What I Think About the Olympics Today

- Every d-bag hipster in the world claims to like curling, and as a result, I’ve been scoffing at curling for years.  Well, today I finally got around to watching curling, and you know what?  Call me a douchebag hipster, but curling really is pretty fun.  It’s oddly mesmerizing.  You certainly couldn’t call it action packed, but it held my interest for HOURS this afternoon.  I’m a convert.  I totally love watching curling, and unlike every single other sport in the world, I’m vaguely interested in learning to curl myself.  I know!  I’m such a jock!

- Olympic hockey is a hoot and a holler.  I really wasn’t sure that I’d enjoy it, but I looooooved seeing Crunchy out there in his USA uniform.  It very cool to see him in a different role for a different team.  I also liked seeing him wear number 39.  He seemed extra sassy in that number.  Maybe he should switch!

The Canada/Norway game was less fun, but I suppose it was inevitable.

- Speaking of Norway….A few years ago I took an audition in Norway, and I would have moved there had I won the job.  Because of my trip and because I’m ridiculous, I consider myself semi-Norwegian.  I like to root for the Norwegians.  If it’s a man, I assume he would have been my boyfriend had I moved to Norway.  If it’s a woman, she probably would have been my Norwegian BFF.  Go Norway!

- I had planned on writing a whole post about how I think pairs figure skating is the best Winter Olympic sport because of the costumes and the often hilariously vicious body language between the pairs who screw up, but right now I’m watching the men’s short program, and I’m full of doubt.  THIS might be the best sport in the Winter Olympics.  The male divas!  The huge jumps!  The sequins!

- When the Ookies were here someone noticed that Dick Button wears the BIGGEST shoes on earth, and now whenever he’s on screen all I can see are his giant clown shoes.

17 Responses to “What I Think About the Olympics Today”


  1. 1 Katebits February 16, 2010 at 10:42 pm

    I just figured out what I loved about Crunchy in the Olympics- it’s fun to see him when I don’t care all that much about the team in front of him.

  2. 2 Courtney S.F. February 16, 2010 at 11:46 pm

    I only saw the last five male skaters, but is it me, or was Lysacek robbed? I thought he was fabulous and neither his costume nor his music were tacky.

    Yes, Dick Button (what a name!) has very large shoes.

  3. 3 John February 16, 2010 at 11:51 pm

    Dick Button used to annoy me every Winter Olympics, which is essentially the only time I actually watch figure skating, but I kind of like him in his current role. He’s looking very good and is pretty sharp for an 80 year old, and he’s much more positive and affirming than he was as a commentator.

    Also, my wife and I were reading his bio on Wikipedia and it’s filled with interesting things he’s done. He was skating an exhibition in Prague during the Communist coup in 1948, then sailed back to on the Queen Elizabeth ocean liner. I never knew that he went to law school at Harvard after winning the 1952 gold medal. I was only vaguely aware that he has overcome two serious brain injuries. I gained new respect for him.

    But his boots are, nevertheless, freakishly huge and shiny.

    (I also thought Lysacek had the better performance of the night.)

  4. 4 Meg February 17, 2010 at 12:18 am

    The men really were in fine costume form today. Everyone cross your fingers for equally ridiculous long program outfits!

    I only saw the last five male skaters, but is it me, or was Lysacek robbed?

    Plushenko is a jumping machine. I don’t understand the scoring at all but I assume that’s why he’s ahead–harder jumps.

    I think Dick Button’s shoes are orthopedic dress shoes. They are very funny looking though.

    I also liked seeing him wear number 39. He seemed extra sassy in that number. Maybe he should switch!

    Even if they would allow Miller to wear Hasek’s number I kind of like him having his own separate number that’s free of Hasek-brand-crazy taint. What if he wore that number in the corridors of HSBC arena and suddenly discovered an urge to throttle reporters not named Bucky? Or his groin went wonky? Or he took up drunk driving? Bad juju.

  5. 5 Katebits February 17, 2010 at 12:51 am

    I figured those were some sort of special orthopedic dress shoes, I’m just surprised they let him wear them on the air! Seriously, I can’t take my eyes off them. John, I read Button’s wiki page too! He’s quite the fella!

    Oh right. 39 was Hasek. Well, Miller still looks sassy in it, but I suppose you’re right Meg. That’s bad juju. I think I just like the change. He should pick a new number!

    Courtney, I did think Lysacek had a great performance, but I’m rooting for the cocky Russian, so I didn’t mind the judging. :D

  6. 6 Becky February 17, 2010 at 6:06 am

    But what if wearing #39 turns Miller into some kind of amazing hockey slinky?

    I think that if Hasek and the Sabres can work their way past spitting matches his number will be retired, although #30 may be hanging in the rafters first.

  7. 7 frisbee February 17, 2010 at 11:08 am

    As good as the men’s outfits are, the German pair who dressed as clowns in their short program absolutely slayed me. I will never watch sports again without imagining everyone dressed as clowns. Sad clowns. It’s terrifying.

  8. 8 frisbee February 17, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Oh, and more importantly, I give you this. Best. Picture. Ever. http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/04/sports/olympics/04longman.html

  9. 9 Jaime February 17, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    I was watching the Today show this morning and they were doing a piece on Lysacek. He had his costumes made by Vera Wang. I think that makes him the prima donna diva!

  10. 10 Katebits February 17, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    frisbee, those clowns were INCREDIBLE. I was so disappointed in them when they showed up for the long program in comparatively boring outfits. But DUDE, that picture is SO WRONG AND YET SO RIGHT.

  11. 11 donald February 17, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    can we have a live blog of the men’s figure skating finals please? i love all of your olympic posts.

    i find myself vascillating wildly between appreciating it a ton and seeing will ferrell everywhere. but those sports writers are right, it can be appreciated by the sensitive types, and the macho types waiting to see people BITE IT on the ice…

    i love the fox fur guy that is one giant f.u. to the red states..take that network TV/mcdonalds!

    frisbee, that article is AMAZING:

    “At the 1992 Winter Games, Maia Usova and Aleksandr Zhulin of Russia won the bronze medal dressed as dinner mints.”

    also katebits i’m suprised no mention of the soundtrack choices– there were several times last night when i really thought i was listening to the sound of all music dying.

  12. 12 mcguffers February 17, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    THIS might be the best sport in the Winter Olympics. The male divas! The huge jumps! The sequins!

    A black and pink man corset with pink tassels? Just. Awesome. And though I love a man who can wear feathers, I think Lysacek was summoning The Crow more than The Firebird.

  13. 13 Katebits February 17, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    Dude Donald, don’t even GET ME STARTED on the music. Sometimes I get massively distracted listening to the weird edits. This sport is almost more bonkers than even I can bear. That’s saying something.

    I think you really nailed it with this:

    but those sports writers are right, it can be appreciated by the sensitive types, and the macho types waiting to see people BITE IT on the ice…

    THAT is exactly why figure skating is so awesome. I mean, when I wasn’t moved and exhilarated by the skating, I was either tittering at the outfits or absolutely reveling in the brutal falls. You can’t lose. Maybe I WILL live blog it tomorrow!

  14. 14 John February 17, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    Yes, a Kate live blog of the skating finals tomorrow would be fantastic!

  15. 15 elise February 17, 2010 at 7:43 pm

    Kate! Are you mad we are not hogging your couch and eating all your food? I am!! Boo, schedules.

    PLEASE a live blog of the Men’s Finals! I also love the cocky Russian dude with the hair/face/fast car. However, the American leader is just so EARNEST…and he CRIES. I love it. The American Fur Man is also awesome.

    LIVE BLOG!!!

    Miss you, Elise

  16. 16 Joe from NYC February 17, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Sorry, but Curling is whacked?! And the Hipsters are just trying to be trend setters by claiming that it’s cool. It’s just not.

  17. 17 SueInVirginia February 17, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    Well, I’ve loved curling since I was a teenager. I am wondering why there are rec leagues. But perhaps there are in other places than Virginia. Anyway, I’m sure I’ve been called a d-bag before but never a hipster! LOL!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

