Surly

I am a Surl-a-saurus Rex.

dinosaur

Terrifying, I know.

Right before I moved, I said to myself, “Self, this is going to suck.  The house is not move in ready, and there is no way around the fact that you’ll be living in chaos for a few weeks. There is nothing to be done but grin and bear it.”  So, with the knowledge that everything would certainly suck for a while, I took pains to ensure that I had a few comforts so that I could relax in my new house, even in the midst of chaos.  One of those comforts was DirecTV (so far I don’t miss Versus, but ask me again in a few weeks when the Sabres are on and I can’t see them), the other was DSL.  Well, the DirecTV is humming along quite nicely, but the internet is NOT.  What I’m trying to tell you is that even though I called Verizon THREE WEEKS ago to set up DSL service “as soon as possible” I still have no interwebs at my house.

Now, ordinarily I’m a “roll with the punches” kind of gal, but I’m having a difficult time recovering from this setback because today was supposed to ROCK.  You see, today was the day I had circled on my calendar as the first Sabres game I could watch in my new house with both my television and internet operating at full tilt.  Tonight was the night when I was going to ignore the chaos all around me, put down the paint roller, and blog my ass off while watching my favorite slug-clad heroes play hockey.

But nooOOoooOOoooOOoo.  There will be no live blog tonight.

The good news is that even though it’s a crazy scene right now, homeownership is kind of a hoot.

AOB1346

Home Sweet Disgusting Home.

The other good news is that as soon as I get the interwebs, I will return to blogging about hockey and stop droning on and on about my death trap house.

The OTHER good news is that the Sabres have been extremely sassy lately.  They’ve been so sassy that I have almost nothing to say about them.  Tim Kennedy’s roster photo pretty much sums up my feeling about the Sabres of late.

Tim Kennedy makes me laugh

Adorable little angels.

In closing: I have no interwebs, my house is strangely lovable despite being filthy, unpainted, and most likely about to fall down, and the Sabres are so good at hockey that I have nothing to bitch about as far as they go.

According to Verizon, the interwebs should be up at and running at Casa de Katebits on Friday, but they’ve made promises before.  We’ll see.

9 Responses to “Surly”


  1. 1 Jonathan October 28, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    Wait till the weather knocks off your tv when its windy and snowy.

    Remember your house isn’t dirty, unpainted and about to fall apart.

    Its gritty.

  2. 2 sallypants October 28, 2009 at 1:06 pm

    Can’t wait to see Biggie Myers put Maaaaaaaaaaaaaarty on his robust behind.

  3. 3 Shelby Rose October 28, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Oh hey, Tim Kennedy still has teeth in that picture!

  4. 4 CrotchetyOriginalSam October 28, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    Re: Kennedy’s picture

    The Sabres have girls on the team now? That’s darned progressive of them. Maybe my Wild should try this strategy – they certainly couldn’t get any worse as a result…

  5. 5 Katebits October 28, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    I know, Sam. Isn’t she adorable? She scored her first NHL goal tonight! The Wild should definitely let girls in. I agree, can’t hurt.

  6. 6 Shauna October 28, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Ooooo…I feel your pain. We moved into our fixer upper house in September and at the moment, we have no bedroom doors, the main bathroom is half torn apart and I am beside a pile of rubble in the basement from all the walls my husband has torn down. Good times!

  7. 7 Grrrreg October 29, 2009 at 7:55 am

    I love that pic of your new house. Was it built by a Picasso loving architect?

  8. 8 Patty (in Dallas) October 29, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    How does your furniture look in the new house? Does the house make odd noises?

  9. 9 danielleia October 29, 2009 at 11:00 pm

    Good luck with everything!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

