3 Things

1. Before this series began, I didn’t really think the Sabres would win the Cup, but I also hadn’t given any thought to how the end would look.  Satan’s OT goal forced me consider the “end” for the first time, and it wasn’t pretty. I’m so happy that the Sabres won game five, not just because it was an elimination game, but because that was NO way for the end to look.

I was miserable thinking that the Sabres might go out with a sad, sad whimper, but I feel a lot better now.  The decisive win cured me of my weariness, and now I feel prepared for anything.

2. Win one more game, Sabres!

One hilarious side effect of being down 3-1 has been my sudden and complete devotion to the expression, “one game at a time.” I’m like Pommerdoodle over here, constantly spouting sports clichés. I don’t think I ever really understood the true meaning of “one game at a time” until it became my lifeline between games 4 and 5. Now I’m a believer, and I’ll bite your head off if you talk too much about “game seven”. The will of the Hockey Gods is ONE. GAME. AT. A. TIME. This is how it must be.

3. I’m pleased and shocked to report that there is GRASS growing where I sprinkled the grass seed on my lawn.  I know.  It’s a miracle.

1 Response to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Grrrreg April 26, 2010 at 6:24 am

    It’s the third time I see my team down 3-1 in a series. They overcame it once, and were eliminated the other one. They also almost blew a 3-1 series lead. I’m a FIRM believer of the one-game-at-a-time thing.

    And about the eventual “end” of the season, this is something I’ve thought about before the playoffs started. The playoffs are really the best thing about hockey, but for 94% of the fanbases involved, it has to end in a painful way. It’s all about being prepared!

    Go Habs and Sabres!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

