6 Things

1. You guys, I am LOVING basketball right now.  I know.  It’s WEIRD and WONDERFUL.  Hockey has been getting me down, and just when I thought I’d turn off the television for the summer, I found the basketball playoffs.  Basketball is this whole other sport, with teams I know nothing about, and unlike baseball, I don’t have to watch hundreds of games before it gets exciting.  Basketball is already in the PLAYOFFS.  The teams are trying as hard as they can right now. The NBA is my new broad-shouldered boyfriend.

2. If I wasn’t already disinterested in the Stanley Cup Finals before, I sure am now.  The space-out scheduling is KILLING me.  At some point in the last week, my brain flipped to “summer” and summer does not have hockey.  So, see ya in October, NHL.

3. I’m mostly kidding.  I’ll probably keep one eye on the NHL Finals, but I doubt I’ll enjoy them.  You see, I just haven’t warmed to either of these teams.  I can’t quite put my finger on why, but I don’t like the Blackhawks.  They think they’re so cute and they get on my nervies.   And the Flyers…

4. …I thought I was prepared for the Flyers to win the Eastern Conference, but it turns out I wasn’t.  I don’t hate the Flyers like  the rest of Buffalo.  Honestly, I don’t hate them at all.  Sure, they’re gross, but so are a lot of teams.  My feelings about the Flyers are personal.  You see, I lived in Philadelphia for four years.  I like Philly, and I like Philadelphians.  The truth is, I’m seething with jealousy. I can’t bring myself to cheer for the Flyers because I cannot claim them as my own, but they’re just too close.  I don’t particularly enjoy cheering against Philadelphia, but I’m too jealous to enjoy their success.  Basically, the Flyers make me really uncomfortable.  EFF THE FLYERS.

5. ALSO, EFF THE BLACKHAWKS.  (Do you see my dilemma?)

6. Here is my new baby.  It’s a flower garden!  Just LOOK at all these luscious flowers!

I know what you’re thinking right now.  You’re thinking, “I am seething with jealousy.  Katebits’ flower garden is so magnificent that it makes me uncomfortable.”

All I can say is, I’m sorry.  I didn’t intend to grow such an intimidating garden, but I guess I just couldn’t help it.  I’m too good at gardening.  I’m just too good.

10 Responses to “6 Things”


  1. 1 Susan Barnes May 27, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Kate, you’re amazing! Your tweets and posts never cease to amaze me. Even though we hung out for three years in college I feel like I didn’t know you at all then and you are so multifaceted and so damn cool. WTF?

    I just want to say thanks. Thanks for your creativity. Thanks for your passion. Thanks for your authenticity. Thanks for your sense of humor. Most of all thanks for being you. You ROCK!

    Did I say THANKS?

    Thanks!
    Susan

    P.S. Yes, I am jealous of your garden and wish I knew more about the NHL and the NBA in order to be able to talk smack, but hey, I travel in a digital realm with the occasional real musical gig here and there, so life is still interesting. Come visit me in San Francisco. You’re always welcome.

  2. 2 Katebits May 28, 2010 at 12:17 am

    Oh my gosh, hi Susan! It’s wonderful to hear from you, and thanks for this super nice comment. The internet is a real hoot, isn’t it? I wonder what the Oberlin version of “Katebits” would have been. Heh.

    I would LOVE to visit you in San Francisco- be careful what you offer me. :D I hope you are well and blissfully happy!

  3. 3 Anne May 28, 2010 at 8:22 am

    Your assessment of the Blackhawks and their self-loving ways is spot-on. I really want to like them, but most of them are just so smug.

    If you decide who to cheer for in the Finals, let us all know, because I haven’t decided yet. Both options have serious “yick” involved.

  4. 4 Matt May 28, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    I like Philly, and I like Philadelphians.

    I can’t like you anymore. You’ll be receiving your final letter of adoration in the mail. Please do not contact us at this number again.

    =)

  5. 5 mcguffers May 28, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    Yes, I am completely jealous of your garden! Because it is outside in a yard and not on a window sill in a pot.

    I’m done with hockey til October, too. I just can’t muster up any emotion for the Blackhawks, and I’d only be watching the games to see Jeff Carter get pelted with another beer bottle. If game one had been a billion weeks ago when the ECF ended, I might still be interested, but these craziness called “sunshine and warm weather” has made me quite willing to block Blersus from my tv.

    By the way, I was totally going to leave a fake jealous rant about you shoving your garden in our faces a la the psycho season ticket troll you had awhile ago, but my ‘d’ key is stuck and typing ‘garden’ is a pain right now :D

  6. 6 Shauna May 28, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    You have the ability to write down exactly what I’m feeling. I’ve decided to side with the Hawks(cause I CANNOT cheer for Philly), but not very excited about it. They ARE smug! Eff the playoffs, I’m gardening!

  7. 7 Mike in Idaho May 28, 2010 at 2:54 pm

    Dear Katebits,
    Please don’t fall for the flamboyance and broad shoulders of the NBA. Bettman had compromising pictures of us with Bobby Clarke’s daughters so we had to let the Flyers into the finals. I promise to let Buffalo win the Stanley Cup next year, but remember I am rather fickle.

    Love always,
    The Hockey Gods

  8. 8 pjf-usrt May 28, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    Welcome to the Dark Side and the NBA, we’ve been waiting for you and any other hockey diehards out there willing to follow us.

    Sincerely,

    Hoops junkie in a hockeytown.

  9. 9 frisbee May 29, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    MAN, I hear you about the NBA. And not just because the Celts are the only team from my childhood I still care about. It’s a fake, sweaty, entertaining sport that I’m not tired of by the playoffs because I haven’t really paid any attention at all during the regular season.

    But I can’t help but love the hawks. Patrick Kane’s mullet just makes me so happy.

  10. 10 Susan Barnes June 1, 2010 at 1:55 am

    Be careful what you wish for Kate, the invitation is still open. Seriously. I have a place and you’re welcome to it. And yes, I think you blogging from Oberlin would have been a blast. Pitty the Interweb wasn’t as advanced as you were then.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

