Part Four

Dear Sabres,

Two years ago, my aunt Mary (who lives in Minnesota) bought me a car flag for Christmas.  She actually emailed Heather B. in order to figure out which Sabres-related trinket I would like the most, and the two of them nailed it.  I love this car flag.

I think car flags are incredibly charming, but, I think of car flags as a playoff thing.  Car flags are for the spring, when hopes are the highest, and when it’s still sunny as you walk towards the arena for a 7pm game.

I feel so strongly that car flags are a playoff thing that as soon as I opened this gift, I thought to myself, “I’m not using this until the Sabres make the playoffs.  I don’t care how many years it has to sit in a drawer.”

Sabres, I know you haven’t quite made the playoffs yet, and I know I’m a little early on this, but I don’t care. Today I went out in the sunshine, and I put my playoff flag on the car, and it felt like my Sabres fandom came full circle.

I fell in love with the Sabres during their last playoff appearance.  This time, I’ll be well accessorized.

Sabres, you should try very hard to win this game tonight.  I’ll be at the game, and I’m feeling all warm and fuzzy towards you already. A nice pleasant win would absolutely hit the spot.

Let’s celebrate Playoff Car Flag Day in style.

Love,

Kate

5 Responses to “Part Four”


  1. 1 Heather B March 24, 2010 at 7:35 pm

    Aww. I never knew you were saving this for the playoffs! That’s awesome. I need one of those actually. Back when we bought ours the only option was the slug.

  2. 2 Alfie March 24, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    Hahaa…great post Kate, I couldn’t agree more. Car flags are definitely playoffs-only, springtime hockey material. They should never see a snowflake.

    Speaking of full circle, I only found your blog because of the Sens-Sabres series from three years ago, and now a rematch looks like a decent bet for Round 1!

    I better find my car flag.

  3. 3 Amy March 24, 2010 at 8:29 pm

    That is a spiffy looking car flag, Kate.

  4. 4 mcguffers March 24, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    You know what else you need? A “Goose” hat! New Era made some and the proceeds go to Camp Good Days. (You can even get it signed by Gaustad at Anderson’s Frozen Custard tomorrow night!)

  5. 5 karen March 24, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    Where do I get an Aunt Mary who lives in Minnesota and sends perfect Sabres car flags?!? We had a slug one but it flew to tatters one season (we fly it as often as possible just to irk the Devils fans who live around us down here).


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

