3 Things

1.Well, that was a real clusterfuck.

2. The first thought I had when I woke up this morning was, “I’m so glad Pommerdoodle is not dead or paralyzed.” I was really truly rattled by the “medical emergency” aspect of the game last night. It’s twenty hours later, and I still feel a little off about it. I’m sure Jason Pominville is also feeling a bit off today. Poor guy.

I’ve never seen the stretcher at a game before, and it’s really terrifying.  To be honest, I was a little surprised by how scared I got during the incident.  Major injury is a part of hockey that is easy to ignore until you see one of your favorite guys motionless on the ice, and then it’s very sobering.

I think an incident like this might be a little scarier in the arena than on television. In the arena you’re just sitting there without replays, without Rick Jeanneret, and without commercials for distraction.  Thank goodness for twitter and for texting, because from our seats, we couldn’t see Pommers when he was down on the ice, and we had no idea if he had moved or even regained consciousness.  I’m not sure I could have enjoyed the rest of the game at ALL if Jessica hadn’t texted me and told me that Jason was awake and that he had moved his arms.

Get well soon, P-Doods.

3. I had every intention of writing specifically about the hit, and telling you what I think should happen to Hjalmarsson, and blah blah blah blah, but eff it.

I hated seeing Pominville injured like that- I hated it-  but, I like it when the Sabres hit the other team hard.  The harder, the better.  This is not an easy topic, and there are no easy answers.  Frankly, this whole issue makes me a little uncomfortable about being a hockey fan

So, rather than write about this, I’m going to shut my laptop, I’m going to go put on my ipod, I’m going to go paint my upstairs hallway, and I’m going to be grateful that I’m a violist and not an NHL rule maker.

1 Response to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Kitten October 12, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    WGR has a good interview with Miller about the whole dirty hits issue.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

