Tim Kennedy got waived!….for no apparent reason.

Dear Darcy Regier,

Oh Darcy.  Darcy, Darcy, Darcy.

Look, I don’t know what the actual excuse is (maybe Golisano and Larry Quinn are Mean Girl-ing you into being a total bitch), but waiving Tim Kennedy for no apparent reason has got everyone in town scratching their heads.  Tomorrow is a VERY important day for you.   Most people seem to think that the Sabres are just being cheap (and boy would that be cheap) but I’m going to go ahead and give you the benefit of the doubt and assume that you’re just being totally weird.

I’m more or less okay with Tim Kennedy not being on the Sabres next year.  It’s not my favorite move ever, but whatevs.  TK is a scrappy third liner.  This isn’t Ryan Miller we’re talking about.  I know that.  But it makes me very very nervous if the $200,000 difference between what you were reportedly willing to pay Tim Kennedy ($800,000) and the $1 million he was eventually awarded through arbitration is the reason you decided to waive him.  (And just for the record, I’m not poo-pooing $200,000.  I could really use $200,000 actually, and if I had $200,000 I would NOT want to give it to Tim Kennedy.  But still, regardless of my personal relationship with the idea of “$200,000,” $200,000 is not very much money when it comes to professional sports [even dopey little sports like NHL hockey]).

What’s done is done.  Maybe there is a good reason for this, or maybe you just woke up on the wrong side of the bitchy bed this morning, but the one thing I know for SURE is that I’ll be listening to your explanation with extreme interest tomorrow.  To me, this doesn’t feel like a money situation, which means there is something else fairly dishy going on here, and you better BELIEVE I’m more than a little curious.

I hope you are prepared to offer a weird explanation that matches the weirdness-level of this weird decision.

Good luck tomorrow, weirdo.

Katebits

8 Responses to “Tim Kennedy got waived!….for no apparent reason.”


  1. 1 Andrew Meyer August 2, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    I dunno, maybe he is just being super cheap. Maybe the planets are out of alignment so Darcy is acting funny. Maybe he needs his batteries changed. Either way, I kinda like Timmy K and I don’t wanna see him go. He still has a big upside and will likely improve a lot this season. After all, he was a rookie last season. He will be more well adjusted to the NHL level of play and could really find a nice niche on the Sabres.

    Either way, nice post Katebits. We shall see what tomorrow will bring. Hopefully cupcakes.

  2. 2 Kathleen August 2, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    HAH! Darcy has a reason for everything! Okay, fine, I’m not really sure how far Tim Kennedy’s extra 200,000 is going to pay for Shaone Morrison, but I DON’T CARE. We have a real live NHL defenseman! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Viva Darcy!

  3. 3 Katebits August 2, 2010 at 7:38 pm

    THanks Andrew! Cupcakes would be AWESOME!

    Kathleen, I’m not buying Shaone as an explanation for Kennedy, but it DOES feel like Darcy might have something else up his sleeve here. If you count Weber the Sabres have too many defensemen now.

  4. 4 Kathleen August 2, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    I would not buy a Chris Butler jersey right now, that’s for sure.

    (But should we count Weber? I don’t remember the reports, how did he do in prospect camp?)

  5. 5 radoran August 2, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    This move makes absolutely no sense to me. $1M for a 24yo 10-goal scorer, “fan favorite,” local boy with two-way skills and heart? Yes, please.

    I need a Paul Harvey to give me “the rest of the story.”

    I saw speculation the Leafs might pick Kennedy up on waivers. What? They need MORE reasons for cheers for the opposition at Leafs games in HSBC!?

    Even with the Flyers’ cap situation and logjam, I’d go after Kennedy if I was them.

    For a $200K difference, there’s GOT to be more there there.

  6. 6 Kate-O August 3, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    After listening to Darcy’s presser, I definitely think Tom and Larry were Mean Girl-ing him. Unless that’s just what he wants everyone to think so we don’t hate him quite as much.


  1. 1 WTF? « Bob's Chair Trackback on August 3, 2010 at 8:23 am
  2. 2 On Tim Kennedy « Sabre Dance Trackback on August 4, 2010 at 9:12 am

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

