Crunchy?

My worldview is being ROCKED TO THE CORE.

Everything about this video is fascinating to me.   Is Ryan Miller being….funny?

Ordinarily when I laugh at Crunchy it’s because he’s doing something unintentionally hilarious by being the most serious person imaginable.  This here?  This is something new.

I’ve never seen Caddyshack (I know, I know, it’s a classic blah blah blah. I’ve also never seen Slap Shot.  YES, YOU HEARD ME RIGHT), so I only have a vague understanding of the character Crunchy is playing here, but still.  I’m amused that a. Ryan Miller’s love of Caddyshack is apparently very genuine, and b. he’s wearing a funny hat and and lugging around a big hose, and c. HE’S OBVIOUSLY LOVING THIS GIG.

I really truly don’t know what to make of this.

Honestly, it’s almost impossible for me to believe that Crunchy is capable of this type of lighthearted tomfoolery.  Maybe the video is CGI?  It has to be CGI, right?  RIGHT?!

You know, now that I think about it, I bet this project has been meticulously planned for years.  At some point, years ago, ESPN magazine contacted Ryan Miller’s agent and told him that they’d like to reenact some scenes from Caddyshack. Ryan agreed to do it, but only on the condition that he be given the proper chance to prepare.  He then hired an acting coach, and spent years researching the role and rehearsing his “improvised” lines.  Crunchy has spent countless hours trying to capture the essence of this character, driving everyone around him insane with the constant and relentless pursuit of Caddyshack-recitation perfection.  Finally, when the conditions were right (when Ryan was feeling well rested, well hydrated, and during a period of time when he and his team of performance psychologists felt his self-esteem was at it’s highest), he was willing to perform his impressions in front of an ESPN camera crew.

Crunchy just wants to be the best impressionist he can be.  With hard work, plus a schedule of short AND longterm goals, Ryan Miller believes he’s got what it takes to do a good Carl Spackler.

Okay, phew.  Worldview restored.

8 Responses to “Crunchy?”


  1. 1 saranack November 17, 2010 at 6:16 pm

    Is that Park Country Club? I think I hear Sheridan Drive.

    Ryan Miller long ago surpassed even Gil Perrault as my sentimental favorite Sabre, but with this he is becoming one of my alltime favorite people.

    As someone who has watched Caddyshack 80 million times, believe me, this is real, this is love (it’s all in the lip at 0:28).

  2. 2 Amy November 17, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    I agree with Saranack. This shows Crunchy has a real love of the movie. He’s got that same stoner tone of voice that Bill Murray carries off. And none of the dialogue sounds forced or stilted. It sounds like someone who’s seen the movie eleventy-billion times already and can quote it flawlessly.

  3. 3 Caroline November 17, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Hahahaha what….this is the funniest thing I have ever seen. And I can’t believe you have never seen Caddyshack OR Slapshot!!

  4. 4 Katebits November 18, 2010 at 9:18 am

    Nope, no Slapshot o Caddyshack! I’ve always meant to see them, but it just hasn’t happened.

    I was just kidding about questioning Crunchy’s genuine love of this movie. It’s very obvious that this impression is born of many, many viewings which is why the whole thing is so fascinating and charming. I can’t say I’ve seen Crunchy fooling like this around before.

  5. 5 kel November 18, 2010 at 11:20 am

    i love this SO MUCH, but what is it for?

  6. 6 kitten November 19, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    It just makes me love him that much more.

    I am the proud owner of a box of “Kick-Save Krunch” cereal.

    Have you gotten yours?

  7. 7 CrotchetyOriginalSam November 21, 2010 at 12:26 am

    Okay, we’re definitely watching Slap Shot when I get to Buffalo in February. Also, Mystery Alaska.

  8. 8 Keller November 21, 2010 at 10:47 am

    If you notice…right at the 45 second mark…you can hear his groin tweak.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

