3 Things

1. Can you believe it’s almost draft time already?!  I know!  Where did the year go?

(Just in case you actually lost a year to a coma or something, here’s what happened: The Sabres were surprisingly good, and then the had a bad stretch where the doubters were all, “Told you, they’re the same old team” and the apologists were all, “IT’S JUST A STREAK, YOU MORONS.”  Then the Sabres seemed to have righted the ship, and the apologists pounded their chests in righteous victory.  The Sabres not only won the division but they made it all the way to the end of the season without ever giving up a third period lead.  We rejoiced.   But then they sucked in the playoffs, and they gave up third period leads, like, forty-five times in a row, which left everyone feeling quite angry at Derek Roy and Tim Connolly.  Now, no one ones what’s going on [actually, that's not true.  We know exactly what's going on, we're just not that crazy about the plan], but the only thing we know for sure is that Mike Grier is still a Sabre.  Which is oddly comforting.  Oh, and Crunchy practically won the Olympics singlehandedly.  When I think about the past year like this, I realize the Olympics were the biggest heartbreak.  If I could change one thing about the year, I would will the US team to gold.)

Anyhooch, a year has gone by, and it’s time for Darcy to restock the “prospect” cupboards.  I don’t care that much about the 18-year-olds in the draft, but I do enjoy all the scuttlebutt about potential trades, AND, once we get past the draft, it’s practically free agency day.  The opening of free agency is always a hoot, even when Steve Montador is the big Sabres acquisition.

2. This morning I got up at the CRACK of dawn and watched the Honduras-Chile match with my friend Mike.  To be honest, it was kind of boring (the game, not the company).  The good World Cup-related news is that I now have a VERY annoying vuvuzela iphone app.  After the game was over, Elise came home and Mike made us bacon and popovers.

3. I watched a few minutes of SUI/ESP game while I munched on bacon and popovers, and I really enjoyed Spain’s frustration.  What’s more fun than handsome, frustrated Spaniards?  Good work, Switzerland!

4 Responses to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Ryan June 17, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    I think that sums it up nicely, yeah. Also, I totally agree with you about Team USA. I had the same thought during Game Six, actually. Should have said something, I guess…

  2. 2 Patty June 17, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    Hi Kate! I’m excited to be posting my first comment to your blog even though I have been reading it faithfully for over a year. Thanks for the mention on the iphone vuvuzela app – i can now torture Mike at will! Regarding our boys in blue, heard there is a rumor of Roy or Connelly getting traded to Florida for Nathan Horton. I love this time of year!

  3. 3 SueInVA June 18, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    Thanks for the heads up on the iphone app. I am going to have some fun with that at work on Monday.

  4. 4 Katebits June 19, 2010 at 7:03 am

    Hi Patty(in CT)! I’m proud to have found a Mike-torturing device. I heard that rumor about Horton, and I love it!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

