Statbits

I’m definitely not one to think too much about stats, but periodically I get a little lost on this page on NHL.com.  I meandered around there for a few minutes this morning and here are a few things that jumped out at me:

First, the Bad News. (I’m a bad news first kind of girl.  Save the best for last.)

  • The Sabres Power Play is 22nd in the league at 17.1%.  So, we’re not just imagining that the power play is kind of sucky.  I feel like every fanbase in the league complains about their team’s power play, but Sabres fans actually DO have a bit of a point.
  • The Sabres are 24th in the league in “Shots Against Per Game“.  That one scares me a bit.  Good thing Crunchy is so good!
  • The Sabres are 22nd in the league in faceoff win percentage.  Sad times at the dot.

The Good News:

  • They allow the 5th fewest goals per game.  Good work Crunchy!
  • They are currently 10th in the league in points.

SUPER Good News:

  • The Sabres have the 2nd most effective penalty kill in the league.  I knew the PK was foxy, but I honestly didn’t realize how foxy.

The News that is SO Good it Truly Blew My Mind, And That I’m Almost Scared To Call Attention To For Fear of Jinxing Them:

So, there you have it.  Some statbits.  Do with them what you will.

4 Responses to “Statbits”


  1. 1 Amy March 6, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    The 2009-10 Sabres have never, I repeat, NEVER lost a game when they had the lead going into the 3rd period.

    82% of the Sabres locker room: “That sounds like a challenge.”

    Seriously though, that is such a cool statbit.

  2. 2 Heather B March 6, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    According to your link, unless I’m misreading things, we now have the NUMBER ONE MOST EFFECTIVE PK in the league! That’s all Hank, right there. :P

  3. 3 Katebits March 6, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    WHAT?! The Bruins must have let in one or two on the power play during their game this afternoon! WOOOOOOO! Hank! Hank! Hank!

    82% of the Sabres in the locker room: “See? We get better even when we DON’T play. I’m going to take it easy the next few games. No sense in overexerting myself if our numbers improve when we’re not even playing.”

  4. 4 Kathleen March 6, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    That last statbit is WAY fancy. The only problem is that as soon as I feel comfortable and secure with them going into the third with a lead, they’ll go and blow it. The PK is back up to first after the Boston-NYI game. Thanks, Islanders! They seem to be doing much better at faceoffs lately too. I think it was their Olympic break homework.

    I love statbits so much. I can’t believe they gave me so much trouble in college :/


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

