2 Things

1. (Mike and Elise, please turn away)

I don’t think I realized how badly I wanted the Bruins to suffer until it happened.  Boy, did that feel good.  I don’t understand the people who say stuff like, “I want the team that knocks the Sabres out to do well, because at least then we know the Sabres lost to a genuinely good team.”  That kind of crazy talk is CRAZY, spoken by crazies who wear crazypants.  I don’t care what it says about the Sabres that they lost to a bunch of sucks like the Bruins.

Seeing the Bruins choke, and choke so spectacularly, filled my heart with pure joy, and it went a loooong way towards making the playoffs a safe-space again.  Catharsis, thy name is “Bruins, Epic Collapse.”

2. Not only was watching the Bruins good for my general disposition, but it somehow made me willing to think about the Sabres again.  Seeing the Bruins go out put a final bookend on the Sabres’ season.

When the Sabres first lost, I needed a break.  I didn’t want to think about them, and I didn’t want to analyze them, and I didn’t want to hear about them.  I stopped reading Sabres blog posts and articles, and I never got around to watching their exit interviews.  I simply wasn’t in the mood.  I wasn’t, like, devastated or furious, I was just done with the Sabres.

I so thoroughly tuned out the Sabres that the other day when I read something that referenced their powerplay I actually had a moment of, “HOLY CRAP, THE SABRES DIDN’T SCORE A SINGLE POWERPLAY GOAL IN THAT BOSTON SERIES!”.  I had literally forgotten, and I had the unfortunate experience of remembering.  The dark days of watching their futile powerplay feel like MONTHS ago.

But I’m slowly coming back.  I’m curious about the draft and free agency.  I’m regaining my interest in firing all the Sabres (or shooting them from a rocket into the sun).  I’m getting more and more willing to entertain outlandish trade proposals just for the fun of it on Twitter.

I’m back, baby!  (Maybe.)  (I dunno….we’ll see.)

8 Responses to “2 Things”


  1. 1 Kathleen May 17, 2010 at 8:43 am

    The Flyers-Bruins series could not have been better designed to make Sabres fans feel a little better. First the Flyers, despite thir considerable firepower, couldn’t put anything past Rask. Rask is obviously a goalie-bot manufactured in Finland and tasked with destroying more offensively talented teams (which would be… every team other than the Bruins). Then the Bruins choked but hard, they handed a tandem shutout to two career backups (and I love them both so much), and they lost the series on a too-many-men penalty. PERFECT. And to the Flyers, who played unlikely heroes already on the last day of the season when they put the Rangers out of the playoffs (and the way they did that was pretty poetic too). They are disgusting, but I love them so. The Sabres didn’t suck that hard; they just caught the Bruins at their peak and right after Rask got a fresh tune up. It doesn’t make all the bad feelings go away, but it helps a lot.

  2. 2 Mark B May 17, 2010 at 8:45 am

    The Bruins collapse helped me tons too. I was still watching the playoffs and thinking about the Sabres, but my heart wasn’t into it.

    You know what? I think I prefer being upset 4-2 in the first round (as disappointing as that was) than winning in the first round, going up 3-0 in the 2nd round and then being up 3-0 AT HOME in game 7 and losing. My God, that must be painful. They were a win away from the conference finals and couldn’t win a game!

    Seeing a downcast Claude Julien was a salve to my shattered soul.

  3. 3 Jonathan May 17, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Whats best about it, was that the series fell apart when Krejci got hurt. It was like Karma payback for the slash on Vanek. Oh and Simon Gagne came back and played like the old Simon Gagne. Or Thomas Vanek swapped bodies with Gagne, and came back in time to stick it to the Bruins.

    That was probably the biggest choke job in sports.

  4. 4 Caroline May 17, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    I feel the same way about the Sabres. I was really upset that they were bounced in the first round, then I came around and realized all in all it was a good season despite the early exit. Now I’m just sort of done with them until next season. I don’t miss them, I’m not upset over the loss, I’m just ready to take a break from devoting my life to them until they come back next season. It sort of feels good! A little vacation from being a Sabres fan. But I’m sure around August I’ll be jonesing for Sabres hockey and I’ll be counting down the days until October.

  5. 5 Grrrreg May 17, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Schadenfreude baby! It’s sad, but it works.

  6. 6 elise May 18, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    Thanks for the spoiler alert, Kate! Glad to play a part in your return to hockey!!

  7. 7 elise May 18, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    p.s. well, not as glad as winning the Stanley Cup, but glad all the same.

  8. 8 lifeinspoons May 19, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    Every time I hear the words “Too many men on the ice” I laugh all over again. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

