4 Things

1. LAST NIGHT WAS AWESOME.  I mean, sure, the Sabres sucked ass for 57.5 minutes of the game, but that only made the win sweeter.  It came out of no where.  It came out of no where, and it swept us all up, and it was just joy joy joy.

2. Last night one of the sledge hockey gold medalists spent a few minutes sitting near us in the arena.  He had his gold medal around his neck and it was absolutely mesmerizing.   Before last night I wouldn’t have thought that’d I’d be so interested in looking at a gold medal, but honestly, I could not stop staring at it.  Gold medals are very cool and very awe inspiring.

3. I’m not one to get too frothy about the visiting fans from Canada.  I’ve really got no beef with them, and I also don’t think it says anything negative about Buffalo fans that so many Canadians get their mitts on tickets (except for maybe that Buffalonians are pretty crafty about finding ways to pay for their seasons.  Go us!).  But there is one type of visiting fan that I HATE.  I freaking LOATHE the visiting fans who stand up during play and turn around to mock the Sabres fans surrounding them.  I mean, honestly – that’s just bad manners.  (And I’ll also say, I have NO DOUBT that Sabres fans behave poorly in other arenas.  All I’m saying is that I would never do the stand-up-and-taunt-the-home-fans WHILE PLAY IS GOING ON.  I would not do this because I am not a caveman.)

So, while I wish (most of) the visiting fans no ill will, having them there, and watching them walk out all dejected made that win so much more fun. Ole oleoleole……

4. Alright, I’m really not sure what to do about the car flag now.  Last night when it looked like the Sabres were headed to certain, humiliating defeat, Mike Harrington accused me via Twitter of cursing the Sabres with my early car flag installation.  I bravely held my ground, but I’ll admit, I was rattled.  I did put the flag on a tad early.

But then the Sabres won!  In hilarious fashion (my favorite kind of win)!

I feel like the Hockey Gods sent me some seriously mixed messages last night, and I’m totally confused.  Did the Sabres miraculously win in spite of the car flag, or, did the car flag actually propel them to hilarious victory?

I just want to do the right thing here, and then I want to stick to The System.

I need your help.

I’ll do whatever you guys tell me to do.

23 Responses to “4 Things”


  1. 1 ScottyMCSSProSportsDaily March 25, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Guilty.

    When attending a game in Tampa a couple years ago, the Sabres went up by a couple goals and I did a disrepectful (but very smooth) butt dance to the people in our area.

    Mind you, we were in a “box” and they would only serve clams and champagne. NO BEER.

    So they had it coming. Right?

  2. 2 Katebits March 25, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    WHAT?! Oh, they TOTALLY had it coming! NO BEER?!

    I was actually referring to a couple of guys who were taunting with no real reason last night. They were taunting NOT after goals, but after, like, an icing call. Irritating and distracting. I don’t expect visiting fans to hold back on the butt dances after a goal. I’m not THAT much of a prude. :D

  3. 3 ms.conduct March 25, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Leave it. The hockey gods were just giving you a rap on the knuckles with that nailbiter, but ultimately, they get it and it’s all good.

  4. 4 Mike March 25, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    If you take down the car flag, Harrington wins. Is that what you want? Is it?

  5. 5 Katebits March 25, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    NOOOOOOOO! That is SUCH a good point, Mike.

  6. 6 sallypants March 25, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    I saw someone walking around downtown in an Oilers jersey yesterday. What was up with that?

  7. 7 cd_randall March 25, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    I like the way you say no where instead of nowhere.

  8. 8 Katebits March 25, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Heh…..I can’t say that was on purpose, cd_randall. (Why can’t spell check catch it when I’m just being an airhead?!) But I’ll leave it like that, for you. :D

  9. 9 Grrrreg March 25, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    Personally, as a habs fan, I’m upset by the way they blew that game. But these obnoxious visiting fans had it coming, so I won’t complain.

  10. 10 Rebecca March 25, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Can Scotty post a video of himself doing a butt dance? I’m hella curious now to see what one looks like.

  11. 11 Amy March 25, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    I started reading this aloud to my father and I hadn’t even finished reading option #1 on the poll before he started agreeing with it.

  12. 12 John March 25, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    Although I may have *inadvertently* spilled some blame in your general direction via Twitter last night, I think you should leave the flag on for Ottawa pursuant to the “shake things up”/positive energy policy that you advocated for the last Sens game. After that, if they win, it stays on; they lose, the Hockey Gods have answered until the playoffs.

    Also, as an experienced away game attender here in D.C., those Habs fans sound way out of their lane. I LOVED it when we drowned out the locals with “Let’s Go Buffalo” in MCI/Verizon Center. It’s harder to do these days, although there are still a lot of corporate/lobbyist tickets among the real Caps fans. But part of my visitor code is not being a jackass. (The rest: Cheer hard and loud, don’t be afraid of genuine exuberance at goals, celebrate regular season wins like it’s happened before, be prepared to take good-natured lumps on the Metro home if you lose, and never hide your jersey to avoid said lumps.)

  13. 13 Caroline March 25, 2010 at 6:27 pm

    I freaking LOATHE the visiting fans who stand up during play and turn around to mock the Sabres fans surrounding them.

    This is why I choose not to go to Sabres-Leafs games anymore.

    Oh and the last game against the Caps (Miller’s first game back after the Olympics) some dude in a Team Canada Crosby jersey had a box of tissues and was handing them out to fans around his seats. Little shit.

  14. 14 Senators Lost Cojones March 25, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    Oh yes, leave it on. By all means. Then again, this might just be a bit of reverse psychology.

    Or…is it??

  15. 15 MFP3 March 25, 2010 at 6:38 pm

    LOL @ SLC

    Dude (SLC) I love that fact you sent me this fine lady’s way. My fond affection for the guys with the mulleted vikings on their jerseys is topped only by my love of the Pearl Street Brewery.

    Katebits – love the site. You should by all means keep the flag on for the Sens game.

    As a Sens season ticket holder living in Toronto I get easily frustrated by those fans you speak of. So I get tix for the Sens in Toronto and do the same thing. Truth be told, I don;t care WHO the laughs are playing, I have a jersey for every other team and the league and will wear it proudly to the ACC every chance I get… er… can afford.

    ~MFP3

  16. 16 Katebits March 25, 2010 at 7:26 pm

    DAAAAAMN YOOOOOU, SLC! DAAAAAAAMN YOU! *shaking fist towards Ottawa* I can’t deal with your psychological warfare.

    John, maybe you’re right about giving it another game before deciding. I mean, if the Sabres manage to win tomorrow, then the flag CLEARLY has the power to defeat some serious dark magiks. If they lose, well…what else is new? The Sabres ALWAYS lose to the Sens.

    Thanks for following SLC’s link to this blog, MFP3! Any friend of Pearl Street Brewery is a friend of mine.

  17. 17 Alfie March 25, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Car flags use their power like drawing money from a bank account. Your flag did influence the game last night, but if you want to blow your savings on relatively minor regular season wins, well, by all means….

  18. 18 Katebits March 25, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    Hm. Interesting. The Sens fans are CLEARLY afraid of the flag’s power. I think we might be on to something, Sabres fans. ACTIVATE YOUR FLAGS BEFORE TOMORROW NIGHT.

  19. 19 MFP3 March 26, 2010 at 7:13 am

    HA! I just happened upon two tickets for tomorrow night’s game!!! W00T! I’ll be able to Alfie’s second period hat trick LIVE!!!

    @Katebits – care to wager a bevvy on the outcome?

  20. 20 MFP3 March 26, 2010 at 7:13 am

    uhhh…. tongiht’s game that is…. wow good thing i’m not ACTUALLY a day behind, that would suck.

  21. 21 Katebits March 26, 2010 at 8:18 am

    MFP3, I accept your challenge. If the Sens fail to win a game against the Sabres tomorrow night, you owe me a bevvy. :D

    I’ll actually (mercifully) be playing a concert tonight, so I will not be in attendance.

  22. 22 MFP3 March 26, 2010 at 8:53 am

    Well then, perhaps it will have to be a PLAYOFF bevvy then. I lucked outm, I get to watch the Sens win tonight, AND I have tix to the April 10th game (which will be Alfie’s 1000th). :D

  23. 23 Shauna March 26, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    If you want to see taunting, go to an Edmonton/Calgary game. It’s not for the weak.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

