Welcome, New Guy!

Hey, look at this guy.  He’s a Sabre.

“Hey ladies.”
*finger guns*
“My name is Raffi Torres.  I am now Buffalo’s lead scorer.”
*wink*

Nathan Paetsch is now a Blue Jacket, and Clarke MacArthur is now a 3rd and 4th round draft pick, so we must say their eulogies.

R.I.P:

Nathan Paetsch, your face is pleasingly round, and you always seem so polite and cordial.  Your ability to play almost any position on the ice will be missed, as will your helmet that you had Chara autograph after he dented it with a slapshot.  We wish you well in Columbus.  Good luck with the co-eds and the ice girls.  Please send Rick Nash my best.  Thank you for your service to the Buffalo Sabres.  Amen.

Clarke MacArthur, you have frustrated me many times over the years, and your ridiculous hair makes you look perpetually stoned.  You do, however, have a good nickname.  “The General” will be missed.  We wish you well in Atlanta.  I’ll look for you in the Atlanta airport when I fly Delta.  Good luck with the traffic and the heat.  Please send Max Afinogenov my best.  Thank you for your service to the Buffalo Sabres. Amen.

____________________

In other news, we probably all owe Darcy Regier a wee bit of an apology.  He DID something!  Yay!

So, Darcy, sorry we all doubted you, and thank you SO MUCH for not re-signing Henrik Tallinder and telling us it’s the same as a big trade.  Seriously.  This is so much better than that would have been.

10 Responses to “Welcome, New Guy!”


  1. 1 Heather B March 3, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    thank you SO MUCH for not re-signing Henrik Tallinder and telling us it’s the same as a big trade.

    Dude! That would have been AWESOME!

  2. 2 mcguffers March 3, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    I’ve met one other Raffi in my lifetime. He’s a tool. So I already don’t like this guy.

    Then again, I’m completely fickle and my opinion will change if he scores a goal/beats up Ovie/doesn’t hurt himself “fighting”/shows that he understands books are the foundation of reading.

  3. 3 Katebits March 3, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    Heather, I wrote that line just for you. :D

    McGuffers, I agree “Raffi” is something this guy is going to have to overcome. I think he can do it.

  4. 4 Kathleen March 3, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    “Hey ladies.”
    *finger guns*
    “My name is Raffi Torres. I am now Buffalo’s lead scorer.”
    *wink*

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    Thank you, Katebits. That’s the first time today I’ve had a positive reaction to anything about this guy. (But I still don’t like him.)

  5. 5 Katebits March 3, 2010 at 11:13 pm

    Why is everyone so down on Raffi Torres?! He’s the new guy! He’s got more goals then EVERYONE on our team. Sure he looks a teensy bit douchy, and he definitely has a douchey name, but still. Plus, we unloaded Clarke MacArthur. That guy got on my nervies.

  6. 6 mcguffers March 4, 2010 at 12:02 am

    Because I’m cranky about the Sabres and we still have one D. Roy. I didn’t really want a rent-a-player for the last 21-26 games of this year. I wanted to trade Roy for Zach Parise. I don’t think that was too much to ask! Raffi is like getting a Connect Four when I had the chicken pox. Not only did I still have the chicken pox, but I really wanted a Barbie instead.

    Of course I say all this jokingly. Well, except for I really would have liked a Roy/Parise trade. And chicken pox sucked. And I really did want a Barbie!! But Connect Four ended up being pretty cool, and maybe Raffi will be too… for the 21-26 games he’ll play here :D

  7. 7 Jillian March 4, 2010 at 12:49 am

    Yeah I don’t like the looks of the new guy either, sorry. Zach Parise would have looked a lot better, and a number 9 for a number 9 would have worked out quite well. Also, I will miss MacArthur, I just can’t help it. Also P. Gaustad is injured and that makes me irritable, so there you have it…haha.

  8. 8 Katebits March 4, 2010 at 12:57 am

    Fine then, more Raffi Torres for me. :D

  9. 9 Mark B March 4, 2010 at 10:46 am

    The more I read about Raffi, the more excited I get. So I’m with you, Kate!

  10. 10 Shea A March 4, 2010 at 11:53 am

    I’m on board for Raffi. I think the sabres need fresh faces. We did better when Rivet came to town, we did well shipping some guys out (Paille… still wish him all the luck). I think breaking the psychological rut they’re in is the way to go.

    With that said? New people bring in new ideas and a new atmosphere. Montador (minus february) did really well moving here, and he’s a good locker room presence.

    this is way wordier than I had intended, but I like this Raffi guy. I like what he might bring to the table. I want to see how this ingredient works.

    Team Raffi!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

