Deep Breath

Okay, I can’t stand the idea that people might get up in the morning, and come here to my blog (possibly for the first time) and find a picture of a sad puppy followed by a post of many lines of “Let’s go Buff-a-lo,” so, I’m going to try to write something using my brain.

Here we go.

Brain….activate!

……You know what?  I can’t use my brain tonight.  I’m going to use my feelings. (I know.  Barf.)

Feelings……activate!

Well, that sucked.  I was hoping for a lot more, and I’m sure you were too. I can’t make heads or tails of the Sabres right now, but I would like to say this:  This year was a lot more fun than last.  Ultimately, it was a disappointment, but hell, I better get used to it because this is what I signed up for when I willingly became a Buffalo sports fan.

Usually I’m one of the first in line to pile on the Sabres when they suck, but I’m just not feeling it tonight.  I need to let the air clear before I kick them when they’re down (the kicks are coming, don’t you worry, dear reader).

Truthfully, I loved this season.  There was more hope this year than I’ve ever experienced before as a Sabres fan.  There was the sense that this is a team that’s improving.  There were season tickets!  (Sorry, that one is a little Katebits-specific)  There was inspired goaltending.  There was a killer rookie.  And most importantly, there was a playoff car flag.

The end came too soon.  That’s for sure.  We have maaaany weeks to discuss the-end-that-came-too-soon.

Tonight I just want to say, thank you for coming to this blog and for sharing your thoughts about this (irksome) team.  I am good and bummed, but I love the Sabres, and I love sharing my experiences as a fan with my fellow Buffalonians.

(PS- Stay away from Twitter tonight because it’s really surly in there.)

(PPS- We can start firing everyone tomorrow.  And I do mean EVERYONE [except Myers, Ennis, Goose, Miller, and Vanek.]  If we can’t fire them, we’ll trade them all for Iginla.

(PPS- Tomorrow we can also being begging Mike Grier not to leave us in Buffalo, alone with these bozos.  Please don’t leave, Mike Grier.  Please, please, please don’t leave.)

9 Responses to “Deep Breath”


  1. 1 aristeia April 26, 2010 at 10:59 pm

    I think I went from “surly” to desperate to depressed to violent to dejected to hopeful to miserable to god only knows. However, I always enjoy your blog… whether we’re happy or sad. So glad I found it.

  2. 2 Katebits April 26, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Yeah, I think this one is going to take a few days to work through, aristeia. Stupid hockey. I’m glad you found the blog too! Thanks for coming.

  3. 3 SueInVA April 27, 2010 at 6:37 am

    It’s funny but I can’t get to worked up about this. It was a good season. They are not ready for a long playoff run but we all knew (or should have known) that.

    Watching the young guys gives me hope for the future. I also (and this is the weird part) am hoping that Connolly has finally gotten to that place Hecht and Tallinder got to last summer. He has to improve. When a rookie (Ennis) can take your job away, you just really need to look at yourself, hire Tallinder’s sports psychiatrist, spend a month in Spain with the Hecht’s and video tape of quality centers, or something. Do you hear me TIMMY!!

    Dear Sabres management: Please convince Mike Grier to stay another year! And go draft some more players like the Tylers!!!

  4. 4 MFP3 April 27, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Well Well Katebits… I’m sorry your season had to end this way. It’s never good when you have high hopes for your team and they are dashed far earlier than you expect. Your boys played well, just not well enough (I can relate).

    We’ll see you next season, when we have duelling 6’6 Dmen under 21

    Enjoy the offseason, and at least we can BOTH feel good that Kaberle has already hit a single digit handicap he’s been on the course so long.

  5. 6 mcguffers April 27, 2010 at 11:09 am

    A picture of a sad puppy and many lines of “Let’s Go Buffalo” is coincidentily what I turned in for a senior project. Probably explains why I’m back in school…

    Let’s Go [insert name of team playing Bruins]!!!

  6. 7 Grrrreg April 27, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Awww, I’m sorry Kate… The Sabres deserved better this season.

    I’m really glad you got to enjoy the playoffs for the first time, though. Hopefully next year you’ll get to enjoy the SECOND round (and beyond) as well! :)

  7. 8 saranack April 27, 2010 at 12:17 pm

    This blog has been the best addition to the Sabres since Ryan Miller. Thanks, and glad you’re not giving up.

  8. 9 Pyncsoybeassy January 5, 2012 at 2:06 am

    Are you looking for fun and simple ways to bail someone out extra money? Would you like to lay away cash in search special purchases or favorite activities? Reserve subsidiary capital for spending, unexpected expenses, and pecuniary range can be mirth as luxuriously as easy. “Set” resources bread and change-over games are the answer.

    Here are ten of my favorite banknotes games. free games Though most of us be suffering with saved our alter in a container at some opportunity or another, these variations are more joy, and because of that, from time to time more profitable. You probably resolve appear c rise up with some clever variations of your own when you foresee legitimate how personal property these filthy lucre games can be!

    Dollar Bills Rank – Obtain minuscule slips of sheet a documents labeled $1 or $2 or “Enlarge”, along with the esteem of the scratch goals you are working on. Exchange for archetype, you might from slips that estimate something like: $2 Superb Coul‚e operate, $1 Convection oven, $1 Fancy restaurant dinner, $2 Emergency fund, etc. Delineate a expose on stable days of the week, and toss the amount in your filch savings container or budget account. If you position “Ambiguous”, tug another slip and tender twice the amount showing assisting that goal.

    Coins Draw – Make slips of deed labeled with your goals as in the Dollar Bills Draw. Rather than of dollar amounts, symbol them with change amounts such as $.05, $.10, $.25, or $.50. Inhale a slip on some or every time of the week.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

