11 Things

1. I feel some obligation to try to cheer you guys up, but I’m not going to lie, I don’t have much in the tank today.  That was a gen-u-wine heartbreaker last night.  My heart feels gen-u-winely heavy, and my mood is gen-u-winely grim. I’ve decided to award myself one day of wallowing before I brush myself off and try to muster up some enthusiasm for game 5. Today is that day. Sorry, guys.

2. I just need to take one moment for a minor temper tantrum.  WHAT THE HELL, HOCKEY GODS?!  This is not how this was supposed to go. *crosses arms and stomps foot*

3. I have a million things to say about the game, but I’m going to try to keep it brief:  I thought for the most part the Sabres played well last night.  They got royally screwed by the refs on a few calls, but I also think the Sabres should be tough enough to kill those penalties and use the PK to get the momentum back.  The Bruins also played well, and Tuukka Rask is definitely no slouch.  The biggest problem with last night’s game (besides the fact that we have Connolly, Roy, and Pominville on our team) is that it was, in essence, a must-win.  The Sabres played poorly in games 2 and 3, so game 4 was a must-win.  Taken at face value (even taking the lost 2-goal lead into account), last night was probably one of those “You can’t win ‘em all” games.  You really CAN’T win them all, which is why you HAVE to win the ones you can.  (I’M LOOKING AT YOU, GAMES 2 and 3.  I’M LOOKING RIGHT AT YOU.)

If the game hadn’t felt like a punch SQUARE TO THE MOST SENSITIVE AREA OF MY HEART, I’d be able to admit that it was a hell of a game.  But, since I’m still smarting and clutching my chest in anguish 16 hours later, I have to give that game two big thumbs down.

So, screw you, game.

4. Honestly, I thought Lindy’s postgame was kind of embarrassing.  There were bad calls last night, FOR SURE, and I assume he was just trying to protect his players, but…. “Case closed”?  Really?  Case closed?   The only way “case closed” would’ve worked as a closing zinger is if Lindy had pulled a little judge’s gavel out of his pocket and slammed the table with it.  Now THAT, I could respect…. at the very least for its comedic value.

5. On the bright side- Tyler Ennis looked great.  I actually found myself thinking, “It’s too bad we don’t have anyone good enough to play with that guy!”

6. How freaking much could we have used Jochen Hecht last night?  DAMN HIM AND HIS GIRLY FINGERS. *shaking fist at the sky*

7. If the Sabres go on to lose this series, (which…you know….) I’m going to be really heartbroken for Ryan Miller.  And not to pick at old wounds, but GODDAMN IT I wish he had won that gold medal.  I think the Sabres would be easier to deal with now if I knew that Crunchy already had a gold medal at home.  I want that guy to be rewarded.  I don’t want him to be sad.

8. I’m sorry this post is so cranky and not funny.  I really am.

9. Whenever I’m feeling surly like this, I have a few videos I like to watch to perk me back up. Here are some of my favorites, all of which I’ve already posted on TWC in the past. Desperate times call for desperate measures.


I used to have this downloaded onto my computer in super high resolution. I could watch it in full screen and it looked amazing. I somehow lost the file, and I can’t seem to find a place to download it anywhere, but this is a pretty good YouTube version of the Sony Bravia bouncy ball commercial.


This one NEVER ever ever fails to make me laugh.  EVER.  I just love it so much.


Hockey Night in Canada on the ukulele


Another one of my all-time favorite things on the internet.

10. It’s really a shame that the Sabres are so down and out, because my playoff beard has grown in so well.

11. Okay, now that I’ve bitched a bit, watched a few videos, and considered life without this dumb beard, I actually do feel a little better.  Writing a blog can be such good therapy.  The Sabres are not eliminated yet.  We’re beaten down, bedraggled, and SERIOUSLY cranky, but we’re not dead yet.  Hopefully we can win tomorrow, but if we’re going to go down in 5, let’s at least maim some Bruins on the way out.

Let’s go Buff-a-lo.

5 Responses to “11 Things”


  1. 1 Gambler April 22, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    I can’t fault you for hating the game for punching you right in the most sensitive part of the heart. I somehow managed to soften the blow during OT last night when I kept repeating to myself, “No matter how this game ends, this is SO MUCH better than being in 9th place again!” Never mind the fact that the Sabres shouldn’t have let it get to that point, those overtime periods (actually basically everything from the tying goal on) was damned great playoff hockey. It was no 2007 ECF game 3, that’s for sure. And for that, I have a hard time hating it. So I guess I’ve taken the stance opposite yours: even though this game punched me in the heart, I can’t hate it because it was so awesome. I’m not sure which one is healthier…

    Re: Tyler Ennis, I agree wholeheartedly! He literally left my mouth hanging open when he managed to receive his own pass along the blue line, leaving two Bruins in his dust. Kid’s got speed.

    Re: Jochen Hecht and his girly fingers, don’t even get me started. I’ll never understand why he has to miss games for injuries to his hands; it’s not like he’s known for his finesse. And anyway, for a guy with stone hands, they sure are fragile. Joking aside, though, he looked so sad when they showed him up in the press box during game 1 with his hand all bandaged up. Like a little puppy recently returned from the vet. I can’t be mad at him after that.

    Re: maiming a Bruin, please let it be Chara.

  2. 2 Kitten April 22, 2010 at 7:00 pm

    AWESOME BEARD!!!

  3. 3 Gambler April 22, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    In the interest of expanding your list of pick-me-ups… Today one of my third graders made the following very sincere Earth Day pledge: “I will use used books, because they save trees and don’t kill as many squids for ink.” It definitely put a smile on my face.

  4. 4 Schnookie April 22, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    I will use used books, because they save trees and don’t kill as many squids for ink.

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! Wow! That’s a FANTASTIC pick-me-up!

    And Katebits, while I can’t really comment on the Sabres game, I can thank you for posting that wonderful Sony commercial (totally an all-time fave) and the wiener dog. ::Happy sigh:: I love wiener dogs in booties. :D

  5. 5 Katebits April 22, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    “I will use used books, because they save trees and don’t kill as many squids for ink.”

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: OMG, I had NO idea that they killed squids for ink! Thank GOD I publish a blog on the intertubes where NO squids have been harmed.

    Schnookie, wiener dogs in booties can accomplish so much. :D


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

