Part 5

Dear Sabres,

Man, I sure opened a can of worms with this car flag thing. I’ve decided to keep it on. I’m keeping it on because that’s how the readers voted and because that’s my gut instinct, but more important than either of those reasons is this: What kind of person removes a joyful car flag out of fear?  When I put the car flag up I did it without a second thought to superstitious protocol.  I just put the car flag up because I was in a good mood.  I think removing it now would be terribly cowardly.  I made my choice two days ago, and I did so with a spring in my step and joy in my heart.  Surely the Hockey Gods cannot frown upon such enthusiasm.

What I’ve really learned from Car Flag-Gate is that I’m ready to turn the page on the whole “analyze and debate” portion of the season, and get on with the, “Just cross our fingers and hope for the best” phase.  We fans can debate and discuss your chances all we want, but the wheels of the post season are already in motion, so, I’m going to just go with it.

Installing the car flag is very indicative of current mood:  Eff reason and decorum, it’s time to start cheering for the Sabres.

Now, about this game with Ottawa.  Listen guys, I think you need to win this game.  I realize I’ve been saying this about every game for weeks, but…..for real now.  The Ottawa fucking Senators are NOT as good at hockey as you.  YOU ARE BETTER THAN THEM.  Tonight you have the chance to clinch a playoff spot, but even more importantly you have the chance to shake the retarded-monkey-that-is-the-Senators off your back.  Let’s not wait for the post-sesaon.  Let’s beat them into submission now.  Isn’t always losing to them getting irritating?

This is not a must-win.  This is a Holy Shit It Would Feel Good To Win. You should win tonight for the sake of winning.  Because it would feel good, and because the Senators are monumentally less awesome than you.  You should start the post season by ending this dumb “thing” you have with the Sens.

I won’t be at the game.  Me, my viola, and my car flag will be in Williamsville playing a concert tonight.  But, I know you can do it.

Let’s Go Buff-a-lo!

love,

Katebits

11 Responses to “Part 5”


  1. 1 MFP3 March 26, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    Oh Katebits… dear dear Katebits. you realise by placing a wager on this game you have doomed your team to lose. Moreover, the hockey Gods tend to frown upon betting, and then praying.

    See, I am not praying for a win. I am praying for a playoff bevvy, and there-in lies the difference.

    GO SENS GO!

  2. 2 Katebits March 26, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    I placed NO wager on this game. I would NEVER do such a thing. I agree comPLETEly that the Hockey Gods would frown upon such things. I placed a wager on a game TOMORROW. If the Sens fail to beat the Sabres tomorrow, you owe ME a bevvy. READ THE FINE PRINT, SENS FAN. :P

    WOOOOOOOOOO!

  3. 3 Senators Lost Cojones March 26, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    The Ottawa fucking Senators are NOT as good at hockey as you.

    Actually, Katebits, the word you wanted there was “goaltending” not “hockey”.

    And while that may (or may not) be true, I do know we’d totally kick your ass in a Swedish Meatball cook-off!

    BORK!

  4. 4 MFP3's Legal Team March 26, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    Although MFP3 spoke inaccurately regarding the actual date of the game being wagered upon, the theoretical argument of winning versus losing and the stated gains based upon that outcome are binding to tonight’s game.

    We would also like it noted that MFP3 had not had his morning coffee, and thusly is not liable for any inappropriate or illegal behaviour at or before approximately 10:13 am Eastern Standard Time.

    That is all.

  5. 5 MFP3's March 26, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    LOL @ SL-MF’N-C

  6. 6 Katebits March 26, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Well, I can’t argue with you there. You guys would win the Swedish Meatball cook-off for sure (unless Tallinder has some hidden talents). We even have to go to Canada to get to IKEA. Bork, indeed.

    Actually, Katebits, the word you wanted there was “goaltending” not “hockey”.

    Either one works for me. :)

  7. 7 Senators Lost Cojones March 26, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    I have no idea why I felt the need to capitalize either swedish or meatball…

  8. 8 Katebits' Legal Team March 26, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Katebits’ made no legally binding wager on tonight’s game, but regardless, this is a matter for the Hockey Gods, not the legal courts. The bevvy shall go to the most pure of heart….which is Katebits, not MFP3.

  9. 9 Katebits March 26, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    I have no idea why I felt the need to capitalize either swedish or meatball…

    Your psychological warfare is just confusing me now…..

  10. 10 MFP3 March 26, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    “Katebits’ made no legally binding wager on tonight’s game, but regardless, this is a matter for the Hockey Gods, not the legal courts. The bevvy shall go to the most pure of heart….which is Katebits, not MFP3.”

    Touché

  11. 11 Jillian March 26, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    I’m wearing my “the goose is loose” hat for luck, because I think we are really going to need it…haha


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

