6 Things

1. I have to admit that going into this game I was HELLA irked by all the talk about the Sabres win streak against the Leafs.  If you ask me, crowing about something like that is just ASKING for big time troubs.

But I’m a believer now.  No matter HOW badly the Sabres play against the Leafs, as long as we have a healthy Miller, hilarity and joyousness will ensue.

Thank you, Hockey Gods!  Thank you for giving us the Toronto Maple Leafs!

2. That said, the Sabres craptastic offense is getting worrisome.  I suppose they did score some handy goals tonight, but I’m still confusingly bitter.

3. Drew Stafford and Tim Connolly are not even remotely amusing.

4. I forgot to mention something I loved about the LAST Leafs game.   When Toskala let in the blooper goal, on the replay you can see Pominville skate by with his arms in the air.  Then, you can practically see the thought bubble above his head which says, “Oh wait.  Maybe I shouldn’t boisterously celebrate this wonky goal which we totally do not deserve,” as he sheepishly lowered his arms.

I can admit that I’m often looking for reasons to like Pominville.  I’ve had to look reeeal hard lately.

5. The Sabres did not take a single penalty tonight. Weird.

6. Are the Sabres good at hockey? I swear to you that I often cannot tell.

10 Responses to “6 Things”


  1. 1 KevinP December 21, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    #6: The answer is “yes”

  2. 2 Heather B December 21, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    See! I told you they’re good at hockey! I TOLD YOU! Kevin said so!

  3. 3 Katebits December 21, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    Okay. If Kevin says so. :P

  4. 4 Heather B December 21, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    Oooh, you’re a beeyotch.

  5. 5 Kathleen December 21, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    #1 – At the time all that occurred to me was “teehee, we so own the Leafs,” but after the second Toronto goal I harumphed to my coworker that it was all the radio boys’ fault for jinxing it.

    #5 – That was super weird. Only one for Toronto too. By the third I was desperately wishing someone would do something stupid. It just didn’t feel right.

  6. 6 Katebits December 21, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    Hee! Sorry, Heather!

    Kathleen, I’m going to try to be chiller about the Leafs next time because it really does seem impossible to lose to them. Heh.

  7. 7 Phil December 21, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    What’s most surprising about the lack of penalties tonight is that the referees didn’t feel compelled to give the Leafs a few gimmes. SHOCKING, I SAY!

  8. 8 ToonTom December 22, 2009 at 12:48 pm

    Bottom six? Check (Best in the NHL)
    Defense? Check. (Arguably the best 7 in the League)
    Goaltending? Check. (Best in the world)
    Top six? Uh, hello, Top Six.

    As much as we are winning, I hope Darcy and Lindy realize they have to fix the Top Six if they want any kind of a run in the playoffs.

  9. 9 Matt December 22, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Lack of penalties worked out awesomely for me yesterday. During the early period break I got to watch the Devils put 3 quick ones past Fleury. Then after the OT, I got to watch Marty finish off shutout 104. Splendid, I say, just splendid!

    I think a lot of the problems with Stafford and Timmy could be resolved by getting them both in the same zone at the same time. The drop pass is cool, but if it results in one guy charging down the boards and the other doing circles in the neutral zone it loses effect. Get Staffy and Timmy charging at the same time and defenders slow down noticeably from trying not to crap their pants in front of 20,000 people.

  10. 10 mcguffers December 22, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    #6. I’m still not convinced. I want to see Kevin and Heather’s credentials. :P

    When the offense can start looking like they’re in control of the game, THEN I’ll be a believer.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

