Sabres vs. Flyers 11/06/09

Pregame

Mood: I am super tired, and super happy.  I got an unexpected evening off tonight.   While my colleagues in the BPO are playing a concert at Hilbert College, I find myself “rotated off” the concert (That’s BPO-speak for “the stage is too small to hold all of us, so the string sections have to be reduced”), and plopped in the comfy chair, SUPER pumped to watch a Sabres game.
Favorite Sabre: CRUN-CHY!  CRUN-CHY!  CRUN-CHY!  If you don’t love Crunchy right now, you are not my friend.
Least Favorite Sabre: It’s difficult to choose a favorite Sabre when they are chugging along like this, so I’m going to pick on Toni Tone Tony Lydman.  Dude, I’m sorry your groin hurts, but you should ask Adam Mair what happens to guys when they are injured and the team is winning.  Lindy scratches your ass even when you’re healthy, that’s what.  Godspeed, Toni Lydman’s Groin.  Godspeed.
Prediction: Let’s face it, the Sabres have been playing the dregs of the NHL for the last month.  Tonight feels like “Sabres Part 2: Electric Boogaloo.  This Time It’s Personal”.  Unlike everyone else the Sabres have played recently, the Flyers are supposedly good at hockey.  I’m nervous, excited, and eager to see how the Sabres look.  I think this game will be feisty and fun.  I feel like Mike Richards scored at will against the Sabres last season, so I’m hoping someone punches him square in the face tonight.
Home improvement project representing this game: My downstairs half bath.

The plan for today’s post was to run around, taking pictures of all the unseemly nooks and crannies in my house so that I could use them for this post, but unfortch, that didn’t happen.  I have NO idea where the cord that connects my camera to my computer is right now.  It’s packed up in a box, and frankly, that’s all deterrent I needed to scrap the plan.  I’m sorry that it didn’t work out though because it was going to be cute.

All I do lately is paint, scrap, drill stuff, open boxes, and stand back and wonder how in the hell I’m supposed to fix THAT.  It feels like it’s never going to be acceptable in this house.  Ever.  Right now my house is not a very conducive environment for living, but it IS ripe for comedy.  You’re just going to have to imagine the hilarity though, because I don’t have any pictures.

Except this one….

Downstairs Bathroom: Before

This is what my downstairs bathroom looked like on the day of the house inspection. The previous owner packed up all his knick knacks and took them away, but unfortunately he left a LOT of wood paneling behind.  The bathroom no longer looks like this.  I’ve painted everything and changed all the fixtures.  Now it’s just a bland little bathroom.  It’s a bit sad, actually.  Truth be told, while I don’t want to have this bathroom in my house, I LOVE this picture.  I plan to frame this picture and hang it in the bathroom as decoration.  Heh.

After the 1st (1-0, Flyers)
Mood: Grossed out.  Carcillo is just completely disgusting in every way.
Favorite Sabre: Crunchy is just on fire.  Such a pleasure to watch.  His legs look extra frog-like to me, and that’s just how I like him.  Extra froggy.
Least Favorite Sabre: Roy-Z is tucking his sweater into the back of his pants tonight.  I don’t like it.  I don’t like it a bit.
Summary of events: Well, I’ve seen worse periods, but I’ve also seen MUCH better.  I’m getting the sense that the Sabres are still trying to decide if they want to to be brats all, “HEY!  You guys aren’t letting us win like the Islanders do!” or, if they want to be men.  Ryan Miller had a few nice saves- the kind we are just taking for granted at this point.  And Tim Kennedy did some REAL foxy back checking on a Mike Richards breakaway.  Then, the ugliest man I have EVER SEEN scored a goal on Crunchy, and I added “Carcillo” to the list of people I irrationally hate.  At the start of the intermission report, while I was rattling around in the kitchen, I heard Roby say, “knit one, purl one” for some reason, and then I added “MIKE ROBITAILLE TOTALLY KNITS” to the list of things that are so awesome that I couldn’t care less if they are true.
Home improvement project representing this game so far: wallpaper in the stairwell

wallpaperThis wallpaper is not in my house, but I DO have striped yellow wallpaper IN THE STAIRWELL.  How the hell am I going to get THAT off?  I can’t reach it all, and I can’t use a ladder on the stairs.  Stupid, Flyers.

After the 2nd (3-1, Flyers)

Mood: Oof.  Remember that whole “rotated off” thing?  Well, I wasn’t rotated off, off.  I was an alternate player in case someone called in sick.  As it turns out, someone DID call in sick, and at 5:30 I got a call telling me I was supposed to go to work tonight.  Trouble is, I didn’t realize my phone was out of juice.  I didn’t get the message until 8:30ish, otherwise known as “30 minutes after the concert started”.  Basically, I didn’t show up for work tonight.  This is VERY bad behavior.  I feel awful.  I’m completely horrified that I screwed up like this. This game?  Isn’t helping.  :(
Favorite Sabre: :(
Least Favorite Sabre: :(
Summary of FUTURE events: I am TOTALLY going to hear about this at work tomorrow.  I am going to be accused of purposefully not picking up the phone so that I could watch this game.  (Um, it doesn’t help that I was making jokes about doing EXACTLY that at rehearsal this morning.  I SWEAR THIS WAS AN ACCIDENT.)  My only saving grace in this debacle is that I didn’t actually GO to the game.  Thank GOD I didn’t actually go.
Home improvement project representing this evening so far: mold in the basement

moldy

This is not my basement, but it is how I feel right now.

At the end (5-2, Flyers)
Mood: VERY GRIM
Favorite Sabre: Stupid Sabres, stupid phone, stupid everything.
Least Favorite Sabre: Meh.
Summary of events: I definitely got what I deserved with this game tonight.  Also, this has nothing to do with anything, but crockpots are miraculous.  I put a bunch of raw vegetables and meat in there this afternoon, and somehow it’s stew now.  I think crockpots must use witchcraft and black magiks.  Delicious witchcraftery.
Plan for the future: Let’s just pretend this entire night didn’t happen.  Tomorrow is Friday again.  Sigh.

16 Responses to “Sabres vs. Flyers 11/06/09”


  1. 1 danielleia November 6, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    You could probably make a poster out of that bathroom. I would buy it.

  2. 2 Amy November 6, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    I’d be worried that one of those knickknacks was going to fall on me while I was going about my business in the bathroom.

  3. 3 Katebits November 6, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Dani, hee! I know! Isn’t it amazing? Amy, I totally agree. Something dangerous about that bathroom.

  4. 4 Erin November 6, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Love that bathroom forever. Great idea about framing the picture.

  5. 5 Heather B. November 6, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    I don’t even know what “knit one, purl two” MEANS but hearing Roby said it completely cracked me up. And then he did one of his video breakdowns (“STOP IT RIGHT THERE!”) and my heart was full of love.

  6. 6 Katebits November 6, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    Did he say, “knit one, purl two”? Knit one, purl one, is the most basic knitting pattern. I think you’d end up with something slightly ribbed if you knit one, purl two. I wonder what Roby is working on.

  7. 7 Amy November 6, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    You know Roby is working on matching sweaters for the three of them for the intermission reports.

  8. 8 Heather B. November 6, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    I thought he said “knit one, purl two” but I could definitely be wrong since I have NO clue what any of that means. I do like the idea of Roby knitting everyone on the broadcast crew Christmas sweaters.

  9. 9 Heather B. November 6, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    But Hank was so dashing tonight! Can I at least remember that part?

    Poor Kate. Just think about Roby peering over his bifocals at the yarn in his lap and humming “Deck the Halls” as he makes a really special Christmas sweaters just for Kevin and Rob.

  10. 10 Kathleen November 6, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    I love how the bathroom towel gets a lacy ruffle and the vanity gets a skirt!

    I have a completely rational loathing for Ray Emery and Chris Pronger so this game was the suck. My one consolation is that Philly has one seriously unattractive team. So many ewwws. Also, I’d like to lay the blame of this loss at the feet of Lindy’s ugly tie, but seeing as how he is apparently punishing the team with the silent treatment, I don’t think he agrees.

    I do like the idea of Roby knitting everyone on the broadcast crew Christmas sweaters.

    For the love of Lindy Ruff, please let this be true.

  11. 11 Katebits November 7, 2009 at 12:20 am

    Just think about Roby peering over his bifocals at the yarn in his lap and humming “Deck the Halls” as he makes a really special Christmas sweaters just for Kevin and Rob.

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Thanks, Heather! That image TOTALLY helps.

    I love how the bathroom towel gets a lacy ruffle and the vanity gets a skirt!

    The previous owner left the skirt on for me to enjoy, but I pulled it right now. Now my sink is naked from the waist down.

  12. 12 Pookie November 7, 2009 at 2:14 am

    Little known fact — Zdeno Chara invented the crockpot.

  13. 13 piece November 7, 2009 at 10:11 am

    quality post– the live blogs are always my fav
    and bonus for crockpot cameo

    please let us know the follow-up orch manager harangue, it will be vicariously titillating fo sho

  14. 14 Katebits November 7, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Zdeno Chara invented the crockpot.

    I should have known.

  15. 15 jessdudek November 8, 2009 at 12:32 am

    I thought surely that bathroom picture had to be something you unearthed after a Google search of “super ugly cheesy bathrooms”. LOVE it. Props to you Martha, because it looked nothing like that when I saw it not long after you moved in.

  16. 16 storm damage June 26, 2014 at 5:48 pm

    I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this information for my mission.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

