Today Is More Awesome Than Lame

Things that are lame:

1. Ryan Kesler and Zach Parise are no longer on our team.

2. Olympic hockey is gone for four years.

3. My ankle is sprained.

4. I wrote an entire huge long post about how the Sabres need a backup goalie (complete with STATS!  I looked up NUMBERS, you guys) only to scrap the whole thing because I realized that I wasn’t even buying my argument.  (Statbits are inherently fishy if you ask me.)   I still think that Crunchy needs some good rest before the playoffs, but I couldn’t prove it with numbers, so now I’m just all lost and confused about the whole thing.

5. DARN!  I forgot to put the chili in the crockpot!  I KNEW there was something I was supposed to be doing this morning.

Things that are awesome:

1. The S-A-B-R-E-S are back!

2. Paul Gaustad and Thomas Vanek are on our team.  (I know!  I’m just as surprised to see Vanek on the “awesome” list as you are!)

3. Lindy Ruff is on our team again.  Sometimes in Buffalo it feels like you have to choose to be a “Lindy Ruff never deserves criticism EVER” person or a swirly-eyed, frothing at the mouth “LINDYRUFFSHOULDBEFIRED” person, but I reject this notion.  I love Lindy AND I criticism him.  It’s called “middle ground”, and it’s awesome.

My main point about Lindy today is that it didn’t feel particularly good to see him on the other side of the ice.  I’m looking forward to getting him back.  Ryan Miller and Lindy Ruff belong together, not apart.

4. I’m really really looking forward to Lindy’s comments about the Olympics, and Miller’s play in particular.  I’m sure he’ll have some good stuff.

5. Lindy claimed that he came away from the Olympic camps this summer all calm and reinvigorated, with a new, fresh approach to coaching.  If the camps made him feel all inspired, imagine what winning a gold medal did for him.  Not to steal Darcy’s trademark line, but getting an invigorated and refreshed Lindy Ruff back in the locker room might be the same as making a big trade.   (Heh.)

6. TRADE DEADLINE DAY IS TOMORROW!   There are those who take a “This is how it is, this is how it’s always been, this is how it always will be” approach to the trade deadline, and I certainly can’t argue with that logic.  But, if you can’t daydream about trading Clarke MacArthur for Rick Nash in the 24 hours before the trade deadline, when CAN you dream about such things?  The trade deadline is fun, I say!  (That said, this IS how it is, this IS how it’s always been, and this IS how it will always be.  Darcy’s got his method and there’s not a damn thing anyone can do about it.  I just try not to get too cranky when the thing I knew was going to happen, happens.)

7. The fellas over at The Goose’s Roost have organized a gigantic Sabres blogger Cover-It-Live-athon, and we here at TWC will be participating.  I’m lifting the Willful Caboose ban on that big old clicking, scrolling chatty-box thing, and we’re going to talk Rick Nash for Clarke MacArthur ALL DAY LONG.  So, tune in here (or to any other Sabres blog) to get in on the chatter.

8. The Olympics really left me feeling like the Sabres should go for it this season.  Is Ryan Miller having the season of a lifetime?   If he did that for Team USA, can he do it for the Sabres?

9. Seriously though.  How awesome is it that Ryan Miller is a Buffalo Sabre?

10. The chili probably doesn’t need the entire day to cook.

12 Responses to “Today Is More Awesome Than Lame”


  1. 1 James March 2, 2010 at 1:57 pm

    I would wait a year on going “All In”.

    Here are some reasons why:

    1) Miller tends to wear down and he’s been (over)used a lot between Ruff not trusting Lalime and the Olympics joy ride with Team USA on Miller’s back.

    Maybe next year will be better with Enroth as the back up????

    2) I’m not digging a lot of the names that are getting tossed around on the block. I’d love a PP QB D-man, but Zidlicky is likely to re-sign in Minny & Kaberle isn’t leaving Toronto. I’d love a power forward RW like Nathan Horton, but the Panthers GM is backing off the Fire Sale talk…..

    3) The Sabres best defenseman is a rookie.

    I’m all for getting a player or two that is under contract beyond this season that makes the team better right now. But, I doubt that Regier will pay the freight.

    But, I’m down with Mac for Nash. Although, I’d settle for Stafford for Parise and Mac for Kesler.

  2. 2 Katebits March 2, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    James, you might be right. This probably isn’t the year to bet the farm, but I still hope Darcy makes the team better for the palyoffs.

    The crux of my scraped “we need a better backup” post was that Miller is going to wear down, and that the best thing we could do for the team is create a situation where he gets a LOT of rest between now and the playoffs, and then really go for it with the team we have now. But, that just might not be possible. Lindy is so hesitant to play backups, and even if he wasn’t, I’m not sure there is a goalie out there who could get the job done. I’ll admit I’m partially in the “get Biron back” camp simply because Lindy has trusted him in the past, but he hasn’t been at all good this season.

    If you add in the Olympics, Miller has played in 58 games this year. The most he’s ever played in the regular season was in 07/08 when he played 76. And that seemed to REALLY wear him out. The most he has ever played regular season and playoffs COMBINED, was in 06/07 when he 63 regular season and 16 playoffs for a total of 79 games.

    The Sabres have 22 games remaining.

    It’s obvious that Miller is a better goalie now than he’s ever been before, so I think it’s safe to assume he’s got a few extra games in the tank, but still. If you throw in a deep playoff run, Miller would have to play 10-15 more games than he’s ever played before. Without a reliable backup that Lindy is willing to play, we might be asking too much of Ryan Miller this season. Which is a shame.

  3. 3 James March 2, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    I thought Tellqvist was a guy that was a quality back up. And from that I mean a goalie that doesn’t need multiple starts in a row to play decently.

    With Miller playing well north of 60 games a year, the Sabres need a back up and that can deal with only playing 3 or 4 times per month.

    It will be interesting to see what the Sabres do behind Miller this summer.

    Will they see if Enroth can handle the job. Or, will they go shopping in the UFA or trade market for a vet?

    That is certainly an area that needs improvement. But, I doubt that Regier adds in that area in the next 23 hours and 33 minutes……

  4. 4 Mike March 2, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    If I had a nickel for every time I canned a post after the stats failed to prove whatever point I was trying to make, I’d have a whole lot of nickels. I posted something after the West Coast losing streak that I really had to bend the numbers for it to make any sense.

    As far as trades are concerned… given that Darcy doesn’t make blockbuster deals, my money is on landing Corvo. But hey, if we could actually pull off Nash for C-Mac then I’m totally on that bandwagon.

  5. 5 Katebits March 2, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    The real problem with the “Miller needs rest” argument is that we’re just assuming he needs rest. I was randomly pulling numbers out of thin air about what I think is his ideal number of games (60-70 regular season). The other big problem with insisting that we get a better backup is the fact that Lindy probably wouldn’t play him anyway.

    But seriously, if Lindy plays Lalime four times in the next six weeks, Ryan will be at 76 games played, which is what he played in 07-08. Which was scary. And THEN he’s got to tackle the playoffs? I dunno.

  6. 6 Phil March 2, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Tomorrow’s mega chatty boxy clicky thing is going to be awesome, but I’ll only be around for about an hour because I’ll be going to the game!

    It’s going to be so fun to have my Tonza jersey looking all spiffy and crisp when they announce that he’s now an Olympic bronze medal winner! And don’t even get me started on the ridonkulosity that will be the reception our dear Crunchy receives.

  7. 7 Phil March 2, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    Correction – now that he’s a TWO-TIME Olympic medalist!

  8. 8 mcguffers March 2, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Maybe Zach would want to come play with Miller and Staffy now?

  9. 9 Phil March 2, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    Weren’t Parise and Stafford teammates on the Team USA WJC squad that won gold?

  10. 10 karen March 2, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    I can send you a chili recipe that takes 20 minutes to make and includes raisins and balsamic vinegar. By all accounts, it’s completely delicious and you don’t have to remember several hours ahead of when you’re hungry to start it.

  11. 11 John March 3, 2010 at 12:35 am

    Phil – yep. Parise, Suter, and Kesler were all on that team with Staffy.

  12. 12 James March 3, 2010 at 7:43 am

    Parise & Stafford were also teammates at North Dakota in 2003-04.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

