Deep Thoughts, with Kate Handy

I made a little joke a few posts ago about the book “The Power of Now”.  I don’t know if you guys ever read that book, but it was one of those “meaning of life” books that caught on with the general populace (with a little help from Oprah, I believe) a few years ago.  I read it in 2005-ish, and since I was very young back then (a mere 30!), the book really left an impression on me.  The premise is that time is an illusion and that the only thing that is real is this exact moment that we are experiencing.  Everything besides “now” is just a construct of the mind.  We remember the past through a mental prism that supports the emotional reaction we are most comfortable experiencing, and we project dreams and nightmares into a future that is in reality, completely unwritten.   Both the past and the future are lies, and “now” is really the only truth in existence.

If we apply this concept to the Sabres, and we assume we can’t trust either the past or the future, here is what we arrive at: THE SABRES ARE ACTUALLY GOOD AT HOCKEY.  EVERYTHING IS WONDERFUL!  THOMAS VANEK IS A SLAG-FACED WHORE BUT IT DOESN’T EVEN MATTER BECAUSE THE TEAM IS SO EVENLY BALANCED.  AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, RYAN MILLER IS A SCRAWNY, WONKY-EYED GOD!

I don’t think about the concepts of “The Power of Now” very often anymore, but I like applying it to our current hockey situation.  It’s tempting to be all, “Oh, we’ve seen them be good for stretches before, but they’ll find a way to start sucking again” or “The Sabres are GOING ALL THE WAY, ” but the ONLY reality-based, “now” is a fairly steady state of simple “WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!”

Right now, the SABRES KICK ASS and we should experience it fully, because it is the only truth.  Amen.

slugbuddhaHe’s a Sabres fan.

10 Responses to “Deep Thoughts, with Kate Handy”


  1. 1 Keith Burtis November 15, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    Kate. I love this article! I just discovered you from my Buffalo lit on twitter! Good stuff, i am subscribing now :)
    @keithburtis

  2. 2 Katebits November 15, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Hey, thanks Keith! This is a pretty wild departure from my normal writing, so I’m glad someone likes it. :D See you around the twitterverse!

  3. 3 Shelby Rose November 15, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    All that Buddha needs on his stomach is a Sabres logo, and we’re all set!

  4. 4 Kathleen November 15, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Ooof. Getting out of “the Sabres are never going to win again”/”the Sabres are never going to lose again eeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!” mentality is tough.

    Bucky called Tennis (yeah, I think we should do with Staffy on this one) a “pipsqueak” and a “seventh-grader selling candy bars” this morning. That seems unnecessarily mean, even if he hadn’t scored his first NHL goal in his first NHL game. Remove the stick, Bucky.

  5. 5 Katebits November 15, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    I TRIED to get him a Sabres logo on him belly, but I have no idea how to do that! If anyone can point me in the direction of an online photoshop (and the tutorial to go with it), I would very much appreciate it. I have frequently wished for the ability to easily photoshop a slug onto random pictures.

  6. 6 Phil November 15, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Ugh, screw the slug, Katebits. Put the gorgeous crest on his jolly belly :D

  7. 7 Katebits November 15, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    But the slug is funnier. :D

  8. 8 Heather B. November 15, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    The slug is never funny. :P

    I see where you’re going with this Kate, and I applaud it. But I’m going to continue to live in the future where THE SABRES HAVE WON THE STANLEY CUP, I’VE CRASHED THE ICE AND HUGGED HANK, AND RYAN MILLER IS CRYING LIKE A BABY, CLUTCHING THE CONN SMYTHE!!!!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

  9. 9 Katebits November 15, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    Yeah Heather, if you’re going to err in the realm of “The Power of Now’, err on the side of a fabulous, beautiful future. And for the record, I’m not really advocating that we tone down our rage when they lose, or our joy when they win. All I’m really saying is we should enjoy this phase we’re in right now, BECAUSE IT’S AWESOME. WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!

    Everyone, please thank the beautiful and alluring Mags for the slug-bellied Buddha. I love him, and I love Mags. :D

  10. 10 SueInVirginia November 15, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    I am loving the NOW!
    (I am also trying hard not to over dream the future!)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

