State of the Onion, For Realsies.

You’ve probably noticed that I haven’t been blogging with the same zeal (comical rage-aliciousness?  passionate flabbergasttedy?) as I have in the past.  This blogging lull is for a variety of reasons, ranging from ordinary blog fatigue to dude-the-Sabres-blow-itus, but I am hoping it’s just a lull, not a permanent situation.  In the last month I’ve given some real thought to closing up shop on the blog, but I’m not there yet.  I don’t want to quit, and I especially don’t want to quit while the Sabres are being so…meh.

If I quit now, then Tim Connolly wins.  He will have beaten me.  That’s not going to happen.  Not on my watch.

So, we slog forward.  (See, right here is a perfectly decent excuse to keep blogging.  If I didn’t have a blog about the Buffalo Sabres, I would have considerably fewer excuses to use the word “slog” in public.  Not using the word “slog” is no way to live.)

I’m curious to find out how I’ll remember a season like this after a lifetime of fandom. (And please, if you happen to be there at my deathbed in 70 years [I plan on living until I’m 105], please do NOT ask me to spend any of my last moments on earth attempting to recall the 2010/11 Sabres. That’s no way to die.)  I suspect I’ll forget all about this season.  To be honest, I’m barely keeping track of them from one game to the next right now.  I had to think reeeeally hard this morning trying to remember the Sabres opponent at the game I attended with Heather three weeks ago (Ducks).  It’s not that I haven’t been paying attention (I still watch whenever I can, and I still want them to win), but that funny thrilling desperation for wins is very muted this year.  That tired expression, “Don’t get too high, and don’t get too low,” is….laughable this season.  The rally cry of the Sabres fan is more like, “Try not to fall asleep during the 2nd period.  Maybe lay off the boxed wine, you filthy lush.”

And that’s really all I have to say about the current state of the Sabres.  Well, that and, “Ryan Miller, I want to be happy for you and your starlet fiance, but seriously, your lack of crankiness is worrisome.  I realize it’s difficult to stay cranky when you’re sleeping with a super-mega hottie, but Crunchy, you must try.   Without your crankiness, I’m afraid you’re considerably less charming.  Your super powers in net seem to depend on you being an unhappy person.  That sucks for you, but you’ll have plenty of time to be happy after you retire.  I’m pretty sure I speak for all Sabres fans when I say- it’s time to ditch the woman you love.  Sorry!”

_________

But this Pegula thing is genuinely interesting.

I have high hopes for Pegasaurus if only because he might fire some people, and then, at the very least we’ll have a new set of problems to complain about.

Here’s a story to illustrate my point: Last year on trade deadline day, I ran into Kevin [of Bfloblog fame] at the arena.  He was making fun of me for being all gung-ho about our new Sabre, Raffi Torres.  It wasn’t that Kevin was anti-Torres, it was more that he had learned over time not to get too worked up over Darcy’s deadline acquisitions.  He found my enthusiasm amusing.  Now, Kevin was ultimately proved 100% right.  The correct response to acquiring Torres is NOT, “yay.”  Sweet baby Jebus, no. The correct response is, “NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!  WHY GOD, WHY?!” with lots of fist shaking towards the sky.  But still.  I want to live in a world where giddy enthusiasm over a trade deadline acquisition is expected, not weird and misplaced.   Even if we wind up loathing the next GM with the passion of a trillion white-hot suns, we’re still going to enjoy a brief period of not knowing what to expect.  We’ll have tons to talk about, and tons to analyze, for better or for worse, and hopefully we’ll get at least one really interesting trade deadline day out of the deal.  (Sell, New Guy!  SELL!)

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is, just like everyone else in town, I’m pro-Funky-Cold-Pegula.  Very.

_________

Hey!  I just had a really good idea!  Maybe we can cheer Darcy Reiger up [presuming he gets fired] by giving him Ryan Miller’s fiance.  We can send Darcy off with a smile on his face, and we can piss Ryan Miller off, something fierce.  Two birds, one stone, you know?

10 Responses to “State of the Onion, For Realsies.”


  1. 1 Meghan January 12, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    Kate–

    Please please, for the love of all that is blue and gold, don’t let TimmyC win (frankly, I wish they wouldn’t even let him in the arena, but that’s another story). I sure hope you continue blogging your hockey guts out. I, for one, get a kick out of writing and analysis. I often find myself thinking “gee, I wonder what Kate would think about this”. Or, “I can’t wait to see how Kate deals with this one”.

    Which, in retrospect does seem kind of crazy-stalkerish. However, I assure you I am not. Though, I will admit, I do often look around the arena and wonder if I can find you blogging away on your phone. But, I digress…

    Anyway, I know this season really sucks (or does it blow? How is one to know?) but you make it at least semi-bearable. Misery loves company, right? I thank you for your timely, humorous and grammatically correct posts.

  2. 2 Meghan January 12, 2011 at 9:25 pm

    Ooops…the third sentence is missing a “your”. So much for grammatically correct comments. Oye.

  3. 3 Andy Boron January 12, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Kate, if you stop blogging, then I’ll have to find other sites to link to in the morning! My life will become .0005% more difficult! Don’t do it!

  4. 4 Shauna January 13, 2011 at 12:40 am

    I come here every day! I am an Oilers fan and I come here EVERYDAY! I love this blog. Don’t stop ever! You are my boxed wine!

  5. 5 CrotchetyOriginalSam January 13, 2011 at 12:46 am

    Many, many points for Funky Cold Pegula, if that’s a Katebits original, which I strongly suspect it is. Love me some Tone-Loc…

  6. 6 Grrrreg January 13, 2011 at 5:24 am

    Kate, you can’t stop! Who’s gonna provide us with deep analyses of hockey teams based on the study of their individual members roster photos?? WHO??

  7. 7 Kate-O January 13, 2011 at 10:00 am

    Don’t let Timmy win, Kate!

  8. 8 Katebits January 13, 2011 at 11:00 am

    Hahaha! You guys are funny. Okay, okay. I won’t let Timmy win. I promise.

  9. 9 Amanda January 13, 2011 at 11:38 am

    , Crunchy is not “in buffalo” anymore and frankly he’s not “crunchy” he’s more of a …. softie ( that’s what California does to you). Lately I picture him staying up till all hours of the night talking baby talk and skypeing with his west coast fiancée then getting up in the morning eating heart shaped pancakes and drinking a glass of pink strawberry milk before heading off to practice with a dopey smile on his face. Sometimes I wonder if he’s playing bad so the Sabres will want to trade him to a California team.

    OH an I”m super glad that you aren’t going to stop blogging! I was getting worried, but I will say I can understand you lack of enthusiasm this year.

  10. 10 Dave in DC January 14, 2011 at 10:24 am

    DO NOT STOP BLOGGING.

    For the love of god, first Kevin stops writing and Bfloblog dies (I know, not like I did my part to keep it going, but it was mainly his site), then Ted stops FTLT, then Peter and Andrew cut back and only write for Artvoice again….

    Please, don’t make me turn to message boards and the Buffalo News blog for my Sabres fix. Please.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

