To Boo, Or Not to Boo?

My position on booing is unwavering.

If you feel compelled to boo either Kane or Soupy, I say let it rip.  It’s just a sound.  Contrary to what the media will have you believe, booing just isn’t that big a deal.  Booing can be really fun, and often, it’s lighthearted and playful.

One interesting aspect of tonight is that both Kane and Soupy seem a little worried about being booed.  Ordinarily I’d say I just don’t care about either of them enough to boo, but if Soupy starts unraveling because of it (and we all know that’s totally possible) I think it might be our responsibility to boo him.  I mean, we have to carry our weight as fans.  We need the two points.  Heh.

I don’t know if I’ll boo them.  I’m just going to feel it out.

8 Responses to “To Boo, Or Not to Boo?”


  1. 1 Anne December 11, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    It’s true. It’s nothing personal, boys, we just want your team to lose. We have LALIME in net, we have to do anything we can to give the Sabres a boost.

  2. 2 Grrrreg December 11, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    I’m all for booing. Booing is an art. There are so many ways to boo. You can boo to put pressure on an opponent, taunt a goalie, yell at the referees, tell your own players they’d better move their sorry asses, “welcome back” a former player, express your discontent to the nhl commissioner about the way he put Versus in charge of broadcasting the nhl (that’s a very specific but useful form of booing), or simply relieve the tension.

    And if you can make it sound like it actually helps your team, it’s even better! :)

  3. 3 Joe from NYC December 11, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Had the same article up, the fans should boo, opposition is the enemy no matter who they are.

  4. 4 Katebits December 11, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Sorry, Joe! The spam filter nabbed you for some reason. But now your comment is free!

  5. 5 John M. December 12, 2009 at 9:42 am

    I totally agree Kate, and I’m glad that someone is saying it! The whole postgame show after last night’s game people were calling up and calling the fans classless for booing Soupy and Kane. I think you might have to actually be in a crowd during a “booing” game to understand- it’s fun, it’s funny when a random guy gets booed for really no reason (I’m thinking Chara here), and it gets the fans engaged with the game. Plus I love the effect when the crowd is just booing one guy who is, say, on the point on the power play because you get that “BOOOOOOOO” *silent* “BOOOOOOOOO” *silent* effect as they pass the puck back and forth which is just hilarious to me.

  6. 6 Katebits December 12, 2009 at 11:04 am

    John M, THANK YOU!

    “BOOOOOOO” *silent* “BOOOOOO” *silent” “BOOO” is the single biggest reason I love booing. It is TOTALLY hilarious, and I will fight someone tooth and nail for my right to do it. And, it’s COMPLETELY not malicious. I don’t understand why people can’t grasp the concept that booing people are not neccessarily sputtering with rage.

    I turned the radio off after the game because when a show starts with a lecture from the host, and then EVERY single call is an accusation of “CLASSLESS”, well, it’s just plain stupid. I’m suspicious of uniformity of thought. Especially about something this silly. I seriously thought about calling in, but I had had a few beers and I didn’t want to sound like an idiot.

    Hell, even Soupy seemed to handle the booing with style. (IF SOUPY CAN DO IT, SO CAN YOU, WGR!) He seemed chipper in his postgame interview, and he even joked that booing just meant the crowd misses you. (And you know what? I think he’s got a point there!)

    Everyone needs to chill about booing. Booing is just not that big a deal.

  7. 7 Heather B December 12, 2009 at 11:28 am

    Soupy is right. Booing means the crowd, on some level, wishes you were still there. I think it’s far worse to be someone like Ales Kotalik who doesn’t get cheered OR booed. That’s harsh, dude. There are many, many things that bother me about the local sports coverage, but the inclination to inject booing with some kind of deep social and political meaning is near the very top of the list. Get a grip.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

