AMERICA. FUDGE YEAH.

When the Olympics are over, can we keep Parise, Kesler, and Drury?  (And by “we” I mean “The Sabres” aka: America’s Hockey Team) Pleeeeease?

I’ll be honest, I did NOT expect to get this wrapped up in USA Hockey.  I figured I’d sort of casually check out the teams, pick out a scrappy non-Canada/non-Russian favorite and spend the majority of the games praying that Ryan Miller escapes injury-free.  But no.  I’m in love with this.  I love Team USA.  I’m happily cheering for Rangers, and Devils, and LEAFS, and I just don’t even care.

This whole thing feels like a summer camp romance.  It’s temporary, and soon we’ll all go back to our regular lives (with the stupid old Sabres), but for now, it’s love.  Pure, giddy love.  I never want summer camp to end.

13 Responses to “AMERICA. FUDGE YEAH.”


  1. 1 Caroline February 24, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    This whole thing feels like a summer camp romance. It’s temporary, and soon we’ll all go back to our regular lives (with the stupid old Sabres), but for now, it’s love. Pure, giddy love. I never want summer camp to end.

    Hahaha, that’s a perfect analogy.

  2. 2 Beth February 24, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    My sentiments exactly.

    I think I fell so hard at first because my fave Sabre is Miller and it is great seeing all of the attention he is getting right now. As a Sabres fan I feel almost guilty or as if I am cheating on my boys. But I am totally wrapped up in the team talent as well and even though they all play for opposing teams I am supposed to HATE during the regular season, I love them all right now.

  3. 3 Sharpie February 24, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    Just remember, WE get to keep Miller when the olympics are over. That aloneakes the Sabres more than stupid.

  4. 4 Heather B February 24, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Finally we have simultaneous agreeing opinions! I JUST said to Mark, “I think we should keep Zach Parise.” He like… plays hard ALL THE TIME! I don’t get it! But I love it!

  5. 5 Jillian February 24, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    Parise as a sabre would be some kind of dream my goodness, it would be amazing.

  6. 6 Katebits February 24, 2010 at 10:10 pm

    Yeah, I could get real used to cheering for Parise.

  7. 7 Meg February 24, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Guys, all we need are roofies, duct tape, rope, and plane tickets and Kesler and Parise are ours (I’ve seen how Drury plays for the Rangers and as far as I’m concerned they can keep him). I’m sure that kidnapping people and transporting them across international borders is not even slightly illegal.

  8. 8 John M. February 25, 2010 at 12:11 am

    I agree, but now that I’m all wrapped up in it all the teams that are left seem incredibly scary. Finland just oozes icy Scandinavian menace. And now Canada is playing like an all-star team. I want our scrappy heroes to win damnit!

  9. 9 Kitten February 25, 2010 at 8:43 am

    Hahaha! I’m picturing Kate and Drury singing to each other in Grease III:Romance on Ice.

  10. 10 frisbee February 25, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I want Brian Rafalski to come live at my house.

  11. 11 Mark B February 25, 2010 at 10:42 am

    I’m enjoying the tournament a lot, but I have to admit that I’ve started missing the Sabres. It started a few days ago and I’m ready to begin the push to the playoffs!

  12. 12 Katebits February 25, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Meg, the thing that’s thrown me for a loop with Drury is that he hasn’t been Rangers-Drury, he’s been Sabres-Drury. Someone on twitter said Drury makes him feel nostalgic, and I think that’s exactly it- Drury is nostalgia personified. He’s the PERFECT summer camp romance. Summer camp is all about feeling nostalgic for something even while you’re actually doing it. But yeah, I want NO PART of Rangers-Drury. But I’m right behind you with the roofies and the duct tape. Kesler and Parise SHALL BE OURS.

    Frisbee, I’ve been over looking Rafalski. Good eye.

    John M, I agree the field is looking spookier, especially since the gold medal game will almost certainly be very Canada-riffic. Yikes.

    Kitten, AHAHAHAH!


  1. 1 Courteous Correspondence | The Goose's Roost Trackback on February 25, 2010 at 6:50 am

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

