Citizens, Do Your Part

Let’s just be honest about the situation.  The Senators are in our heads, BIG TIME.

The first step is admitting you have a problem:  My name is Katebits, and I’m scared shitless of the Senators.  I’m powerless against them.

The SECOND step is to gather your strength, put on your big boy pants (as Buffalo Pundit would say if he cared even remotely about hockey), AND MAN THE EFF UP.

Every man, woman, and Sabretooth in Buffalo has to do their part tonight to propel the Sabres to victory.

I make a lot of jokes about superstitions, but ordinarily, I’m more of a, screw-superstition-the-players-make-their-own-luck kind of fan.  If the Sabres lose, it’s because they played poorly, or worse, it’s because they just suck in first place.

But the Senators are different because they are in my head, and I don’t like having disgusting Sens in my head.  I mean…ew.  The Sens are different because even though I claim I’m not superstitious, I already have that sinking feeling in my stomach like the results are already written- that our destiny is already set.

Fuck that.

Tonight, this ends.  Tonight, we must all do our part.  Tonight, we must all face our personal fear of the Senators, and we must cast that fear aside.  I don’t know why the Sabres have had such trouble with the Senators, but they clearly need our help getting over the hump.  So, tonight we will help.  Everyone in Buffalo must get on board to help defeat the Sens.

The Sabres must win this game.

If you have a lucky jersey, wear it.  If you have a pregame ritual, do it.  If you’re going to the game, leave your grumpiness at home.  Everyone must focus their psychic powers and positive energy on tonight’s game.  We have to root like we’ve never rooted before.  We have to go for it.  We have to practice not being afraid of the Sens, and we have to do it now because this “We always lose to the Sens” shit WILL NOT DO in the playoffs.

There is no more time to waste.  Tonight is the night.


Let’s Go Buff-a-lo!

16 Responses to “Citizens, Do Your Part”


  1. 1 Jeanne February 3, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    My Ottawa pre-game superstition: watch the 2007 fight Emery vs Biron, Emery vs Peters, Ruff vs Murray and the look on Rob Ray’s face as those two curse each other out. Always brings a smile and a chuckle!

  2. 2 John February 3, 2010 at 2:36 pm

    After reading this, I’ve decided to go with the black jersey tonight, because the last time I can remember having real magic against the Sens was May 2006, when we were giving the Wales champs fits. [Five comebacks and the puddle of doom in G1; Hecht’s beautiful break in G2; JP’s glove-stick-twine G3 winner; Pommers torching Alfie to win G5.]

    I *loved* that series, and it hasn’t been quite the same against them since.

    So, back in black for me!

  3. 4 Sam February 3, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I’m in Kate! I will be at the game and I’m wearing my lucky shirt. :) It went 3-0 last year.. including a win over Ottawa!

  4. 5 Matt February 3, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    New lucky Kaleta jersey worn to work? Check!

    New badly-done p’shop of the Sens in tutus? Check! Here

    LET’S GO BUFFALO!!!

  5. 6 Kitten February 3, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Be cool.

    “The Sena-whos? Sorry, I don’t believe we’ve had the pleasure. Now where is Ottawa exactly?”

  6. 7 SueInVA February 3, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Amen, Sister! :D

    Erm, I mean — Let’s Go Buffalo!

  7. 8 Mike February 3, 2010 at 3:56 pm

    Stupidly, I sold my tickets for this game before the season began. I don’t think I’ve ever regretted selling a particular game more so than this one.

    I’ve got the war paint on. I’m ready. Bring it, Ottawa.

  8. 9 SueInVA February 3, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    I like this recording of the big fight better.

    It’s from the Buffalo feed. So we get RJ and Rayzer and a little F-bomb from our beloved coach!

    I’m not a big proponent of fighting but I wouldn’t mind seeing a bit of this tonight. It is a bit funny watching the Sens top line run from Kaleta, Mair and Peters. Heatley grabs on to Hank ’cause I guess he figured Hank wouldn’t hit him.

  9. 10 Amy February 3, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Your post feels like the fan version of John Belushi’s speech from Animal House.

    Let’s go Buffalo!

  10. 11 Attica! Attica! Attica! February 3, 2010 at 5:20 pm

  11. 12 SueInVirginia February 3, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Quick! Send that to the locker room!

  12. 13 Shelby Rose February 3, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    I might just put on a jersey tonight for the boys! Maybe switching it up a little will give them some good luck mojo.

  13. 14 george February 3, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Not to glorify fighting in hockey or anything but….

    in the immmortal words of Jim Halpert: “Fight, fight, fight!!!”

    Taking care of business with Sens Old School style:

  14. 15 Senators Lost Cojones February 3, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    Objects in mirror may be closer than they appear.

  15. 16 Katebits February 3, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    GET OUT OF MY HEAD, SLC! GETOUTGETOUTGETOUT!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

