Complainy

If you ever want to read a snappy blog about the world of an orchestra musician, you should check out the wonderful Inside the Classics which is written by my friends Sam (that’s CrotchetyOriginal, FYI) and Sarah.  ItC is a friendly and informative blog that covers both the ins and outs of the orchestra biz (in this case the Minnesota Orchestra biz), and whatever fanciful little internet things that captures their attention.  Basically, Inside the Classics is just like The Willful Caboose only instead of hockey, they write about music, and instead of inane nonsense, their blog is full of smart ideas and keen observations.

Today I was visiting Inside the Classics when I was introduced to the Helsinki Complaints Choir.  The Helsinki Complaints choir is pretty much exactly what it sounds like.  It’s a choir that sings a laundry list of complaints.  I love them.

Because the song mentions hockey twice I think this clip belongs here, on my hockey blog.

The whole song has a very chipper tone in spite of the subject matter, and it is in this spirit that I would like to submit my own complaint to add to this song.

The last person who painted my house took ZERO care while painting around the windows, and as a result almost all of my windows look like this:

window

Many of the windows have paint like this on BOTH sides of the pane.  Inside and out.

The good news is that it’s an easy fix (I bought this little scrappy razor blade thingie at Home Despot), but honestly. Is it really THAT hard to paint a window?  I don’t have time for this kind of bullhonky, which is why this window still looks like this a month after moving into my new house.

Tomorrow we’ll resume our usual hockey yammering.  I promise.

10 Responses to “Complainy”


  1. 1 Amy November 25, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Is it really THAT hard to paint a window?

    They apparently missed Step 1: tape window before applying paint. What would make it even sadder is if it was done by a professional painter.

  2. 2 karen November 25, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Note to self when buying next house: insist that the seller scrape the window glass clean before closing. Ergh…what a pain!

  3. 3 karen November 25, 2009 at 10:20 am

    P.S. The complainy choir? Awesome.

  4. 4 CrotchetyOriginalSam November 25, 2009 at 10:26 am

    Aww, thanks for the plug! (Although now I feel like I need to go back into our archives and insert with a few smart ideas and keen observations, just in case anyone goes looking for the ones you mentioned.) I love the complaint choir, and if you run a YouTube search, you’ll find that there are more of them in cities across Europe. I think it started in Birmingham, England. The Finns are by far the best, though.

  5. 5 Kathleen November 25, 2009 at 10:58 am

    No actual adult painted that window. That was a project to occupy a group of third-graders on a snow day.

    Hee, I like calling it “Home Despot” too.

    And Eurovision is WEIRD. I think losing might be a good thing.

  6. 6 Pookie November 25, 2009 at 11:09 am

    OK, every time I’ve told you do don’t need to tape to paint, I want to make it clear that I did mean that you shouldn’t tape the windows. :D

    (I do love the view, though! It looks so cozy!)

  7. 7 CrotchetyOriginalSam November 25, 2009 at 11:34 am

    By the way, the Finns actually DID win Eurovision a year or two after the Complaint Choir song was recorded. If memory serves, the group that won was a thrash metal band that dresses up in monster costumes to perform.

  8. 8 SueInVA November 25, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Great! Now the chorus is stuck in my head!

    :D

  9. 9 Grrrreg November 25, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    This choir is fantastic. Thank you for sharing this!

    Oh and Kathleen, Eurovision is indeed weird, but it’s the best TV show ever. It’s hilarious!

  10. 10 Courtney S.F. December 4, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    I like going into Lowes and calling it “Lowes Depot” when being helped by one of the employees. I learned this from my brother, Wade. He once said “Lowes Depot” so many times that the Lowes worker got frustrated and said “It’s just Lowes, sir.”


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

