Final Analysis

Is anyone else feeling a surprising lack of fiery rage/disappointment over the end of the Sabres season?  I keep starting and stopping serious-minded posts where I attempt to dissect the Sabres and their playoff appearance, but honestly, I’m just not that inspired by any of it.

I had fun this season.  You can’t win ‘em all, you know?

14 Responses to “Final Analysis”


  1. 1 Katebits April 29, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    I mean, don’t get me wrong, I see the problems the Sabres have, and I really hope that they fix those problems. My expectations are low though, so in the end it’s kind of like, “Well…what are ya gonna do? At least it’s sunny outside.”

  2. 3 Katebits April 29, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Okay, phew. You and me, Capsworth! I worked on a big long annoying post for half an hour before on an impulse I posted this. My heart’s just not in it for some reason. This is kind of a new feeling for me. I assume the fiery, exaggerated-rage will return eventually. Heh. (Maybe I should go listen to that Larry/Darcy/Lindy press conference…..)

  3. 4 Katebits April 29, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    I should also say that this BRILLIANT (that’s sarcasm) post is largely inspired by a brief Twitter conversation I had with Paul from Hockey Rhetoric last night. Basically, he was all, “People are getting CRAZY pissed off about the Sabres. These people perplex me.” After thinking about that for a few minutes I was all, “Seriously. I think the Sabres should fire almost everyone on their current payroll, but there’s really no reason to let that ruin my day.” So, thanks, Paul. :P

  4. 5 James April 29, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Who needs them all?

    I’ll settle for one Cup win.

    ;)

  5. 6 SueInVA April 29, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    I’m there with you!
    I expected them to make the playoffs but I didn’t expect them to go far. I really just wanted them to be better than they were last year. So while I wish they had beaten the Bruins I’m not crazed because they didn’t. They are a better team and it appears that they will be even better next year with the addition of Ennis so all in all I’m just wishing it was October! :D

    (Not that I want to skip the summer so I will so outside, enjoy the sunshine and keep busy so the summer passes quickly!)

  6. 7 SueInVA April 29, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    One more thing …

    I might be a crazy homer, never say anything wrong about the team kind of person but I got a bit teary eyed when Lindy said (again) his objective is the “win the cup in Buffalo”. So, get back to work Lindy!

  7. 8 Jillian April 29, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    I was more sad than mad that the season was over, and I realized I actually wanted to see MORE play from these bums! Is that crazy or what??

  8. 9 PKB April 29, 2010 at 5:53 pm

    You’re very welcome, Kate! I certainly wasn’t talking at all about you, more along the lines of wack-jobs like Howard Simon (who is more a fan than a reporter/commentator). I heard him say with great intensity Tuesday morning that the Sabres should cut Tim Connolly and I thought that was just a HUGE overreaction. That’s just what goes through my head at least when I hear things like that.

  9. 10 Steve April 30, 2010 at 7:47 am

    I think if the Sabres had told fans at the beginning of the year, “We plan to win the division but then lose a close series to the Bruins.” people would have been like, “Meh, at least we make the playoffs.”

  10. 11 Mark B April 30, 2010 at 8:14 am

    Kate, I so agree! I was really bummed for a day or two, but then all of a sudden I thought, “I really enjoyed this season!” We had the emergence of Tyler Myers, The stardom of Ryan Miller and the return of Mike Grier (who I totally latched onto after not even liking that much last time). And after watching Ennis and Gerbe and hearing all the encouraging news about Kassian and Adam, I’m really looking forward to next year already!

    Of course I want changes, namely getting rid of Connolly and Stafford, and I think we absolutely have to address this power play…but after the last two years, this season was a joy.

    That being said, they better make it past the first round next year or I’ll be pissed :)

  11. 12 Ed From Upstate April 30, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    I am outraged Katebits, not by your lack of commentary, but by the lack of last minute death defying heroics by our Sabres. I sat in awe after the Montreal Game. I watched my Sabres score last 3 minute goals all season to tie games into futile overtime shootouts in which Al Kotalik watched highlights and chuckled. Where in the name of the Hockey Gods did that team go…. Tyler ennis for President and Captain!

    May Tuuka Rask pull a groin in game 2!

    E Out!

  12. 13 kitten April 30, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    Let it go baby. Let it go. Take a page from Ryan Miller’s book “outside interests”. Go to the library and get out every DVD of every HBO series ever made and distract yourself from the “H” word for the next five months.

  13. 14 berlingot April 30, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    or knit a sweater. don’t forget the Stanley Cup of Knitting.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

