5 Things

1. The Sabres were so GOOD yesterday (except for the 3rd period but I’m totally cutting them slack for that because it was their second game in 24 hours, and because I just love them right now).  I know it’s been safe to think “playoffs” for weeks, but I think last night was the first time it really sunk in with me.  For the first time in my fandom, the Sabres (OUR Sabres) are going to make the playoffs!  EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!  And I will have tickets to the home games!  EEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!  This is a big deal for me.

2. This is SUCH a big deal for me, that yesterday I told my BFF Janz that I could NOT play on his concert series on April 14th because there is a possibility that the playoffs will begin that night.  And hilariously, Janzie completely understood why I would make that choice.  He wasn’t necessarily happy about it, but he got it.  For me, being a Sabres fan has been filled with moments like, “If I could go back to 2007 and tell my myself then how my life would be in 2010…,” but really, this one takes the cake.

To recap: I told Janz I didn’t want to play Brahms B-flat sextet (which is one of my favorite pieces EVER written) because there is a possibility that a hockey team would be playing the first game in a series of seven, and Janz, who knows me extremely well, was all, “Oh, yeah. Sure. That makes perfect sense.”

Sometimes I feel like I’m at an age and stage of life where everything is all set, and I trick myself into thinking there are no more big shifts ahead.  Of course this is REDONKULOUS, and I know this is redonkulous, but thinking about how much hockey has changed my life makes me excited about what might be around the next bend.  I mean, honestly.

3. I think Panera is hugely overrated.   I would say that I have no idea why everyone loves it so much, except for the fact that I think their egg soufflé is the most delicious thing on the entire planet.  So basically, my position on Panera is that I hate it, except for the egg soufflé, which is my favorite food in history of time and space.

4. I wrote this post about Jochen Hecht in September of 2008, and I refer back to it frequently when thinking about Yo-Yo.  Last year was obviously a rough one for Yo-yo, but he’s been quietly putting together a pretty good year for himself.  I hadn’t really thought about it until yesterday, but his return to defensive respectability might be playing a BIG role in the Sabres’ season.  Probably much bigger than we give him credit for.  Like I said in that post, Jochen Hecht is someone who seems to WANT to be taken for granted.  It’s somehow a part of his persona.   But, that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t sit up straight and take notice when he has a game like he did yesterday.  Hecht’s first goal was extra sexy because it’s was so out of character for him.  It was as if Clark Kent accidentally pulled a Superman move without first removing his nerd glasses.

5. I wrote this on Twitter last night:

Yikes. I didn’t even notice that Torres was out today. Of course, I didn’t particularly miss MacArthur either. So…whatever.

I’m tempted to call Torres a bust, but it’s not like we have a gaping hole where MacArthur used to be in the lineup.  Plus, there will be playoff this year (PLAYOFFS!) and who knows how Torres might come in handy in the playoffs.  I keep thinking about him like I think about Dominic Moore in retrospect, but it’s silly.  Torres will have a much bigger opportunity to step up than Moore every had.  Darcy didn’t get Torres for the regular season, he got him for the playoffs.  Now, there certainly isn’t any reason to expect that Torres will suddenly be a visible force in the playoffs, all I’m saying is that I think it’s too soon to get all frothy about him.  Unlike it was with Moore, Torres and Lindy have a few more weeks to try to make this work.

15 Responses to “5 Things”


  1. 1 Pookie March 22, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    I’m so glad hockey changed your life in such fun and exciting ways! (I’m not going to lie — one of the very best things about quitting a life in performing arts was never having to do that awful stretch of freaking out when the playoff games were going to be; never knowing until the last minute what I was going to miss or what I was going to have to blow off in favor of hockey was the worst for me.)

  2. 2 Katebits March 22, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    Thanks Pookie!

    Yeah, my schedule is a real bummer, but I try to make my peace with it. The good news is that when I’m at work I’m with close friends, many of whom care about the Sabres just as much as me. So, even at work, I can have a meaningful experience with a game. But, I realized this week that I am CLEARING the calendar of ALL non-essential work/social commitments until June.

  3. 3 Kathleen March 22, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    Thank goodness Buffalo is so Buffalonian. (Nearly) Everyone is on the same page when it comes to these things. It’s nice.

    It was as if Clark Kent accidentally pulled a Superman move without first removing his nerd glasses.

    :^:::::::::!!!!!!!! Oh, that is perfect. I’m thrilled Hecht is having such a lovely year.

    Hmm. Yesterday I was thinking Torres is EXACTLY like Dominic Moore except way meaner and not at all foxy, but I didn’t consider that he’ll have more time to work out the kinks and make an impact. So I’ll try to keep an open mind. (But I still don’t like him. And he’s not a top-six forward. And he’s defensively irresponsible. And I think I’m going to persist in being stubborn about this.)

  4. 4 Caroline March 22, 2010 at 4:13 pm

    Panera’s egg soufflés are so good! Haven’t had them in awhile, I have to change that…

    And yay for playoffs! Playoff atmosphere in Buffalo is the best, and there is NOTHING that can compare to a playoff game in the HSBC Arena.

  5. 5 Heather B March 22, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    Kate, I’m very excited on your behalf! The playoffs really are a totally different feeling than the regular season. I can’t wait for you to get to experience it! I’m glad Janz was mostly cool with it.

  6. 6 Janz March 22, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    Wait, I thought you were kidding.

  7. 7 Gambler March 23, 2010 at 7:15 am

    It was as if Clark Kent accidentally pulled a Superman move without first removing his nerd glasses.

    Love it. I also think it’s worth noticing that while Yo-Yo has greatly improved his defensive presence this year, he’s also suddenly sitting at 19 goals with plenty of time to make it over the 20-mark for the second time in his career. (Actually, he’d be at 20 already if McCabe hadn’t hooked him when he had an empty net to shoot at. Boo.)That one took even me by surprise. I like having my old Yo-Yo back!

  8. 8 Heather B March 23, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    (Actually, he’d be at 20 already if McCabe hadn’t hooked him when he had an empty net to shoot at. Boo.)

    Are you sure about that, Gambler? :P

    (Just kidding. You know I love that sweet little German.)

  9. 9 aristeia March 23, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Whoa, your 1st playoffs as a Sabres fan? No baggage? No niggling reminders of previous miseries? Of those ‘almost’ moments that crush your soul? No repeating mental video of “NO GOAL” playing over and over in your head, causing your body to shudder uncontrollably and bile to rise in your throat?

    Lady, I’m jealous.

  10. 10 piece March 23, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    quality, quality post– plus janz’ comment made me totally LOL

  11. 11 Katebits March 23, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    Well, I think I have picked up a few longtime Buffalo sports fan insecurities just because of my proximity to all of you guys, aristeia. But mostly I’m an unblemished soul, playoff-wise.

    Thanks, piece.

  12. 12 Geoff March 24, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    Stumbled on the blog today courtesy of Four Habs Fans. Great stuff.

  13. 14 Jessica March 25, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    I am with you on Panera but I will make you a deal. I will try the egg soufflé if you give the chocolate chip bagel and/or the lite hazelnut cream cheese a try. Shakes.

  14. 15 Karen March 26, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    Hey Katebits! I somehow missed this post previously, but to access to full powers of Raffi Torres, his full name must be used at all times! That’s what the Columbus announcers told me, anyway. I hope Raffi Torres steps it up for you!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

