rustic” or “charming” or “authentic” ;-)

  11. 11 Kitten October 26, 2009 at 10:06 am

    RE: the game. I was extremely happy that Crunchy is waaaay improved in the shoot out from previous seasons. I was wondering how long they could go on.

    RE: floors. If you do DYI, make sure you get a magnet to track down every staple and nail to pull out or else it will mess up the sander. Practice using the sander on a piece of plywood first. Change the paper every 15 minutes or so and use lots of tape and plastic sheeting to seal out the dust.

    Go to the library, they have tons of books with step by step instructions. If something’s not on the shelf the librarians can order it for you.

  12. 12 Patty (in Dallas) October 27, 2009 at 2:57 am

    I never even considered sanding my own floors because I have zero confidence in myself. Plain old painting intimidates me. The guys I hired did a beautiful job and it was 99% dust-free.

    When you’re using the sander, just be sure to keep it level so you don’t gouge your floor. Otherwise, I think it’s perfectly do-able. Keep in mind that you have to sand between coats of varnish/polyurethane, too.

  13. 13 radoran October 27, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    sanding floors is a nofun sort of job and can be really hard on the ol’ shoulders and hands. I’d seriously considering outsourcing, especially given your chosen profession.

    I did all the floors in my Philly house and ached for a week (at least) afterwards.

    That said, I LOVE the resulting red oak hardwood floors :-)

  14. 14 Amy October 27, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    make sure you get a magnet to track down every staple and nail to pull out

    Also useful advice if you ever have a roof done. Even though the roofers will clean your driveway, you still want to go over it and make sure there are no stray nails.

  15. 15 Phil October 28, 2009 at 12:44 am

    When the roofers did my neighbor’s house, they had this thing that looked like a massive magnet attached to a dolly. It might just be exactly that, actually. They drove it all over the driveway to make sure no nails were left behind. Very nifty.

  16. 16 Katebits October 28, 2009 at 10:13 am

    I LOVE all this floor sanding advice! I’m sorry I haven’t been able to respond (my internet at the house is still not set up), but THANK YOU!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

