It’s Patrick Lalime Appreciation Day!

When the Hockey Gods bestow upon us such a wonderous game, it is not for us to ask why.  It is our job to give thanks and to do our best to honor the Hockey Gods by living a life in devotion to their cryptic teachings.

Thank you oh mighty Hockey Gods.  Amen.

But, if we DID ask “why?”, if our feeble human hearts were so moved by the gift of a three-goal-deficit-come-from-behind-win-against-the-freaking-Penguins-of-all-teams that we could not stop ourselves from wondering…how?, this is what we would ask:

WHAT in the name of Lindy Ruff has come over Patrick Lalime?!

He went from Player-Most-Likely-to-be-Accidentally-Left-Behind-When-the-Team-Bus-Leaves-the-Hotel to BELOVED HERO in the blink of an eye.  It’s wonderful, and it’s making me feel like anything is possible.  I mean, if Crunchy can be chased by the Penguins, and then Patrick Lalime can be such hottie-pants in relief that the rest of the team has no choice but to get inspired, well, anything is possible.  I’m dreaming big, and I have Patrick Lalime (and the Almighty Hockey Gods- Amen) to thank for it.

It’s Patrick Lalime Appreciation Day!  *tosses confetti*

As Kevin wrote about yesterday, as Ryan Miller goes, so go the Sabres, but…..what if that’s not entirely true? What if Crunchy can afford to rest his scrawny bones from time to time (or to suck ass occasionally) and the Sabres can still win?  It boggles the mind.  It’s a situation I have never experienced as a Sabres fan.  It feels like a miracle.

So, today we celebrate Patrick Lalime who’s been quietly lying in wait on the Sabres bench with nary a complaint.  Thank you Patrick Lalime for helping to create this buoyant surge of Sabres-related happiness.

In honor of Patrick Lalime Appreciation Day, I would like to present Patty with this set of slightly smaller dentures…..

Patty is an EXTREMELY handsome man, but he looks like he’s wearing the wrong size teeth.  His teeth are juust a tad too big.

…..and two warm fuzzies:

When I was in elementary school (probably first or second grade) my class actually used these yarn pompoms (we called them “warm fuzzies”) as school-endorsed currency.  If you were really well behaved, or particularly kind in some way, the teacher would give you a warm fuzzy.  Then, we were allowed to trade our warm fuzzies amongst ourselves.  We were encouraged to give and recieve warm fuzzies as a symbol of love and friendship .  I know it’s cheesy, but warm fuzzies actually make me feel warm and fuzzy inside- which is why I’d like for Patrick Lalime to have two of them.  Two warm fuzzies from the bottom of my heart.

8 Responses to “It’s Patrick Lalime Appreciation Day!”


  1. 1 Shelby December 30, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    I never even noticed how large Patty’s teeth were. I just always notice how perfect they look. They’re always white!

  2. 2 Katebits December 30, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    I assume those are fakes because they are so suspiciously white and perfect. He just got one size too big. :D

  3. 3 Frostee December 30, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    We used warm fuzzies in eighth grade, so I understand what an honor it is. I hope he never does anything to warrant a cold prickly.

  4. 4 Katebits December 30, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Oh my gosh! I forgot about cold pricklies! But I don’t think we exchanged those in second grade. It was all warm fuzzies all the time.

  5. 6 Jaime December 31, 2009 at 9:16 am

    Oh! I love the idea of warm fuzzies. I might have to do something like that when I someday go back to teaching again.

  6. 7 Matt December 31, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    As a frequent lurker, I must exit my silence for a moment to share….

    We traded warm fuzzies as part of a recurring Church retreat weekend when I was in high school. About six months ago, while briefly visiting the home of a friend from those days – and one who was a big organizer of the retreats – I discovered a store of them in her house. Seeing as the point was to give them away and not horde them, we have had a lot of fun teasing her for completely missing the point of the exercise.

    That said, I fully endorse Patty L getting warm fuzzies. He has been a consistently positive presence on the Sabres this year, even when he wasn’t playing or winning, and I am really happy he has taken a bigger role in the team’s success.

  7. 8 Katebits January 1, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Hey Matt! Somehow I missed this comment until just now- thanks for delurking! I seriously had no idea that warm fuzzies were a wide spread thing. I LOVE that your friend hoarded them. Adorable.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

