Organists Unite!

Okay, now that I’ve had a few hours away from the hockey game, I’m feeling considerably less mopey, and I want to tell you about something I learned at the game today.

I think I have mentioned before that I sit right next to the organ in the arena.  Like, RIGHT next to the organ.  So, today we got to talking to Tim, the guy who plays the organ.  (Actually, Tim is one of two guys who play the organ at Sabres games.  The other guy is Ken.)  We talked about the Sabres, and being musicians in Buffalo, and how Tim’s daughter reads TWC (Isn’t that cool?!  Hi, Erin!), and how hard it is to plan your gigs when you don’t KNOW THE DARN PLAYOFF SCHEDULE, and how the Sabres should play less loud pop music in the arena and more hardcore organ shredding.  Over the course of the conversation, Tim let a REALLY charming and interesting bit of behind-the-scenes information slip.

Get THIS:

At some point a few years ago, one of the NHL organists (I think he said the Carolina organist, but I’m not sure I’m remembering that correctly), decided that all the NHL organists should be BFFs.  So, he started an email list, and they keep each other informed of all the organ-related goings-on in the NHL.  Tim just called it an “email list” but you know me, I’m assuming that they all email each other all day long, talking smack about each other’s teams and gossiping about one other.  The email list ALONE was hugely interesting to me, but then Tim told me that the NHL ORGANISTS HAVE A FANTASY HOCKEY LEAGUE.

Isn’t that the best thing you have ever heard?

Private to NHL organists: Tim gave me permission to write about this, so if any of you are reading this blog post and are outraged that I am spilling the beans about your [super rad] secret society, you can take it up with him. :)

12 Responses to “Organists Unite!”


  1. 1 Kathleen April 17, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    Heh, that IS totally awesome. And hey, they’re in a great position to size up the candidates.

  2. 2 Mary April 18, 2010 at 12:18 am

    Eryn is one of my really close friends, and we’ve talked about TWC a lot before, so this is awesome!

  3. 3 sallypants April 18, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Wow! When I was at the game on Thursday I was thinking to myself about how the organist was probably a super duper cool guy. Sounds like they all are…

  4. 4 katie April 18, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    my uncle randy was offered an organist job back in the day- pretty sure it was still marine midland back then, but he declined and i was like WHATTTTTTTT I H8 U.

    /cool story bro

    lol organists are awesome.

  5. 5 Matt April 18, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    Apparently one of the guys at work is friends with Ken. Not sure how I know that, but I think it’s cool. And that fantasy league if freakin’ sweet!

  6. 6 Katebits April 18, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    Yay! Say hi to Eryn (and thanks for reading TWC) from me, Mary!

  7. 7 TheTick April 19, 2010 at 6:20 am

    I love that they have a custom jersey for them to wear.

  8. 8 Paul Cartier November 11, 2010 at 12:16 am

    I’m the organist for the NY Islanders (and NY Yankees). I have to agree, it is cool that we all talk to each other AND have a fantasy hockey league! We even get to meet each other one in a while. I’ve emailed with both Tim and Ken from the Sabres.. The most interesting probably when Ken did the keyboard at the Annual New Years Classic outdoor game.. How he actually had snow on the keyboard and his fingers were FROZEN.. but it was very cool anyway!
    I was surprised at how many of us are actually FANS of the game.. I thought I was unique that way but many if not all of us are really into our teams. A great “fraternity” to be part of..

  9. 9 David "Keyplayer" May January 1, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Hi there,
    My name is David Thomas May nicknamed “KEYPLAYER” for the Flyers! A diehard fan. As Paul Cartier mentioned above we all enjoy the game very much and it is a really cool job to have. Playing in the Stanley Cup Finals last year was an awesome experience. Thanks for this blog and the interest! Anything I can do to help please email.
    Enjoy!
    David Thomas May

  10. 10 Katebits January 2, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    Hi Keyplayer and Paul! I can’t tell you how much it thrills me that NHL organists have seen this post! I’m a professional musician myself (I play the viola in the Buffalo Philharmonic), so please know that I am a loyal fan of you guys. My season tickets happen to be right next door to the organ in HSBC arena, and the proximity to the organ is a MAJOR selling point for my friends. Thank you so so much for stopping in here and commenting on this post.

    I should put my thinking cap on and see if I can come up with any fun organist-related blogging. Stay tuned!

  11. 11 Sandy Brown RN; CYC February 8, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    I am helping a friend Paul Stevenson in Florida find his cousin Bradley Scott who used to play organ for the Canuks. Any idea where he might be ?? I will look for any help here then give an e-mail address. Thanks sandy

  12. 12 Danny February 12, 2011 at 10:56 pm

    Can you tell me where the organ is located in Buffalo. I’d like to sit near it when I go to a game.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

